NO MORE 3speak FOR Open mic?

in Hive Open Mic3 years ago

IMG_20210418_142903.jpg

Dear musical comrades of this #Hive,

(I was preparing this post before Hive Openmic week 54 was launched, where the "how to play" bases have changed exactly because of my intended post theme so, its the exact right time to post this.)

I write these lines in an effort to understand what is happening and to know what perspectives there are regarding the use of 3speak to post in #openmic. I think there are two issues around this:

1. Technical problems

Copying the link from a 3speak video to a post on PeakD doesn't always work properly, not showing the preview and even not giving direct access to the video.

Am I doing wrong? Is there a way to do it correctly?
@alex-rourke, what did you do that time you tryed to help me?

Is @threespeak working on these inconsistencies?

2. Advertising on 3speak.

The repeated request of our host @cabelindsay for us to use YouTube for openmic due to the time he loses in advertisments is absolutely understandable, and more so considering the exponential growth of hive openmic, with more and more participations every week. Even so if the team of curators grows, this point is understood. What do @mipiano and @juliopalomo think about this? There is no way around? @ylich?

I personally would like to continue posting from 3speak, and it seems important to me to be able to find a good solution for everyone, and consistent with the decentralizing spirit of this Hive.

What do @hiveopenmic participants think of this?
Should we just switch to youtube?

Compañer@s musicales de esta colmena,

(Estaba preparando esta publicación antes del lanzamiento de Hive Openmic week 54, donde las bases de "cómo jugar" han cambiado un poco en relación con el problema que planteo en esta publicación. Entonces es el momento exacto para publicar esto.)
Escribo estas líneas con el afan de entender qué es lo que sucede y de saber qué perspectivas hay con respecto a la utilización de 3speak para postear en #openmic. Identifico estos 2 problemas:
1. Problemas técnicos
Alguna vez copiando el link de un video de 3speak a un posteo elaborado en PeakD, me ha quedado mal y no se puede ver. Hay forma de hacerlo correctamente?
Se está trabajando en estas inconsistencias? Alguien tiene información al respecto?
2. Publicidad en threespeak.
El repetido pedido de @cabelindsay de que usemos youtube por razón del tiempo que pierde en publicidades es absolutamente entendible, y más teniendo en cuenta el crecimiento exponencial que tiene el hive openmic, con más y más participaciones cada semana. Por más que vaya creciendo el equipo de curadores, se entiende este punto.
A mi personalmente me gustaría seguir posteando desde 3speak, y me parece importante poder llegar a una solución buena para todos, y consecuente con el espíritu descentralizador de esta colmena.
Qué opinan compañer@s de @hiveopenmic? Nos vamos Youtube?

With love, con cariño,

@palimanali

Sort:  

Thanks for being straightforward in addressing the issues of 3Speak video hosting for the Hive Open Mic community. Yeah, it's good to keep an open dialogue about this matter. I'm grateful to you for raising an open discussion about 3Speak.

My personal feeling is that the required advertisements feel overwhelming to me - especially when the ads are appearing right in the middle of a song. That feels downright rude, to me. Imagine if we were listening to live music in a pub, and a salesperson interrupts with a sales pitch. Often these ads appear in the beginning and middle of the song, sometimes requiring me to watch a commercial for ~1 minute when the song itself is only ~3 minutes. Makes me want to skip the song entirely.

And this is only part of the problem. Another issue is that 3Speak videos do not display in the hive.blog website. In the hive.blog website, this is the error message we see, whenever there is a 3Speak video: "Unsupported

" Around a year ago, I made many efforts to get in touch with the team who monitors 3Speak, and they ignored me, or just didn't notice me. Only one person responded. She said, "Hive doesn't support 3Speak, so just use PeakD instead." Yeah, but what about all the people using the hive.blog website? Is hive.blog obsolete?

Anyway, please understand that I'm trying my best to be supportive of ~300 people who are participating in our community when I ask that we use YouTube. Anyone who prefers 3Speak can continue to do that, and include a YouTube link too, or else just ignore my request. I am only one voice, soft spoken.

Cabe, there's a lot more around this issue than I imagined. Im glad addressing this to find the history of video-Dapps and it opens many new questions. Still I dont know what to do for the openmic, because it is very costly to upload double from my phone and frecuently from remote places. I'll figure it out.

Thks for your words!

The thing with 3Speak is a little bit more complicated we could think. For a long time a solution is needed, but we're still waiting. A more extended explanation of my thought can you read at Unsupporting 3Speak??? || ¿3Speak sin apoyo?.

You touched an important topic!

We are free people, and this platform too :) You can do whatever you feel it is correct, and I don't see that the admin prohibited the use of 3speak. I use 3speak with a lot of pleasure for publishing too, just for open mic I use youtube, but it is my choice.

@cabelindsay said this on your post:

Did you know that the 3Speak video platform breaks up your music with a commercial in the middle of your song, and also in the beginning? I wish there was a way around it, but for the future I ask that you include a YouTube version, so I don't have to view so many ads. Thanks in advance.

He asked you to include a YouTube version, didn't say not to use 3speak at all. But he can correct me if I am mistaken.

It maybe has to do with the country or the browser we use, I don't see the commercials :)

Ok, i'll do Youtube, no problem.

So you dont see Ads at all at 3speak?

 3 years ago (edited) 

No, I don't see that ads :) but clearly others do see them.

I think you can still use 3speak for your entry, but include into your post the link to YouTube too, it is how I understand the request of the admin. But he can correct if I am mistaken!

I cannot upload two times each time, its too much. Ill just do it in youtube

3Speak video platform breaks up your music with a commercial in the middle of your song, and also in the beginning?

I only see one in the beginning. Still it sucks. I totally understand you, and this information I want to highlight. And go deeper. It really is no good for a performance if @threespeak cuts you in half.

Ah, ok. I was not aware of so much commercials, I still don't see them :)
I watched again your video and I see just you. And the ukulele :D

Ha! Do you use Brave?

Yes, Brave.

yes, also use Brave Browser and it works quite well in regards to the ad blocker. I'd recommend it.

You can use the Brave browser and that will remove all the ads.

Thks Eddie for this info.
@cabelindsay, could this be a solution for you?