Hive Open Mic #132 - 9 to 5 (Dolly Parton)

in Hive Open Miclast year (edited)


Great theme this week - Woman Life Freedom.
My choice fell on the great lady of Country Music, Dolly Parton.
Who wouldn't agree, that she made it in life as the power house that she is and inspiring many other women along the way!

Her song "9 to 5" covers the struggle of women in their working life and was first released in 1980 as part of the soundtrack to the comedy film of the same name.
It featured Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin and herself, and was light entertainment for a Sunday afternoon, but Dolly's song sure turned into a classic!

image.png
Source

I do believe that since the 1980s a woman's life at work has improved in most countries, but there is always room for improvement. There are more and more women in power than ever before, but they are still not getting the same appreciation as their male counter parts, mostly shown in the fact that the pay gap is still an issue today. However, it is also true that the majority of women still choses the stereo-typical female jobs in teaching, caring or catering, even if their interests are in other areas of life. They just don't feel confident enough to go for their dream occupation.

I am glad that this theme has made me pick up this song again, I had been planning to revisit it for some time. Hope, you like it!
Thanks everyone for listening!

Lyrics

Tumble outta bed
And I stumble to the kitchen
Pour myself a cup of ambition
And yawn and stretch
And try to come to life

Jump in the shower
And the blood starts pumpin'
Out on the street
The traffic starts jumpin'
The folks like me on the job from 9 to 5

Workin' 9 to 5,
What a way to make a livin'
Barely gettin' by
It's all takin' and no givin'
They just use your mind
And they never give you credit
It's enough to drive you crazy
If you let it

9 to 5, for service and devotion
You would think that I
Would deserve a fair promotion
Want to move ahead
But the boss won't seem to let me
I swear sometimes that man is out to get me

They let you dream
Just to watch 'em shatter
You're just a step
On the boss-man's ladder
But you got dreams
He'll never take away

You're in the same boat
With a lot of your friends
Waitin' for the day your ship'll come in
'N' the tide's gonna turn
And it's all gonna roll your way

Workin' 9 to 5
What a way to make a livin'
Barely gettin' by
It's all takin' and no givin'
They just use your mind
And you never get the credit
It's enough to drive you crazy
If you let it

9 to 5, yeah
They got you where they want you
There's a better life
And you think about it, don't you?
It's a rich man's game
No matter what they call it
And you spend your life
Puttin' money in his wallet

9 to 5, whoa
What a way to make a livin'
Barely gettin' by
It's all takin' and no givin'
They just use your mind
And they never give you credit
It's enough to drive you crazy
If you let it

9 to 5, yeah
They got you where they want you
There's a better life
And you dream about it, don't you?
It's a rich man's game
No matter what they call it
And you spend your life
Puttin' money in his wallet

Working 9 to 5
Source

Sort:  

I've not seen that film in a long time. Things have improved since then, but there are still equality issues. I like to think everyone is equal at least in our band.

!BEER

I watched a documentary about Dolly Parton recently, it was really interesting to learn about how she worked her way to success and her relationship with her husband and family. It was truly inspirational

She's a great woman from a humble background for sure!!
And she's been happily married for a long time. Surely a woman to admire!
Thank you, my friend!

Very uplifting song, showing women who work hard from 9 o'clock to, what a very inspiring women's song, good luck to you mrs @anna-newkey

Yes, a great and uplifting tune, still with a message!
Thank you so much, glad you like it! 😃

Friend I'm going to tell you something that maybe I've already told you before. My respects as an artis

Haha! Well, thank you so much!
It's always appreciated! 🙏😃

Reminds me so much of my love for country music and the content of the song is also really really inspiring for diligence and hard work.

Great one here..

Thank you so much my friend!!
It's a great tune, I'm very glad you like it too! 😃

Ana I have a friend to whom I will show your video, he loves Dolly Parton, in fact he has all her discography. This song is very cool I had heard it before and her style is very energetic, plus the fact that sung and played by you makes it even cooler!!

