BoM- Where was I? : Largest Refugee Influx in the world

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

25th August 2017
Friday
It has been only 2 months since I have become an intern after graduating.

  • My half of the world was occupied with the anticipation of advancing towards an absolutely unknown life, the scary, unpredictable, adult or to be a precise professional life
  • And other half was occupied with the immense pressure, and exhaustion of intern life at that time was internship and
    And even at that, the most anticipated moment and moto of my life then was my only weekend as an intern.

My precious Friday.
To waste doing nothing! I meant absolutely nothing!
Just blissfully waste it every second.
Probably that was the only thing that had held my sanity and pushed for the strength of working next week back then! Certainly, I had no idea that an a national emergency occurred that later stop the world and made to look at us, on the usual Friday in my life.

Which later entangled itself with my life from then till now and perhaps will forever.

For heavens blessing, we are naturally very resourceful especially geographically gifted in fertility.
However, as a country, we are like those middle-class families!
Grinding our teeth tight while struggling every day, keep pushing for a better life, good days since winning our Liberty war in 1971!
Building and molding the whole economy from the ground while constantly struggling against every other geo-political factors.
So even though economically we were not something to brag about, we have the luxury to live in a Republic country that has not gone bankrupt yet!
Nevertheless, hosting a large refugee for perhaps god even doesn’t know for how long, is not something my country would be capable of!
Yet, we had it and still have!

Before this event, all those Afghanistan or African refugees, seemed a story beyond comprehension!

Just reading those histories in books as a part of general knowledge, later the technological advancements enabled to see through online is still seemed a story of another dimension.
That's what I told here People of the Mist!
But when I myself served as a part of the Humanitarian Crisis, only then I realized no amount of videos, audio, books, or research papers serves any good of what happens on the ground whatsoever!
Almost NOTHING!
If you have never worked in refugee camps, for the refugee, with the refugee...

No amount of knowledge is right to serve you the pragmatic knowledge or extension of understanding, I promise.

Because that's how I had known felt about Syrian and Afghanistan and all of that humanitarian crisis until then.
However, among all, it had knocked distinctively to the HCP (Health Care Professionals) I could tell.
The level of the medical emergency has nothing compared to what we have learned or seen in a pedagogical context.
Of course, I am still living my ignorant life until one day I heard a couple of my batch mates go to join the International Organizations there.
Then I came to know, that there IS a working opportunity and it is not only restricted to the Internationals but they are in dire need of nationals.
As my very strict ideology was about jobs, I attempted hard to get one there.
I felt as if one miracle occurred to my desperate yearning!
Working in a humanitarian crisis, danger, adventure, accomplishments, excitement, exploring the possibility of my own capabilities... You know how the young adrenaline rush works!

And that one fateful day I got a call from the mighty MSF ( Médecins Sans Frontières)

From then on until now, I have been a humanitarian worker.

And the more I have worked in that context, the further I thrived to push forward. My dream has now changed from a hedonistic ignorant to something entirely opposite.
I am seeking more knowledge, experience, competency, and many more things so that I can work Internationally.
Someday, I desire to work in Afghanistan, Syria, and those crisis events-
Where humans are fighting for human rights against humans to uphold the very basic fundamental humanity!
People say "You have become self-destructive."
Some other says "Perhaps you are going through a nasty phase and seeking excitement only to alter that!"
But come on!
How can you not attempt to become one after working here?
How can anyone ignore and just leave the field as if "they have enough with excitement, now time to live a quiet life!"

photo_2022-09-18_22-49-04.jpg

Well! Who am I to judge how people want to live their life?
I believe there will always be people who are deviated and foolish enough to continue with the path!
And I want to be the one there to walk beside them.
You can call it self-destructive because-
I love challenges, adventure,
working in hostilities where even gunfight is not unusual...

But I call it A-lively-life-worth-living

All the contents are mine until the source is mentioned

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

It's good to read that you are dedicated to what you do as a humanitarian worker. Kudos to you and to all the people who are working for a great cause.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @fahmidamou and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Well from the events I realized, it is not very common to get entangled with this sorts of life. But who gets once, becomes it's forever.
Thank you, have a nice day

 2 years ago  

I believe you've found what makes your heart tick or your passion :) Thank you too for sharing your experience and story.

Yes very much. No exaggeration but it feels like I was born at the right time to experience this in time!
Thank you for your kind words

 2 years ago  

I understand :) Cheers to you and kudos to all that you do ❤