Zeal, Strength and Willpower

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

029A506B-E0CD-4CF5-9FA9-2F8974AF10DC.jpeg

Remember last year when I shared about my dad having a mini stroke?

I talked about how hard it was seeing him stumble over himself after watching this strong man in my life do so much and go through so much for us. I was so used to seeing my dad move around with ease and take care of his home and family.

He never fully recovered from the stroke or the minor leg injury he suffered due to his age (now 68) and the fact his bones don’t heal as fast as they used to. But as you can see he didn’t let that stop him.

My husband and brother moved these huge wood logs from the front of my parent’s home to the backyard. Since then, my parents have been working on sawing and chopping the wood into pieces to prepare for the upcoming winter.

What you see here is the work of my parents, still standing strong, moving around and taking care of business.

We still have to get on my dad at times and remind him to take breaks and drink plenty of water because working like this in 98 degree weather is what caused his stroke. We couldn’t bear it happening to him again.

When my mother shared this photo with us I got really excited because I know that my dad still has willpower, motivation and strength in his life that’s keeping him going.

BC2F018B-F827-4EA5-B36F-623D544D1786.jpeg

There’s another big cause in keeping my parents going and that’s entertaining their grands and greats.

Our kids make sure they get to see their grandparents on a regular basis, always asking to go over their house. That means a lot to me that they want to spend that kind of time with them.

A couple of weeks ago they had a backyard sleepover with all of their grandchildren where they camped out in this tent. They prepared the yard and got everything together for them. You can see a glimpse of their garden behind the tent along with their tool shed.

The kids had a blast sharing stories all night long and listening to the nature around them.

I’m really grateful our kids get to have these experiences with their grandparents. I’m mostly glad that both of them still have a zeal for life!

Never take life or the lives of those around you for granted. Enjoy as much as you can while you still can ~ 💚

Sort:  

Gotta keep moving!

Absolutely!! It's what's best.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Your Dad certainly has a lot of grit despite his health problems. That tent looks so cozy!
I believe keeping busy is the best way to keep healthy!
Your closing phrase is sooo true, we never know when the last bell is going to toll🤗

He truly does. It makes me happy when I see him working like this because it's what he enjoys doing. He's always been a diy type of guy and it was hard for him when he couldn't be that person (with all the limitations he was facing). I agree, keeping busy does keep us healthy :)

Exactly. We just never know.

Thanks so much for reading and commenting ~ 💓🤗

Awwww... This is really beautiful @crosheille I'm sorry about the health problem of dad but I'm glad he's recovering and being able to still do all of this work's he's really a strong and energized person and I pray that God continue to keep him alive and healthy for us and for the sake of his grandchildren. There's nothing so fun as spending time with grand grand's.. xoxo

Thanks @protokkol. It puts a smile on my face seeing him working in the yard. He still has quite a strength to be able to do this.

Thank you, I pray the same too. His grandbabies love him so much!

In these hot climates, you should drink water with juices. You should also stay away from fat and replace it with vegetables to have good health

Yes, staying hydrated is the best thing to do. My father loves vegetables so he gets plenty of that in as well ;)

Running is one of the most important factors that help blood flow well and reduce the risk of small strokes. I wish him a speedy recovery

Thanks for that wish :)

Unfortunately with his leg injury and other ailments he's not able to run like he used to but he and my mom do get out for plenty of walks ~

I'm sure seeing his grand kids regularly is the best remedy for your dad. Hope he continues to make a speedy recovery

It truly is. He lights up when they’re around him :)

Thanks so much ~

There is a saying that, you will never know how important people may be until you lose them which is why we need to appreciate people in our lives especially our family because they mean a lot to us

Exactly so. I refuse to wait until my family is gone in order to appreciate them. The time is now.

The time is now to really show the love and care

Yes, for sure ~

There's just nothing like grandparents when you're a kid 😍.

Have you seen that wall of logs? 😂

Great your mum and dad are doing so well!

So true! I wish I still had my grandparents here with me. I loved going to their house when I was growing up too.

