You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jiffy Pop ! A Blast From The Past

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

It is definitely more fun! I use peanut oil too, it just tastes better. We love popcorn so much that we bought a popcorn machine (you know the one with wheels!) for the media room. We have a television in the den but don't watch much tv... but a movie now and then, yes! :) So it makes movie theater style, it truly is great. That is where we learned to make it with peanut oil, years ago. The movie theaters use it. Ditto the butter, although I like mine plain.

I know what you are talking about. The one with the crank! It is called a whirley-pop!! Those are so cool!

At Christmas time, I like making caramel corn with nuts and will give big batches of it away. It is nice to give to people that you don't buy for and it is totally yummy. Wrapped up nice, it is a nice gift.

I think that people take life too seriously. That is no way to have fun, is it?

I hope it rains tomorrow. I have splashed in puddles in almost a year!

Happy Labor Day almost! Is there a picnic in your future?

Sort:  

Whirly Pop ! haha.. .that's it. I said Twirly Pop..... close... but no cigar!

I think I read once that the peanut oil has a higher burn rating, meaning it can tolerate the higher, prolonged heat without burning. That is when I adopted it.

I love that you have a real popper. I think it pops hotter and I think that is part of what makes movie popcorn frequently better than what is made at home on the stove. My hubs use to stop once in a while at a local theatre and come home with a big bucket of the real thing. Loved it when that happened. I saw a smaller version of the big popcorn cart once and was tempted. I always wondered if it would do as well as the bigger version. Alas, I never bought one.

The caramel corn sounds good. I love treasured treats as gifts. No much way to go wrong with that.

People do take life too seriously mostly. People who have chosen to twist everything into something offensive chap my hide too. Why would anyone choose to make themselves more miserable than they have to be? I don't get it and I'm glad I don't !

It has rained off and on today here. I did not look at the forecast. The morning had been sunny and warm. I had even been out on my porch for a few minutes checking out my few flowers and had no idea it was supposed to rain. Later, when I heard something and realized it was rain, I was surprised. They haven't lasted long, even though some of the rain came down hard. Little popup storms here and there, with some sun and partial blue skies between.

Happy Labor Day too you. No picnics planned at this time, but that doesn't mean one won't happy. 🙂

 2 years ago  

Exactly, Your family is like mine with the pop-ups. Like a preplanned pop-up, but, not. That is fun too. No stress to do a bunch of stuff. Just come as you are. No stress.

I just cannot believe the weatherman! He says rain Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday cloudy Thursday and Friday, and rain Saturday and Sunday!! What?? I haven't seen that much rain here, ever!

I don't believe them.

The small version of the big popper works well too. My sister has one and loves it. I do the peanut oil as that is what the theaters do. It does heat the way you described. I use it on all the Asian food I make. It gives it a whole different flavor. You know, it tastes ASIAN! LOL

I hate a chapped hide. For real! 🤣

I was going to give it to you. Twirly Pop is what popped the Whirley pop into my brain. :)

Sounds like perfect rain. Dark clouds just passed over the house, but, didn't make a pit stop here. Tomorrow.

All this talk about popcorn and oils reminds me that Popcornopolis claims theirs is popped in coconut oil. I have never tried that, but I think I should, just in case. Their popcorn is the bomb !... but not cheap. My fav is Cinnamon Toast flavor. I ordered a bunch of large cones and gave one to each of my sibs and Mom at Christmas, along with a giftcard to our local biscuit/breakfast shop. We all love that stuff. (That was not all I gave Mom though, but she also gets what everyone else gets)

 2 years ago  

Try it!! Its even better! It has a distinct coconut flavor and makes it yummy.

 2 years ago  

Try it!! Its even better! It has a distinct coconut flavor and makes it yummy. Can you believe it was coconut oil that i was thinking of? Peanut oil is good, but youvwont turn back once you try coconut!

Still, use peanut for Asian food!!

Some how I don't really taste the coconut on the popcornopolis corn, but it would be hard to tell with that yummy cinnamon toast glaze all over it.

I will have to add the coconut oil to my shopping list and give it a whirl. :)

 2 years ago  

A whirl!! Lol

It doesn't taste like coconut, it makes it taste good! Get a small jar. The Amish one is yellowish and the others tended to be white or yellow/white.

Got that?

I've used coconut oil for other things and liked it... and a few things that it didn't make better....LOL I think I scrambled some eggs with some one time and thought it tasted terrible. I also have put it in the ends of my hair as a deep moisturizer and then twisted my hair up in a towel for a while before a shampoo. :) So many things you can do with that stuff !

Popcornopolis has other flavors too that I'm sure are good, but if I have a choice, it is always Cinnamon Toast !

 2 years ago  

Omg!

Cinnamon Toast Glaze!!