Edge Of Night - (Pippin's Song From LOTR - Return Of The King ) HIVE Open Mic 126

in Hive Open Mic2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hi Everyone

For this weeks theme of "Trusting in the process" I decided to take a shot at Edge of Night which is a song featured in Lord Of The Rings - Return Of The King.

The song is sung by the character Pippin played by Billy Boyd. Pippin is at Denethor ,the steward of Gondors table when he sings this hauntingly moving song.

I thought it fits this theme as in the story of Lord Of The Rings many of the characters are trusting in the process they are going through .Not knowing where their paths might lead or what dangers they may face,
they are trusting that what they are doing is for the greater good.

Since this week saw the release of the first episode's of Amazons new Lord Of The Rings -The Rings Of Power series
I have been thinking a lot about the themes and story's of Tolkien's work and thought "Edge of Night" would be a good choice this week.

Since the song is relatively short ,originally only 3 lines ,I sang the last line twice to make it a little longer.
I also tried something I have never done before and added Spanish subtitles as it seems the largest majority of the Hive open mic audience are Spanish speakers.

Since the song is short it was relatively easy to add these subtitles, I will likely continue to do this for all future videos now that I have figured out how to do it efficiently. If I have made any major errors in the translation please feel free to let me know.

Here is the version I played for the video with the last line sung twice.
https://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/tab/billy-boyd/edge-of-night-chords-2327777

"Edge Of Night"

Home is behind, the world's ahead, and there are many paths to tread
Through shadow to the edge of night until the stars are all alight
Mist and shadow, cloud and shade. All shall fade. All.. shall..... fade...
Mist and shadow, cloud and shade. All shall fade. All.. shall..... fade...


▶️ 3Speak

Snapshot_118.png

Sort:  

good rendition dude. I like how you hold the notes to full effect.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks alot bro , yeah sustaining the notes over the A minor chord was fun :).

I haven't seen any of the Lord of the Rings movies yet, but I want to find the time to see them all.
Your cover was very nice, I liked the way you carried the whole song. Have a great week!

Thanks so much Rosana :) .I guess now is a good time to watch the movies now that there is a new show which is a prequel to the Lord of the rings and Hobbit movies.

I watched the show on this site , its ok but the movies by Peter Jackson are much better.
https://www1.freemoviesfull.com/tv/watch-the-lord-of-the-rings-the-rings-of-power-87087

Great! Thanks for the link!

Your welcome :).

Beautiful interpretation my friend. What you say is true, the story of The Lord of the Rings invites us to trust the process, everything each of the characters do is undoubtedly seeking the greater good, thus knowing they will have prosperity. Excellent choice.

Quite a touching theme as you say, I was quite moved by the simplicity of the guitar that inspires tranquility and your beautiful voice color.

Thank you for your very kind words, I am glad you enjoyed this rendition .I wasn't to sure what to do with the strumming of the guitar so I just tried to follow the melody of the song and see how it turned out. I'm pretty happy with the result especially after reading comments like this :).

The song kinda feels like a lone wolf travelling, finding his way back home. A bit melancholic for me. But it does explain why because this was from the movie Lord of the rings and they kinda always traveling.☺️
Love it though even if kinda makes me feel sad.☺️😍

Yes although the song is pretty short it does paint the picture of traveling a long and difficult journey. I guess all songs that begin with a minor chord have that melancholic feeling to some extent ,it is definitely the case with this one. I'm glad you enjoyed it and took the time to give such thoughtful feedback.

I liked the song, good interpretation.

Blessings

Thanks so much , blessings to you to :).

Congratulations @celticheartbeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Song you played and sang with your soul. Pure and musical feeling ☺️

Aww thanks that is very sweet of you to say , I'm glad you enjoyed the song :).

I really like the way you filmed this video. Great vibe.

Thanks so much :)

Bravo!, this version is a luxury brother. I have always connected with this mystical music and to hear different versions and different ways of expressing them and voices is glory. Thank you very much for this contribution to our community...

open mic eng.png

Thanks so much for these very encouraging words bro :). I'm glad you enjoyed this one!

Wow, great find for the theme!
He's got a beautiful voice, and when I first heard him sing, I was amazed! I just didn't expect it.
Love your version! 😍😀

Thanks Anna , yeah Billy Boyd's voice is really good I wish I could sign it like that. Im going to check out your song now.

Congratulations @celticheartbeat! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Uff' Bro your voice is so cool @celticheartbeat you are amazingly talented!!!

Thanks so much bro ,I really appreciate reading your comment :).

Saludos, @celticheartbeat, es primera vez que te escucho. Me gustó mucho tu forma de interpretar el tema,y también tu manera de tocarla guitarra.Pusiste mucho sentimiento. Realmente fue muy grato visitar tu post. Gracias por compartir tu talento. Saludos desde Venezuela. Mil bendiciones.


Greetings, @celticheartbeat, this is the first time I hear you. I really liked your way of interpreting the theme, and also your way of playing the guitar. You put a lot of feeling. It was really nice to visit your post. Thanks for sharing your talent. Greetings from Venezuela. A thousand blessings.