DreemPort Challenge with Silver Bloggers : week 2 - Generations

in Silver Bloggerslast year

When I think of legacies passed on from generation to generation, I usually think of positive things handed down. However, this week, I've been thinking hard about some of the difficult things passed down in our genes.

I've been struggling a lot lately with one of my relatives who is dealing with a chronic illness but fails to take it seriously. There are a lot of things they can do to make it go slower and extend not only their lives but also improve the quality of their lives. It's really frustrating especially because we all saw their parent struggle with the same illness, which ended up taking their life unnecessarily early.

It's so easy to stand in judgement when we are on the outside, and dismiss their hardships. It seems so easy for us, when we don't have to deal with the suffering, right?

The past few months I was thinking about my own health and all the things I really need to reel in. As I get older, I find that the things I used to do that I shouldn't, have longer-lasting effects. Not only that, but the symptoms that used to be so easily connected to one thing have now become a lot harder to discern. What causes this ache? What creates this soreness? How is that related to this new pain?!

Older age is not for the weak of heart! lol

All kidding aside, I started to think of this concept of GENERATIONS for our DreemPort collaboration with SILVER BLOGGERS this month! Sometimes the best things we learn are learning what NOT to do.... what NOT to repeat!
At least three generations have suffered with some chronic illnesses all connected, and if I can look back at my ancestry, what excuse do I have to perpetuate that cycle? Do I want to pass this struggle into the next generation? Or do I want to be an example of victory in the lives of my children and beyond?

Based on what I've seen and what I want to project into the next generations, I've renewed my commitment to just take better care of my body, mind and spirit!

Here is my prescription, and if you want, I'll write it for you too!

LOVE YOURSELF

  • Move body daily
  • Drink plenty of water
  • Cut sugar (it's poison. delicious, murderous poison lol)
  • Eliminate stress
  • Season life with more joy, love and peace



What do you think? Do they sound like easy pills to swallow? And they're without negative side effects too!

I have to say, I tell myself these things every year, and every year I need to re-motivate myself! Instead of looking at that with a negative perspective and thinking about how I fail to master this, I'm going to cheer myself on and say "Look how you never give up!"

If that sounds like you too...I'm cheering for you as well!



This has been my entry for this week's DreemPort/Silver Bloggers challenge on GENERATIONS. If you'd like to join in.. write your post according to this post and be sure to drop the URL into DreemPort this Friday! (by 5pm Pacific)


Generations image
Love your body image

Sort:  

I remember I was at the doctor a few years and we were discussing medical history and I was saying how I was checking off the list of ailments I have got my from my father. So this resonated DreemieWeemieSeeme!

 last year  

exactly... its like i can just look at my own issues and trace back to where i got each one from LOL

yep yep yep tengolotodooooooooo! hehe

You are so right, Dreemie. We must learn from what our previous generations did wrong and not make the same mistakes. And the most important thing is those pills you have prescribed. And take care of our health.

I try to follow all the points you mentioned, although I confess that I have a sweet tooth and should eat fewer sweets. And I always have to remember to drink water, I need a dreemport challenge to drink more and more liters of water, hehe.

!LUV

 last year  

hahahaha oh no @samsmith1971 has been asking for that DreemPort challenge again where we did some health tasks for ourselves!!! LOL

if she sees this - you two will gang up on me and make it so!! hahahahahaha

actually i would enjoy that too!! but we have some things planned out until June for now - so... we'll see - maybe in July??? is that too far away hahahaha

 last year  

Summer healthy living challenge? I love it!!! c'mon super Eli and Dreemie Dreem - let's do this hehe @dreemsteem @coquicoin !LUV !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dreemsteem and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Haha!!! I will always tell you that you should listen to @samsmith1971, Dreemie hehe

It's never too far away the time to encourage us to improve our healthy habits, but I have to do something about drinking those glasses of water right now
!LOLZ

Throwing acid is wrong
in some people’s eyes.

Credit: marshmellowman
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @coquicoin

(1/4)
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!

 last year  

hahaha yay... we are already teeming hehe... I am drinking my water with lemon in it each day... makes it go down nice and easy 💗 so yummy. !LUV !LADY !PIZZA

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @coquicoin and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I hope your relative decides to do the right thing... Sometimes people are too close to a situation to realize that there are viable solutions, and just keep suffering...

What do you think? Do they sound like easy pills to swallow? And they're without negative side effects too!

Except for the one about sugar, yes :) ...

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

 last year  

hahaha yes - sugar is very addictive isn't it! lol

they say more than cocaine!! LOLOL

It's not just the addictive part (enjoyment) it's the ability to have almost instant energy too! Sugar is awesome 😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@dreemsteem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Where do bad rainbows go?
Prism, it's a light sentence.

Credit: reddit
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

(6/6)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 last year  

thank you @ecency!!!

I wonder why your relative would be acting nonchalant towards their health. He/she is clearly about to repeat the same mistake as the previous generation and that's bad. I hope he/she has a change of heart.

I totally agree with you about the "self-love" prescription. We need to learn to love ourselves first but most people over look this.

 last year  

hi wongi! :)

well... yeah - nonchalance...
that's exactly the word hmmm?

sometimes i think people just feel like ignorance is bliss and they see the problems and they're too overwhelming so instead of fighting -they just succumb.

it's sad - but life is often sad...

and yes... I will write you a prescription for the self-love pills hehehehe

Most times, it feels better to just do nothing and let go. I won't blame the people that do.

And yes, I'd love that prescription a lot 😅

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@samsmith1971(1/15) tipped @coquicoin
wrestlingdesires tipped dreemsteem

It is really kind of tragic when I think about chronic disease being hereditary, are they no such thing as being innocent anymore? You will see young children who have not done any tangible thing in their life but inherit chronic disease from their families. Well I am glad you find a way to slow down the effect of such disease because you are responsible for your own health.

Pop in from dreamport

Very nice prescription to follow Ma'am @dreemsteem to cut the chain of the chronic illness. Thank you for sharing!. I came from #dreemport God bless you!

It can be frustrating and challenging when you want someone else to take care of themselves but they seem to fail to take it seriously. The fact is, it is a decision they have t take for themselves... They will never consistently take positive steps to maintain their health until it becomes their own decision...

Your prescription for a healthy lifestyle...? All those points are non-negotiable in my opinion...but sometimes easier said than done... especially when you have a sweet tooth...lol.

Quite strong, in my case it happened in a similar way with my grandfather, who did not want to take care of an illness. That devastated my mother and my uncles, however, time went by and things got worse and worse. There was never a solution. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

About 10 years ago my cousin started working on our family tree. He was able to go good few generations back, more so - he was able to add such details like - the cause of death. For my family that would be cancer and heart dieses. Plus there are few cases of Alzheimer's, which scares me the most, not gonna lie. But I am really glad, he was so thorough with his research. This way, I know what I need to pay particular attention to:)

Seem bit scary, but it is what it is.

I hope you are taken good care of yourself!