🎵 Hive Open Mic 33 - “Moonrise” [Live Music Highlights]

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, inviting creative expression and genuine connection.


Hive Open Mic - Highlights

Week 33: November 22-28, 2020

HiveOpenMic33B.png

For the week of Thanksgiving, we received a wonderful collection of live music entries. Our theme was "Moonrise," and naturally we achieved an abundance of moon-centered songs. The moon is at its fullest where I'm at in this moment, so I'm grateful for the chance to celebrate the celestial realm through these songs.


🌟

Spotlight

Casiopea / Cassiopeia (Cover) by @davidcentenor


View the Original Post

English: The artist spotlighted here is a treasure among our Hive Open Mic community. He often brings the music of Silvio Rodríguez, giving us the gift of Rodríguez' songwriting talents along with @davidcentenor unique excellence. I am happy to feature this musician once again as our Spotlight Artist.

This song is sheer delight to my ears. At the 0:19 mark, this musician smiles, just subtly, showing how much fun he's having here. I imagine it must be a blast to play a musical masterpiece like this one and do it so brilliantly and beautifully.

Espanol: El artista destacado aquí es un tesoro entre nuestra comunidad Hive Open Mic. A menudo trae la música de Silvio Rodríguez, dándonos el regalo del talento compositor de Rodríguez junto con la excelencia única de @davidcentenor. Me complace presentar a este músico una vez más como nuestro Artista destacado.

Esta canción es un deleite para mis oídos. En la marca de 0:19, este músico sonríe, sutilmente, mostrando cuánto se está divirtiendo aquí. Me imagino que debe ser una maravilla tocar una obra maestra musical como esta y hacerlo de manera brillante y hermosa.


More Highlights

Tonada de Luna Llena (Cóver) by @jhoxiris


View the Original Post

English: With this artist's hauntingly beautiful voice and her elegant piano playing, I find myself traveling in my mind. These lyrics, with their imagery, bring me to the waterside, with the waning moon reflecting at my feet and also glowing overhead. Birds wade solo, satisfied to be alone in the beauty of the moment. This song is written by Venezuelan Simón Díaz.

I saw a black heron fighting a river. This is how she falls in love.

Espanol: Con la voz inquietantemente hermosa de esta artista y su elegante interpretación del piano, me encuentro viajando en mi mente. Estas letras, con sus imágenes, me llevan a la orilla del agua, con la luna menguante reflejándose a mis pies y también brillando en lo alto. Los pájaros vadean solos, satisfechos de estar solos en la belleza del momento. Esta canción está escrita por el venezolano Simón Díaz.

Yo vi de una garza mora dándole combate a un río. Así es cómo se enamora.


Crepuscular / Twilight by @jesuslnrs


View the Original Post

English: I appreciate the fact that this artist continues to try new things, exploring new territory with his musicianship. Here, he offers an a cappella song in three-part harmony. His sound is angelic. I am impressed and touched by the beauty of this. It's a terrific song selection too—magical poetry. This song is a Venezuelan madrigal composed by Antonio Lauro with lyrics by Fernando Paz Castillo.

Espanol: Agradezco el hecho de que este artista continúe probando cosas nuevas, explorando nuevos territorios con su maestría musical. Aquí, ofrece una canción a capella en armonía de tres partes. Su sonido es angelical. Estoy impresionado y conmovido por la belleza de esto. También es una excelente selección de canciones: poesía mágica. Esta canción es un madrigal venezolano compuesto por Antonio Lauro con letra de Fernando Paz Castillo.


¡Oh Luna! / Oh Moon! (Cover) by @zorajr


View the Original Post

English: Wee! This song is a ride. I highly admire this artist's percussive guitar strumming. In this song, I especially love the part at 2:24 where she gives variance to the rhythm while keeping the tempo alive. She performs the song beautifully vocally too.

Espanol: ¡Hurra! Esta canción es un paseo. Admiro mucho el rasgueo de guitarra de percusión de este artista. En esta canción, me encanta especialmente la parte a las 2:24 donde ella da variación al ritmo mientras mantiene vivo el tempo. Ella también interpreta la canción maravillosamente vocalmente.


Media Luna Andina / Andean Crescent Moon (Cover) by @bertrayo


View the Original Post

English: Please join me in welcoming @bertrayo to Hive Open Mic. Ah, I feel this man's passion in the beautiful mandolin trill at the 1-minute mark. I like the way he combines two separate instrumental parts and weaves them together, synchronized in an impressive way.

Espanol: Únase a mí para darle la bienvenida a @bertrayo a Hive Open Mic. Ah, siento la pasión de este hombre en el hermoso trino de la mandolina en la marca de 1 minuto. Me gusta la forma en que combina dos partes instrumentales separadas y las une, sincronizadas de una manera impresionante.


Atardecer / Sunset (Cover) by @armandolnrs


View the Original Post

English: Here's a brilliant song, carried beautifully by @armandolnrs. This man's voice is wonderful to me. I like the way he reaches those low notes with such gusto, and the high notes with such grace. I aspire to be a great singer like him, and I'm taking mental notes. This song is a Venezuelan waltz, lyrics by Luis Laguna and music by Lencho Amaro.

Espanol: Aquí hay una canción brillante, interpretada maravillosamente por @armandolnrs. La voz de este hombre es maravillosa para mí. Me gusta la forma en que alcanza esas notas bajas con tanto entusiasmo y las notas altas con tanta gracia. Aspiro a ser un gran cantante como él y estoy tomando notas mentales. Esta canción es un vals venezolano, letra de Luis Laguna y música de Lencho Amaro.


