Hive Open Mic #116 - Back on the Chain Gang (The Pretenders)

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago
This and Last Week's Theme

Hello Fellow Hivers!

I was very happy to see lots of people creating their own songs for this week's theme "Trumpet Sound"! Incredible work everyone! Always impresses me, as I'm no songwriter myself! I also enjoy all the actual trumpet players! Wow!

To be honest, I couldn't really think of a song that I could play straight off that would fit the theme.
We were away last week doing the work walking the dogs and the internet was sparse to say the least, so I missed to send my entry and decided to play one of the tunes that sprang to my mind for last week's "Doing the Work".
Maybe the harmonica could serve as the trumpet sound for this week.. 😃

Anyway, keep up the great work everyone and
thanks for listening!

Lyrics

Source

I found a picture of you, oh-oh
Well, it hijacked my world at night
To a place in the past we've been cast out of, oh-oh
Now we're back in the fight

We're back on the train, yeah
Oh, back on the chain gang

Circumstance beyond our control, oh-oh
The phone, the TV and the news of the world
Got in the house like a pigeon from hell, oh-oh
Threw sand in our eyes and descended like flies

Put us back on the train, yeah
Oh, back on the chain gang

The powers that be
That force us to live like we do
Bring me to my knees
When I see what they've done to you
Well, I'll die as I stand here today
Knowing that deep in my heart
They'll fall to ruin one day
For making us part

I found a picture of you, oh-oh
Those were the happiest days of my life
Like a break in the battle was your part, oh-oh
In the wretched life of a lonely heart

Now I'm back on the train, yeah
Oh, back on the chain gang

Sort:  

Hi @anna-newkey,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

hi sis anna,, cheer up sis, i like your voice, always sexes my sister

I've never tried harmonica and guitar together. Maybe I should. You do it really well and it's a cool song. Harmonicas are good for train noises.

!LUV

Yeah, go for it! It needs perseverance for sure! But a bit tricky at first...
A hear a train a-coming.. Yay!!

Do you remember Mike? He got this proper wooden thing, no idea what it was called, but it made the right noises for sure and used to make the rounds in the pub for people to join in.. That was brilliant! Lots of trains coming! ha ha

Thanks Steve, glad you like it! 😃

This is beautiful my friend, congratulation, the lyrics and the sound is wonderful!

Hi! Thank you so much for your kind comments!
So glad you like it! I agree, it's a pretty cool song!
Thanks for taking the time to giving it a listen! 😃

Congratulations @anna-newkey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love people who play harmonica and guitar at the same time! What a great song. Wonderful as always. A hug! 🍻💥🎉🎶🙏🙌👏👏🎼🎆💯😁😊🎵👍👌🎊🤩⭐✨❤️

Hey, my friend! You should give it a try yourself!
I'm sure you'd master it with ease!! 😃
Thank you for being here and your kind comments! 😊

With practice anything is possible! I have faith that it is. 😊

I'm looking forward to your first song with a harness round your neck.. 😄

Dear madam @anna-newkey you're really impressive playing 2 instrumens at once its very difficult and you can play so smoothly and the song you played make me follow the rytm its so enjoyable song 😍

Hi Romi!
Thank you so very much! I've not done that for some time to be fair, the last time was week 111, but that got me back to it. It needs practicing..
So happy you like it!! 😍

What a great energy, with your guitar and harmonica, a nice shot of your video and your camera well placed in a spot. thanks for sharing!

Aww, thank you! Learning from a pro..! 😄
Although, don't like the camera too close... haha...
So glad you like it, means a lot!

Muy buena presentación mi bella , saludos Dios le bendiga

Gracias, Adriana!
Eso me hace feliz! 😃

Our dear Anne, we wonder if there will ever be a day when you will stop surprising us? we don't think so! you are an incredible friend, ufff your voice those strumming on the guitar and now on the harmonica to see you shine!

What a beautiful spirit you have, plus all the nice things you write to everyone, we love you! we love you! don't ever stop!

Thank you for your presence and for being an important pillar for Open Mic!

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-27 at 2.30.41 PM.jpeg

Oh my, you are incredible!!
Your comments are always the best! I'm sitting here smiling yet again!
You are the loveliest people!
Thank you my dear friends! 😍

This is impressive. You're playing two instruments at once. 😍

I'm wondering if you can also play the drums using your feet - that would be awesome. 😁

This is a great song. Your voice too. Overall, it is a wonderful performance. 🙂

!1UP

Hmmm, now you got me thinking.. 🤔
A one-woman-band? Hmm, ok.. 🤔🤔 😁
Thank you, my friend! 😍

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@vibes-curator, @beatcz-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @pal-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(4/20) tipped @anna-newkey (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

OH! @anna-newkey! This has incredible energy! Thanks for sharing! I loved the solo with the harmonica, here it is also known as a rondín.

Oh, brilliant! I looked that up!
Thank you! And thanks so much for listening!
Really happy you like it! 😃

wow wonderful interpretation, good execution of the instruments and beautiful voice, blessings and may the successes continue!

Oh, thank you so much for your kind comment! 😍

Ah sí... Cómo me gustan este tipo de interpretaciones 🎶✨✨ quisiera intentarlo alguna vez con los dos instrumentos, igual que tú. Te costó mucho dominarlo?

¡Definitivamente deberías probarlo! ¡Serás genial en eso! 😃
Es como aprender a tocar la guitarra y cantar; ¡Sigue así y eventualmente lo tendrás!

Hola, @anna-newkey, me encantó su presentación. Estar atenta a tocar dos instrumentos a la vez y hacerlo super bien, además de cantar es algo grandioso. Dios le ha dado muchos dones, gracias por compartir. Saludos desde Venezuela. Mil bendiciones.

Hi ,@anna-newkey, I loved your presentation. Being attentive to playing two instruments at the same time and doing it super well, in addition to singing is a great thing. God has given you many gifts, thanks for sharing. Greetings from Venezuela. A thousand blessings.

Hi!
Thank you so much for your kind comments!
Yes, I guess there is some sort of gift in there, but it also takes some work and determination to master.
But you already know all about that playing your accordion.. 😀
Thank your for stopping by, that's much appreciated!

This is amazing, playing two musical instruments and singing at the same time. I can't walk and chew gum at the same time because I fall down. You are amazing. I don't know the song, maybe it's country? But the truth is that you are an artist, I congratulate you and take my hat off to you.😊

😂 And you are funny, that made me laugh, thank you so much!

Chrissie Hynde of The Pretenders, if you want to look her up. She's American, but has lived in England for a very long time.

I thank you for stopping by and for your wonderful compliment!
That's also amazing! 😀