Open Mic week 136 Cover 'Don't Stop Me Now'

Oh my goodness! LETS ROCK!

I am really NOT a rock star of any kind. I love to sing and play pop music and songs from musicals. I had classical vocal and piano lessons, so to break away from all that is quite difficult for me, though I wanted to give it a go.

I enjoy listening to rock and really admire those who can carry it off. My boyfriend plays and sings rock music and is great at electric guitar, saxophone and various other instruments. I however, could never get up on stage and do what he does, and though I have performed this song before as an open mic, this week was quite a task for me.

I have very fond memories of listening to Queen with my friend Julia, whilst we were at college. This was almost 40 years ago but I can remember all the lyrics of the tape we constantly played...including all the misheard lyrics. Queen are still one of my favourite bands. There is nobody like dear old Freddie. What a dreadful pity that he died so young. Imagine what he might have been doing now.

I hope you don't think I've murdered what was a perfectly fine song before I got hold of it..but I wanted to rise to the challenge, so I even got some flashing 'rockstar' type lights in my little studio. Sorry if I offend your ears with this one.

I recorded the vocal and keys together then added some drums and bass afterwards....sorry if its a bit of a car crash.

Sort:  

I'm always having a good time listening to this song, and not just me!
Certainly always one everyone joins in when you play it!
Seems you had too judging by the end! haha

You put the pressure up there with your drums.. Well done! 😄

Well I was smiling by the end of it...I got through it relatively unscathed. I always forget how fast it is.

You playing this is the ultimate feel-good music - and of course a big excuse for a sing-along! Nice one!

Ah thanks.. Its so fast though. I had forgotten that it races along. There's nowhere to breathe.

Really impressed with the drumming!

Hi @purplesinger,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator hafizullah & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote ;) Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Congratulations @purplesinger! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - LeoFinance joins the party with 1000 more HIVE!
World Cup Contest - New Sponsor and Prizes - dCrops adds 30000 CROP and 300 NFTs
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 5500 HIVE to win
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Queen were one of the first bands I got into. I was lucky to see them live twice and I think they were one of the best live bands. Freddie was such a showman. I do love your version of this too. I was drumming along with it and it's quick!

Rock and roll!

!LUV

Ah you were really lucky to see them live. Two of my friends saw them at live aid. I couldn't afford to go...

You sound amazing as always @purplesinger. This really wasn't so easy I can tell. Even for me who's really used to R&B, pop, blues and soul. Rock isn't for the fainthearted, yet you nailed this one. Well done Barbara 😊

@sleemfit Thank you...I struggle with Rock. It's really not my genre. I hope we don't have a 'rap' week because I'd be completely lost.

I struggle with rock too... but I try to do my best always...lol I hope we don't 😂

Well this is really fun to flow with, I especially loved the effect of the breaks....... Nice presentation and a fun song

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Oh! how well you have done This version has been very good. Congratulations!🎼👏👏👏

Thank you for your kindness.