CRACKS ON A CRYSTAL BALL

crystalball2090496_1280.png

I've had my chances and I've taken them all, just to end up right back here on the floor.

These were the words of Pink from the song Crystal Ball. I can't explain why this song came to my mind tonight, but I can explain how it concerns my thoughts for the night.

You see, Crystal Balls are used by Fortune Tellers to predict future events. These creepy people, usually ladies, stare into these balls and claim to see what would most probably happen in the near future.

Being able to know our future has to be a huge desire of any and everyone on this planet. That's what makes it sought after, Regardless of the price and the authenticity of it. Everyone just wants to know more about the future.

The cracks on a crystal ball is never a good sign. It's the sign of a rift in the future. A disaster just waiting to unfold. Certain destruction of man or property. It is never good.

I experienced a crack on my crystal ball today. And I can only recall what I was asked yesterday by a trader at the market.

He said, "Only God knows tomorrow". And I said, "I know tomorrow, it's Tuesday". I was not entirely wrong. However, if I knew today I would be on the verge of losing one of my closest friends to the cold and comforting hands of death, I probably would have been a bit soberer about my response.

But hey, we can never find the words to fix the present from the past, can we?

My friend had planned a road trip from Kaduna to Abuja which found her back at Kaduna in a hospital bed.

I have refused to ask details of the accident. I don't think I have the heart to imagine the situation which took the lives of 3 individuals. She could have been one of them. It could have been worse. She survived.

I don't know much about the road from Kaduna to Abuja, but I have heard a lot of bad talk about it. I heard about kidnappings mostly and mad drivers. But that's not completely unheard of on Nigerian roads. I guess we're all pretty fortunate when we leave our houses for one destination and arrive at another destination in one piece.

I have a habit of imagining the worse possible outcomes when I take these long road trips, and I've taken a bunch of them, and I don't think my death hurts as much to think about than the death of a person I love. At least I don't have to mourn myself and live without myself. I just imagine that when I die, my friends would all sit around and imagine one or two funny things I would say at that moment and have a reason to smile. Coz they know I love to make them smile.

Losing a loved one. That's one pain I don't ever want to be subjected to.

I experienced a crack on my crystal ball. But better a crack than the shatter of another's.

Sort:  

Have you been able to speak with her?

Yeah, joint pains and a big injury on her back. But she's good.

Damn. Well I'm glad she's fine.

I wish your friend all the best and a fast recovery.

Oh dear! I hope she recovers fast

She's good for the most part. A big injury on her back, but she's good.