Thanks so much! 😘

Owww. I hope he could regain his full strength very soon. You and your children will help him by making him smile/laugh always.

My mom used to put wet small fabric/cloth on her head when she's outside and the sun is burning her skin. She was diagnosed with high blood pressure and too much heat won't be good on her but a wet cloth on her head can ease the hot temperature.

Anyways, God bless you @crosheille and your family, especially your dad.

Thanks Jonalyn. Being around him definitely helps lift his spirit and his motivation :)

Thanks for sharing what your mother did. I will pass this idea on to my parents. 👌🏽

I appreciate you and your sweet comment ~ 💓

You're always welcome @crosheille. 🥰

😘☺️

That is great to see your Dad be so active, that is backbreaking work cutting up those logs! Good on him:)
Your kids will surely brighten his day too, so it is great that his grandchildren love to be around your parents!

Thanks @tengolotodo! Yes, it is backbreaking work and he was so determined to get it done. I’m so proud to know they accomplished this :)

Surely so! Having the grands around is like a dose of medicine ~

Thanks for your comment!

You can't beat a dose of natural medicine!
Have a great weekend:)

I certainly agree :)

Thanks, you enjoy yours as well ~

Hi @crosheille, I'm glad I found you and this post too. Life is beautiful when you spend it with your loved ones creating unforgettable memories. Your parents are not only strong but they are full of wisdom! They understand life and they try to use their actions to teach us. Your dad working hard depicts passion. I'm happy you understand this and that your kids enjoy the benefits of a happy home. I pray and hope happiness never departs from your family.

Thanks for sharing and I wish you all good health. Lots of !LUV

untitled.gif

And !PIZZA

I really enjoyed reading this comment. I'm glad you came across my post too. Thank you for your words. ☺️

Yes, my father has always been passionate about family and keeping us close together. It’s the only way I know how to raise my kids…teaching them to appreciate and enjoy every moment we are blessed to have with our loved ones.

God Bless you @samostically ~ 😊

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samostically(1/5) tipped @crosheille (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I admire your father for being a hard working man. I mean, he still really like to move even if he was not yet healed. It only means your father is not a lazy man.

Praying for his recivery. 🤗

Thanks @zbabe. I have been amazed by his strength for many years. This man always keeps going and doing what needs to be done. This is what made it so hard for me to see him in a weak state, I've never seen him like that before. It's worth celebrating him regaining strength and getting back to what he loves to do, taking care of his home and family. ☺️

Thanks so much for the prayers ~ 🤗

Praying for his complete recovery. Fir sure, having his grand children also is one of his gealing process. You made it there 😊🤗

It is very true that in life we can take nothing for granted. And being able to enjoy grandparents is such a precious thing. It is a blessing that your children are able to do that. Those nights' sleepover camping must be so much fun for your kids and your parents too.

And I am glad that your father is overcoming his health issues.

Right, nothing for granted. Yes, they look forward to sleepovers and camping nights with them :)

Thanks so much. It's good to see him like this and gives us all a relief ~

Your dad is a strong man, and I pray for quick recovery on his leg. I enjoy going through your post. You have a very hardworking parents and family.

Thank you. They've always been hard workers. They taught us well on how to take care of our homes and family :)

I appreciate the comment ~

I smiled reading this . my dad died of stroke. I understand how it feels seeing your dad not as energized as he was. I think that's life generally.

I am also happy that your children have the sweet opportunity of spending time with them. It feels so good.

😳🥺 I'm sorry you lost him to a stroke.

It was really hard seeing him that way and now I know you understand exactly what I mean.

Thank you, I'm happy that they get this opportunity as well ~ 💓

Thank you, I'm happy that they get this opportunity as well ~

Yes of course. My mum is still alive and I don't hesitate to bring her over to stay with me for sometime. My baby too loves to be with her.

It is a beautiful experience having our kids bond with our parents.

That’s so nice that your mom is able to come over and spend time with you all. I bet your daughter really enjoys that. ☺️

Yes, it truly is a beautiful experience ~