Hive Open Mic #122 - Almost Like Being in Love (Nat King Cole)

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago


This week I'd like to share a little Jazz tune by Nat King Cole, which I love and which goes nicely with the theme "Emotion" by @sunsethunter.

Emotion

Most people associate the more negative feelings with this theme, heartache, tears, but there are also happy feelings, love, sudden outbursts of joy and the list goes. I certainly am a person who gets excited about stuff quite easily, in a positive way that is!

It was therefore no surprise when a couple of weeks ago I burst out with joy, when I came across a video that explained fairly easily how to play walking bass lines on the piano and generally jazz things up a bit! I started playing and playing and playing, and yes, now I can't stop.. 😄

Some of you may know that I play guitar in our Swing band "Swing 42" and my friend @purplesinger is my inspiration when it comes to piano playing!

The Tune

I can't tell you, how excited I am, that I can play this tune on the keyboard! It's always been a favourite of mine and sure is full of emotion of the happy kind!

It's been stuck in my head ever since I first watched the film "Groundhog Day" where it features right at the very end when the credits roll in. "What a day it has been.. ", a great opening line for that final scene.

I have watched this film loads of times, my own little Groundhog Day, and although I'm not a great fan of Bill Murray, do I like the idea of the film as a whole and the fact that he gets to learn the piano in a supposedly short time!

Unlike him did it take me a lockdown and a bit to being able to play basic stuff at least. I am still amazed by it all, bearing in mind, that I'm not a youngster, who supposedly learns much faster..

I would honestly like to say to anybody who would like to do something new, just go for it!!

20220811_210707.jpg
Picture of my DVD - 😄 DVD - so yesterday


I do hope, you like this one just as much as I love playing it!
Thank you, my friends!

The Lyrics

What a day this has been
What a rare mood I'm in
Why, it's almost like bein' in love

There's a smile on my face
For the whole human race
Why, it's almost like bein' in love

All the music of life seems to be
Like a bell that is ringing for me

And from the way that I feel
When that bell starts to peal
I would swear I was fallin'
Swear I was fallin'
Why, it's almost like bein' in love
Source: Google

All images by @anna-newkey

Sort:  

This a great song. Well done on getting the walking bass going. 🙂

Hey, thank you, Barb!
Isn't it amazing? I'm so chuffed!
And it's so much fun playing! 😍

Hi @anna-newkey,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Pleasant song ma'am
Love the production
It came out well

Well, thank you very much!
I'm very glad you like it!

Splendid stuff, although I must confess when I saw walking basslines, I thought, hot dang, those are hard as heck. Then I saw you playing piano and any thoughts of picking up some guitar tips vanished :OD

😂🤣😂
Ah, yes, didn't think, it could cause confusion! Haha
Thank you, really, really pleased you like it! 😍

We love this post dear friend, the song is beautiful and you have managed to convey it perfectly. We do not stop feeling happiness every time we see your presentations, you are light for this community and we are very grateful to you. Thank you for participating!!!

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-27 at 2.30.41 PM.jpeg

🙏 Thank you so much!
And I am tremendously happy to be part of this community! 😍😃

Hi Anna, that a beautiful play.. you re just so professional on the key.. new I see why the name hehe.
Beautiful song ❣️ thanks.

I wish I was! 😂
I should have started much earlier, but still happy with were I'm gong with it.
Thank you so much, that's really lovely!

So humble as you sound.. you re doing exceptional Lol

You are so kind! Thank you! 😀

Woww this is amazing you sing and play the piano great, I thought you were only good at playing the guitar, but you are very good at playing the piano too, good luck to you @anna-newkey

Thank you, my dear friend!
I have a go at lots of stuff.. Got a violin, a ukulele and more..
Problem is, that you never spend enough time on one to master it to its full extend...
I wish work wasn't in the way.. 😄
Thank you for watching, that's so lovely!

Again, I listened to beautiful music with a different instrument than you. You are very good at music. Thanks for sharing this beautiful music with us...👏👏👏👏😊😊🙏🙏

Oh, thank you!! 🙏
That's amazing that you're giving it a listen!
Yes, I like to keep myself on my toes, as the saying goes.. 😄

Hello dear friend! What a beautiful piano piece you have brought, It reminded me of those broadway movies, all a unique style.
You have a great microphone! It sounds perfect, and it's quite nice hehe. A big hug! Thanks for the wonderful music! 😃🙏🍻🎊💥🎼💯🤩🎉🎆👏👏🎶✨⭐😎🎵🙌🤗🎶

Hey!! How nice of you to stop by!!
Yes, Nat King Cole was of that time for sure! You can't beat a bit of swing! 😃
I don't use the microphone enough, but thought I should!
Hope, the recording sounded alright..
Thank you, my friend, always a pleasure to see you!

Wow, those piano skills are really building. That must be very satisfying. I love this song and your rendition. Swing is king.

!LUV

🙏🙏
More than satisfied, over the Moon! 😂😍
Thank you, that means a lot!

Hope, you're coming tonight?
I'm not feeling it right now.. too hot.. haha

We're not back until tomorrow, so have a good one.

Haha, yeah, thought of that just the second I pressed "reply"..
Enjoy and see you soon, maybe Wednesday..