Moonlit Night (Cover) by @mipiano


View the Original Post

Ah, I feel myself soothed and bathed by this song, as if blanketed by the moonlight itself. This artist's presentation is a gift too, sharing the context of the song's origin, which I appreciate knowing, along with her excellent audio/video recording work — I like the way this particular camera angle reveals the complete keyboard, as if we have front-row seats to her recital. Her piano performance is stunning. Music by Robert Schumann.


Mi Nostalgia (Cover) by @ylich


View the Original Post

English: I admire the way @ylich articulates the songs he carries so crisply, striking the melodic notes with precision. He continues to inspire me, week after week. The song is written by singer-songwriter Ricardo Cepeda, and I adore the words:

Hope vibrates in me that I will return to you... Tired of wandering I turn my arms into wings and up to your ground I will go.

Espanol: Admiro la forma en que @ylich articula las canciones que lleva tan nítidamente, tocando las notas melódicas con precisión. Continúa inspirándome, semana tras semana. La canción está escrita por el cantautor Ricardo Cepeda, y adoro la letra:

Mi vibra la esperanza que a ti voy a regresar... Cansado ya de vagar convierto en alas mis brazos y hasta tu suelo yo iré a parar.


Untitled (Original) by @david.dicotomia

[Due to a @threespeak error, the video cannot be embedded here.]

View the Original Post

English: I appreciate the talents this artist is bringing here. I can sense the passion in his expression, especially at the 1:44 mark when he hit the high notes so attractively. I'm really happy seeing him laugh in the end. Glad to see you're having fun — that's what it's all about!

Espanol: Aprecio los talentos que este artista está trayendo aquí. Puedo sentir la pasión en su expresión, especialmente en la marca 1:44 cuando alcanzó las notas altas de manera tan atractiva. Estoy muy feliz de verlo reír al final. Me alegra ver que te estás divirtiendo, ¡de eso se trata!


Lazy Moonshiner by @celticheartbeat

[Due to a @threespeak error, the video cannot be embedded here.]

View the Original Post

These are some of the heaviest lyrics I've ever heard. Poetic, potent, and hard-hitting. That one line is dynamite: "They say sunshine is happy, Lord moonshine is too."


Jenny of Oldstones (Cover) by @pedrovivaz


View the Original Post

English: I like the way @pedrovivaz carries this song, with gentle piano accompaniment, and very handsome singing. His musical talents are immense. I'm thankful to him for sharing his artistry here.

Espanol: Me gusta la forma en que @pedrovivaz lleva esta canción, con un suave acompañamiento de piano y un canto muy atractivo. Su talento musical es inmenso. Le estoy agradecido por compartir su arte aquí.


Los Aretes de la Luna (Cover) by @omairita


View the Original Post

I'm happy to hear a song given by @omairita, who joins our Hive Open Mic community for the first time. Here's a karaoke-style song that is beautiful and highly imaginative, showcasing this artist's pretty singing voice. Music written by José Dolores.


A la Orilla del Mar / At the Seashore (Cover) by @cesarc

[Due to a @threespeak error, the video cannot be embedded here.]

View the Original Post

Here's a karaoke-style song, offered by a newcomer to our Hive Open Mic community. Please help me to extend a warm welcome to @cesarc, who offers a song with romance and reminders of seaside pleasures.


The Message of the Moon (Original) by @cabelindsay


View the Original Post

This week, my entry is a song about the divine feminine connection. To me, I see a motherly presence in the moon. She reminds me of a mom's peaceful presence: steady, calm, and full of love. She reminds me of a mom who shines for her children, holding herself strong in times of fear, and sadness. Ultimately, she reminds me of a mom who teaches her child to embrace the divine light and let it shine.


HiveOpenMic33C.png

Appreciation

Hive Open Mic showcases Hive's gifted and talented musicians. I honor these artists for expressing themselves in a way that creates connection. To me, we all benefit through the camaraderie between musicians and music fans, sharing a musical vibration. Please join me in extending our gratitude through claps, finger snaps, and tips to individual musicians.


Inspiration

English: One of our beloved community's most glorious voices shows us her prowess as an opera singer. Here, @jhoxiris performs on stage "La Rondine" / "The Swallow" by Giacomo Puccini. It's a massively impressive vocal performance, accompanied by a full orchestra. Definitely worth a look, listen, and "Like".

Espanol: Una de las voces más gloriosas de nuestra querida comunidad nos muestra su destreza como cantante de ópera. Aquí, @jhoxiris actúa en el escenario "La Rondine" / "The Swallow" de Giacomo Puccini. Es una interpretación vocal enormemente impresionante, acompañada por una orquesta completa. Definitivamente vale la pena mirar y escuchar.


Acknowledgements

I am grateful for the various ways this event stretches me as a music maker and a generous listener. I enjoy the surprises, discovering songs that inspire me. I get the impression we're all making progress, sharing our art with the world, making steady steps toward Global Harmony. And our unique way of honoring artists is centered around live music. How fun!

HiveOpenMic34B.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 34 is underway now.

This week's invitation is: “Hands On.”


💛 🌞 🌜 🌟

Enjoy Live Music? Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🦢 🕊️ 🌿 🌺

Sort:  
Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!