You are very right with the salary gaps, I feel that it happens more on the other side of the world, because you cannot imagine here in Latin America how women have been quoted in jobs such as graphic design, fashion design, business administration, psychology, rather , it's incredible and that's very cool because the goal of empowering women is being achieved more and more every day. For example, here in Colombia, in the face of mistreatment of women, they have carried out female empowerment programs and give them resources to carry out their ventures and thus be independent and become entrepreneurs, it seems to me that it should be applied throughout the world!

Anna, how great it has been to visit you, see you and listen to you, you are incredible and you have become an exemplary artist for everyone in this great family, your family 🌹💖!!

Thank you very much for joining us in this edition of the Hive Open Mic, we look forward to seeing you again next week ¡You Rock! 🙌😀💛

Hey, Fernando!
Thank you so much, my friend!
That's amazing what you do for women in Colombia, I had no idea!
You're right, it should be applied elsewhere; things are surely changing, but it's still a long process.
I LOVE being part of this family! But you know that already.. haha

And WE LOVE that you are part of it 👍😉🔥🎙️🎸🎶❤️🌟🥂💥💫💯

Amazing song with amazing lyrics☺️

Honestly,9-5 jobs has taken all our attention away from home😕
Our family and loved ones need our care and support but the 9-5 jobs has made us err many times.. I wish women would not have to work, we have a whole lot on our plate really 🙂

Wow, this is so very true what you say!! 👏
We are the double-tasking gender, while the other one is getting more of the credits..
I wonder if it will ever really change..
Thank you so much giving it a listen.. That's great! 😃

Yes! You're very right..

I bet it will never change😕
You're welcome ma'am🤗🥰

Hi @anna-newkey,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

The wordings of the song make real sense. The reality of life.

Great lyrics indeed!
Dolly is excellent with words!
Thanks for stopping by, that's brilliant!

It's always a pleasure


Hey @anna-newkey, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Women are very strong physically and mentally, because we work and also take care of housework and we still have time and strength to show affection to our loved ones, all this without complaining.
I loved this presentation, the choice of the song was great.

Woooow!!! Lovin' this!!!
I literally just woke up right now while listening and replying to your post.
And yes it is another 9-5 for me today. Only 1 day off. And all my efforts to make someone else rich who doesn't like paying salaries.
Truth - 'What a way to make a livin'
Thank you for playing the guitar and singing this song.
Keep sharing.

Love lots,
@erelasblog

Congratulations @anna-newkey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Muy buena la elección de la canción, como siempre, amiga @anna-newkey. Me gustó mucho. Gracias por compartir. Mil bendiciones y éxitos.

Very good choice of song, as always, my friend @anna-newkey. I loved it. Thanks for sharing. A thousand blessings and success.

Thank you!
It was suddenly staring me in the face and said "Play me", I'm the one for this week.. 😄
Thanks for giving it a listen!

Hola, amiga @anna-newkey,me gustó mucho esta canción. Su letra es muy importante y su melodía muy agradable. Aunque yo no canto,me doy cuenta que cantarla no es fácil porque tiene como giros sorpresivos en la parte melódica, cambios que tú manejas magistralmente mientras tocas la guitarra. Muchas felicitaciones, siempre es un placer visitar tu blog. Mil bendiciones y éxitos.

Hello friend @anna-newkey, I really liked this song. Its lyrics are very important and its melody very nice. Although I don't sing, I realize that singing it isn't easy because it has surprising turns in the melodic part, changes that you handle masterfully while playing the guitar. Many congratulations, it is always a pleasure to visit your blog. A thousand blessings and success.

Hello there, my friend! Glad you like it!
Singing along the accordion isn't easy, but I see you've picked up playing the uke?
That's great news! Then you're much closer to singing yourself!
Hope, you'll give it a go soon! 😃