UNEMPLOYED AGAIN

in Speak Peace3 years ago (edited)

pexels-anna-shvets-4226206.jpg

Yesterday, I wrote about quitting my job due to workplace injustice and downright inhuman treatment.

Click here to see my yesterday's post.

I wrote that piece in the morning. hours before I left for work for the last time.

Well, I got to work and talked with the manager. She happens to be my sister-in-law so it wasn't exactly a formal conversation. I was more or less reminding her about what she already knows (I hate the job).

If you read my previous post, you would understand that I only get employed based on recommendation. Well, my sister-in-law recommended me for this job. And she feels a whole lot of regret at the fact that the job had to turn to shit so fast.

So yesterday morning, I told her that would be my last day at that office. The look in her eyes almost made me cry. Then she begged me to stay until the end of the month. I told her I would stay because I would be needed.

I shared a desk with a girl who just turned 19. She can't survive the daily workload alone. So, I promised to stay until they found a replacement for me by the end of the month.

Well, as fate would have it, the manager got a call from the CEO of the company telling her to do a 50% slash on our salaries and a 1000naira deduction for every day we came late to work.

I happened to come late more times than not. the monthly payment is less than $70 (N30,000). which leaves me with less than $35, plus all the times I came in late deducted, I could be paid at most $12.

Let's talk about time put in.

Work begins at 8 am for 6 days a week and closes by 6 pm every day. Once a month, I work an additional day, making it 7 days for that week.

I barely had time for myself. Let alone my dog or the person I happen to be dating.

Right after she got that call, I completed my accounts, picked up my little bag and told them I was done.

My sister-in-law also has intentions of quitting. The business will eventually close.

That's what it's like working for a total dick-head with no care for humans.

In the meantime, I'll be looking for more ways to make more money from my writing, and gaining more skills.

I hear French calling me, it's time to answer.
Driving classes been on my neck, time to get on the road.


Moral Lesson
Don't sit around and let anyone treat you like shit, just because they can. You deserve better and you can survive without them.


KK (8).jpg

My name is Karina.

I'm a Nigerian,
A writer of short stories, and
A part-time editor.

I love reading.
I'm currently reading 'Anxious People' by Fredrick Backman.

I write for fun and pay.

I'm the last child of 8 children and I'm 23 years old.

Check out my Freelance Gigs

Here's my recent story:
Dawn

You can contact me:

Sort:  

My girlfriend had a similar experience. She was doing everything in the office and they paid her 30,000naira. She worked for two years with no promotion. I had to plead with her to quit and she did. She is here on hive and has made more than her salary. No one should settle for such inhumane treatment and pay.

Surely if you dedicate more time here you can gross your salary monthly. It is worth the shot.

That's what I plan on doing. Thank you

wow... less than 30,000 naira in a month for a 8am to 6pm is so small. I can't imagine myself doing that kind of job with how much I earn from Hive monthly. A little advice here, put a lot of dedication into Hive, Make friends and engage with different authors. This will bring more visibility to your account and would increase your chances of having higher rewards. If you do this consistently with persistence added to it, I am sure you would make over $100 a month at least in due time.

Here is a 100% curation trail vote on this post. I hope things get better soon.

Thank you so much.

Man, what a rough time you've had. But like Nonso said, you can easily make more than you were getting there from Hive rewards. Keep it up! Followed

Thank you so much.

I understand the struggle. To be honest, we have folks who want to work in Nigeria, but the income received is just not friendly, not to forget the unfriendly work treatment from some organisations. I think if you're skilled in any craft, you should write about them. And if you continue writing you just might earn more than your previous job was paying you. Your writing is interesting, and the more you write here it will even get better. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Thank you for reading.

You are welcome

That's the issue with private companies or establishments. They'll rather use and drain the hell out of one's blood just for a penny they called "salary". Pls just utilize this moment to be more active on hive, engage more on other author's post to have more recognition and by this, you'll definitely have more edge.

The journey of a thousand mile is said to begin with one step at a time. It's always challenging at the beginning, but within few weeks you'll definitely smile. Awesome geeks there @young-boss-karin and nice to meet you.

good luck! i just finished being unemployed for quite a while and will be starting on a new job soon. job hunting can be super tough and i ended up not finding one in the country i am currently residing, so im actually moving countries. keep your eyes out for good jobs, and if the dream job is somewhere else go for it (especially with this pandemics job market), you only have limited time on earth, and the job should be something that doesnt kill you inside. there are verious agencies that try to braindrain smart people from other countries into their own labor market, and help you find a job, for example Germany uses ZAV to do that.

I would gladly take a job in a different country. However, with the reputation of my country, relocating is expensive and difficult. I'll check out the link you sent. Who knows, Germany might be my new home.

idk you can check the anabin website to see if your degree is recognized in germany... see tutorial below
https://www.nomadenberlin.com/blog/anabin

also i see ur a "childcare expert" so stuff like childcare germany doesnt actually have enough of workers... but keep in mind german is a very diffuclt language

you can also do something like an apprenticeship at such a facility for jobs like kindergardener