🎵 Hive Open Mic 45 - “To Be Free” (Original Song)

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community celebrating live music on Hive. Each week is a new event, inviting creative expression and genuine connection.


LindsayFamilyReunion.jpg

I thought a lot about our Hive Open Mic community a lot this week, feeling the love, as you'll soon discover if you listen to the video below. I'm sorry I wasn't able to enjoy everyone's live music, because I encountered an emergency situation. An ice storm arrived in my hometown of Austin, Texas with frigid temperatures, and this caused a 4-day power outage, broken pipes, flood... Woo! I felt a few moments of despair, but mostly I felt held, guarded, and guided. I'll try to explain briefly.

Over a week ago, I dropped the kids off with their mom, and then the temperature dropped. A power outage left 40% of our entire city half-frozen for multiple days. For me, it was a 4-day blackout, with broken pipes, and water rushes that froze and flooded my home. For a few days, I lived in my car to stay warm, and eventually moved to a friend's house, where I lived in luxury, except for zero running water, but thankfully the snow provided all the water we needed.

Today, I feel grateful. This experience gave me a chance to slow down and breathe, help some people in need, read an incredible book about forgiveness, write a inspired song, connect with God... Eventually, I returned to the loving arms of my family. Some of you know my wife and I separated a few months ago, with total love and respect, and we spent the day together yesterday in bliss. It felt like a family reunion.

Sounds like we won't have running water for another week, and I will lose some walls and flooring at my home, because they are soaked — I am standing in water right now. Still, I feel a little bit stronger than before. A little braver. A little more confident that a higher power is with me always. All is well.


To Be Free

A song celebrating brotherhood and sisterhood

Brotherlove I walk in your moccasins
Honoring rocky miles behind your feet
Remembering virtues that you stood for
Sure enough you made a way for me

To be free [3x]
To be

Brotherlove I ignite the fire you made
Visioning running through a field of sage
Remembering crows know the way to go
Antelope darting in every direction

To be free...

Brotherlove I drink from the cup you filled
Bringing in goodness that you gave
Remembering music moving through
Carrying songs that used to carry you

To be free...

Brotherlove I hear your voice in the wind
Listening to spirit movement in the air
Remembering your shadow below
Ivory is ebony at sundown

To be free...

HiveOpenMic45d.png


Acknowledgements

Hive Open Mic - Week 46

Hive Open Mic - Week 46 is underway right now, with the current theme: “Forgiveness.” We introduce new themes every Sunday, inviting musicians to share a common current. Musicians always have full freedom to bring whatever music feels inspired in the moment. There is still time to jump in and enjoy this week's Hive Open Mic event!

💛 🌞 🌜 🌟

Enjoy Live Music? Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🦢 🕊️ 🌿 🌺


About Me

I am a star child, ultra-fly and down-to-earth. I make movies with Arise and music with Butterflies. My work includes films: Voices of the Grandmothers, Wild Family... books: Brave Spirit, Be Well Bee, WYLD, Big Idea Patterns... and songs: Brave Spirit, Home, Colors Flying... My greatest achievement is my role as a rad daddy to three incredible kids.

Sort:  

This in an excellent video! Why not always choose some other environment for the recording 🙂

Although, piano would be a bit difficult to move around 🤣

So sweet the song and your voice sharing love! I am happy for you family reunion, it has to be pure love, although you are separated for any reason... But the respect and love is an important bridge where your children can walk and the bridge where you and your wife can cross the sadness.

Fingers crossed for the best outcome of the situation with the weather and caused damage.

Yeah, environment is an important consideration - the right atmosphere can really liven up the storytelling element of a song. I'd like to do more outdoor recordings in the future. I'm keeping my eyes and ears open for some nice quiet spots. Thanks for your well wishes regarding my family situation. Yes, it feels like the "perfect storm" of opportunity to see our family unit in a new light, and maybe see what companionship looks and feels like all over again. Feels fresh and new to me. Thank you so much once again for your awareness and your thorough listening. You are a good example for me, as I learn to listen more generously.

see what companionship looks and feels like all over again. Feels fresh and new to me.

Difficult circumstances make the connections between people stronger, yes. They help in our self improvement and relationships improvement.
So lucky you can take your guitar wherever you want :)

I forgot to mention before, I loved your hat also in your video :p Certainly, the most original entry for week 45 👍

Muy buena la canción, me pregunto cómo consigues ese sonido, bastante peculiar, suena muy bien.

Espero que la electricidad regresé. Y que todos tus familiares estén bien.


The song is very good, I wonder how you get that sound, quite peculiar, it sounds very good.

I hope the electricity came back. And that all your relatives are well.

English: Thank you. Yes, the electricity is back. We won't have running water for quite a while, so that will be tricky. I tried to make it work today, but it presents all kinds of discomforts. So I think I will have to find another place to live until our home is repaired. BTW, my sound recording device is called a Zoom field recorder. Sometimes I use a Zoom H1, and other times a Zoom H4. I really like the Zoom H4 for the attractive sound it captures.

Spanish: Gracias. Sí, la electricidad ha vuelto. No tendremos agua corriente durante bastante tiempo, así que será complicado. Intenté que funcionara hoy, pero presenta todo tipo de molestias. Así que creo que tendré que encontrar otro lugar para vivir hasta que se repare nuestra casa. Por cierto, mi dispositivo de grabación de sonido se llama grabadora de campo Zoom. A veces uso un Zoom H1 y otras veces un Zoom H4. Me gusta mucho el Zoom H4 por el atractivo sonido que captura.

Excelente interpretación amigo. Éxitos!!

How beautiful your children @cabelindsay I am very sorry to hear about your separation, but many times it hurts the children more to continue with a relationship that cannot continue to be separated. They just have to talk to the children and explain to them, they understand more than you think. I'm very happy for your meeting.

Aw, thank you so much for your sweet words. Yes, I think you're right about the children feeling the hurt of their parents. I'm happy to say that we are all greatly enjoying our time together this week.

Absolutely loved your entry this week bro! the tune is so gentle and warm, and your voice! sweet, soothing, i must say im really moved by your song and your performance, amazed beyond words, the feeling i get from the song is so bittersweet i mean, its not sad yet not happy, just the kind of music that reaches my soul easily, kind of melancholic, man I congratulate you for having made the effort to make your participation this week despite all the difficulties! and what a way to do it, with this wonderful song, send you a big hug Cabe, rock on!

¡Me encantó tu entrada esta semana, hermano! la melodía es tan suave y cálida, ¡y tu voz! dulce, relajante, debo decir que estoy realmente conmovido por tu canción y tu interpretación, asombrado más allá de las palabras, la sensación que tengo de la canción es tan agridulce, quiero decir, no es triste pero no feliz, solo el tipo de música que llega a mi alma fácil, un poco melancólico, hombre te felicito por haber hecho el esfuerzo de hacer tu participación esta semana a pesar de todas las dificultades! y que manera de hacerlo, con esta maravillosa canción, te mando un gran abrazo Cabe, rock on!

English: A hug right back at you, brother. Thank you. Definitely feeling your encouragement, and I'm grateful to you.

Spanish: Un abrazo de vuelta a ti, hermano. Gracias. Definitivamente sintiendo tu aliento, y te estoy agradecido.

What a beautiful song my friend. I was captivated by the rhythm of the guitar and your singing. This song is really beautiful.

Woohoo, gracias amigo. I love to sing this one. I don't have it memorized yet, so i crave the day when I can sing it from heart and really feel the energy in it.

De igual manera la energía que trasmite es fenomenal. A mí me dejó flipando jajaja