Hive Open Mic week 41, Adieux to the Piano

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


road210913_1280.jpg

There are crucial moments in our lives when we have to go. Go far away from places that make you unhappy. Go away from people that pull you down. Sometimes some relationships just don't work despite all the efforts and it is better to go. Take a new path. Those are moments when we choose to go. However, in some cases, we can not choose. At the moment when destiny decides that we should go to another world, there is not much we can change. One day we all inevitably have to go. For those who stay, it is not always easy to grasp. But the message sent to us by this poem caught my attention. Miss me, but let me go.

So here is the poem, written by Christina Georgina Rossetti

Let me go

When I come to the end of the road
And the sun has set for me
I want no rites in a gloom-filled room
Why cry for a soul set free? Miss me a little, but not for long
And not with your head bowed low
Remember the love that once we shared
Miss me, but let me go.
For this is a journey we all must take
And each must go alone.
It's all part of the master plan
A step on the road to home.
When you are lonely and sick at heart
Go the friends we know.
Laugh at all the things we used to do
Miss me, but let me go.
When I am dead my dearest
Sing no sad songs for me
Plant thou no roses at my head
Nor shady cypress tree
Be the green grass above me
With showers and dewdrops wet
And if thou wilt remember
And if thou wilt, forget.
I shall not see the shadows,
I shall not fear the rain;
I shall not hear the nightingale
Sing on as if in pain;
And dreaming through the twilight
That doth not rise nor set,
Haply I may remember,
And haply may forget.

saygoodbye2890801_1920.jpg

As my entry for this week 41 #openmic, Hive Open Mic, I play a composition called Adieux to the Piano. It is attributed to Ludwig van Beethoven, but it is almost certainly not one of his compositions. Some publishers, to increase their sales, faked the names of the composers, so this Waltz in F major could be probably the work of another composer. This composition doesn't appear in any of the sketchbooks nor in any publication during Beethoven's lifetime, so this is the reason many thinks it is not Ludwig's composition.

Anyway, I found it as a nice piece to represent saying goodbye to someone who has to go.

The source of the photos is pixabay

For the requirements of the event, here is the YouTube link


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 250 posts. Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

a very nice poem,
but your music is even more beautiful.
touching 💜

Hey @rozku, thank you so much for listening to the video and for commenting 💗
This week's topic for Hive Open Mic is "Go" and I think saying goodbye is important. I found that piece, Adieu, which is attributed to Beethoven, but there are opinions that it is not his work. Anyway, I liked it and recorded :-) I am glad you liked as well 😌
Maybe it is even nicer with some !wine 🍷 😇


Cheers, @mipiano You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @rozku.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.100 HIVE

A great interpretation of a great piece like Adeux by Ludwig van Beethoben @mipiano

Thank you @isabelpena 🤗 for stopping by and listening to my interpretation 😇Gracias y un poco de !wine 🍷


Cheers, @mipiano You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @isabelpena.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.100 HIVE

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Very nice and heartful performance!!! ♡

Thank you @ylich and @music-community

I tried to listen to your performance for Hive Open Mic, and it didn't work. Now I see that it is ok, so I am going to listen to it.

Stepping aside from the fact about the composer, as it actually doesn't matter in such a case, the performance is on spot with the trend of a top player. I want to address the fact that I've been watching these videos closely for some time now and I'm always impressed by the precision and grace of your hand's movements. That tells a lot about practice and also getting a proper warm up before doing any playing.

It is a challenge not getting repetitive with the comments about the performance. I enjoyed the piece. It certainly carries that nostalgia of parting from something you love. The serenity of your style helps with the emotional transference carrying the sadness of the tones over to the listener. This is of particular interest because except for some fragments this is a sad piece composed in a major key.

Thank you @bertrayo for not missing my post 😇

I will just tell you a secret, I play this instrument now for 32 years 😳 so that is something essential for me. The precision is of course the matter of practicing.

Thank you for highliting the grace of the hands 😇 my students are noticing it as well and asking me how to do that, how to feel that way hehe 😁

I don't feel this piece as a sad one actually, more like accepting the separation.

Gracias otra vez por tu comentario 🤗😇

Well, I would also ask what your secret is, but I bet it's a ton on practice and good practice to be precise.

I don't feel this piece as a sad one actually, more like accepting the separation.

I think there's sadness on that deal. However, interpretations vary.

Gracias otra vez por tu comentario 🤗😇

Es un gusto. 🤗

Owww owwww, I was expecting a very dramatic video with your piano pulled away from under your hands. "Adieu Adieu my dear friend Piano!" 🤣 Fortunately, it wasn't :)

Hmmm, also in the area of classical music, faking and scamming ongoing? I think it should be: Adieu to those who try to abuse great composers for their own little gain 🤣

ps Have this Grammarly plugin in my browser which tells me the mood of whatever I write. Word by word it keeps telling me, the mood is 'neutral'. Trying to get it to something better, like friendly, or positive or something, but it doesn't want to. Still 'neutral'.... Sorry about that... Next comment I'll do better 🤣 {seriously? after this last sentence it became 'optimistic'... WOOHOO 🤣🤣🤣}

Haha, no, the piano would not be pulled away or harmed 😇 I bought it from a (again Dutch) friend who barely used it, as my old one started to give problems.

Oh yes, less known composers did it...or the publishers, to increase the sales 🤦🏻‍♀️. Also happened when female composers who wanted to publish something. If you have time check out this history

https://peakd.com/hive-105786/@mipiano/eqjaxlkq

P.S. Grammarly says your comments are neutral? Oh, how wrong 😂 Your comments are sometimes serious but almost always wrapped into fun.
I think, we use English the best we can, so we can not compete with native speakers and Grammarly.

Mostly Grammarly tells me 'friendly', or 'funny', but the previous one in this chat was 'neutral' but went in the end to positive. Hmmm, now I don't know for this one, since Ecency desktop app doesn't show Grammarly...

oowwwww wait....

Now moved over to hive.blog. There is Grammarly with its smiley faces again. Hmmm Neutral again 🤣🤣🤣 After these smileys, it became 'Confident' and 'Optimistic' and a little bit 'Informal' to funny this service 🙃 And now it became 'Joyful'with 5 out of 5 stars! Finally!!!! {LOL}

Strange how Grammarly decides what is funny, neutral or optimistic 😜

For me, your every comment is on spot 👌✅

Hahahaha, some AI that is still learning I suppose. It's quite fun to have this AI person watch while I'm writting my comments :) It is pretty much realtime. I can oly advise, try it. It free of charge. A plugin into Chrome or Brave browser. Maybe they support other browsers as well :)

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

Funny, my mind took me on a trip when I read the title of this post. "Is this her last Hive Open Mic participation?" "Is she retiring from playing the piano?" "Is she going to reveal the fact that she's a virtuoso violinist or something, on top of it all?" Thankfully, you're simply sharing a song by that title. Thank you! And of course I appreciate what feels like the soundtrack to my life situation right now, letting go.

Hahahaha the title was a tricky one, right? 😂😂

I am here, staying with my dear instrument and all of you. 🤗

Letting go is difficult sometimes, but no other way if you want to have your inner peace.

Thank you Cabe for checking out my post!