BIRTHDAYS...I LOVE "EM !!!

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

image.png
Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

SAY WHAT??

Are you kidding? Three years already, seems like yesterday I did my first "blog" on steemit #hive. I didn't have a clue as to what to do. After joining the new club, I just read posts and tried to navigate all the tech stuff. I was told this would be a fun new thing to do now that I was retired and had some extra time. Ok???? but I still wasn't convinced I wanted to spend hours and hours sitting at a computer writing essays about something that no one would be interested in, most likely. It was @thebigsweed who got me involved through cooking.

That grabbed my interest. I do enjoy cooking and baking, give me some hungry peeps, and I am in my glory.

warm seasoned bread, right out of the oven!

IMG_2926.JPG

After my introduction post, I found a niche, #fff, (food fight Friday) it had some really funny and interesting people there that kept me coming back each week to throw around some flour and jokes. I was hooked. Of course, it took me several posts to understand the Friday part. DUH!
But thankfully, after a few fish slaps from @splatts and some encouragement from @puravidaville, I kept moving forward.

IMG_3491.JPG

@keithboone introduced me to #featheredfridays, and @melinda010100 kept me going with her vast knowledge of our #featherdedfriends, I now was a #birdwatcher. What a great hobby that has turned out to be. Thanks guys.

It has been a wild and wonderful ride so far. I have met so many interesting and kind people through this network. I have to mention some others #hiveans that have helped me stick it out, even though I felt a fool when I voted for the wrong witnesses during the steem/hive debacle.

IMG_4960.JPG

A big thank you to @tarazkp, @crimsonclad and many others who went to bat for me so I wouldn't miss out on the airdrop. Sweet!

Lessons learned.

@dandays, what a patient man, looking back I don't know how he put up with this dumb blonde, honestly, it's embarrassing how naive I was. But thank you my friend. You kept me in the game.

@intothewild thrilled me with his youthful adventures and after meeting @lizelle I quickly learned presentation means a lot when serving up your recipes. @plantstoplanks has us eating better by tempting us with her awesome vegan dishes and @riverflows has me doing more research than ever before finding natural ways to heal ourselves.

With @goldenoakfarm, we have discovered better ways to #homestead, grow food and create beautiful gardens. And...my friend @dswigle, who turned me on to #alwaysaflower, one of my passions, growing flowers to color our world.

IMG_1305.JPG

@tattoodjay had me up and going for #wednesdaywalk with #makemesmile and @elizacheng at my side. Hey there @jerrytsuseer, how's it going old friend.

Good stuff!!

I could go on and on and on...I feel so blessed.

IMG_0534.JPG

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

May you all have a wonderful day.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Happy Birthday!!! You should remember this one!

image.png

 2 years ago  

Oh yeah!!! Pretty nice gift wouldn't ya say, I am pumped.

 2 years ago  

Happened pretty fast - now to get some buybacks in before it runs again - though it might not slow.

 2 years ago  

It's a crap shoot for sure, but being ready is half the battle. My son is on it. I hope bitcoin stays down a little longer. But hive? my play money can go through the roof!

Oh yes… the good ol’ Food Fight Fridays!!
untitled.gif

 2 years ago  

Oh my, I loved #fff, I cut my teeth on that fight.
Thanks for always being there. I notice your support and I am so thankful for you and your clan.

Peace and blessings!

I would really like to revive FFF one day but I have just a tad too much going one… weird right? Lol

I saw in a comment the Big Guy had surgery… 😳😳 I thought he was invincible!! How is he doing?

 2 years ago  

Hey there friend, Bob is doing great, slow and steady, he has the best nurse and the best cook in town, so why wouldn't he be doing excellent!😁😁
All kidding aside, he still has a ways to go but I have confidence he will conquer this like he does all things. He's bull headed and tough, just needs to be patient.
Thanks for asking. I keep pushing him to get back to posting, but sitting in the chair for too long takes it's toll. Hopefully within a few more weeks he will be as good as new.

Hope you and yours are well.

He had his hip replaced? Is that right?? Well let me tell you back in the day my cousin was living in the basement of my grandparents house and my Grandpa just had his second hip replacement… she could here scrambling around upstairs and my grandma saying “Knock it if you pervert”. True story… he was chasing her around the house… a bit disturbing but too funny!!!

Big Bad Bob will be up and running in no time, so you better keep your distance. LOL

God Bless you both and your amazing family!!

 2 years ago  

He's already showing signs for full recovery😁

You know what they say "you can't keep a good man down".

Great story LOL!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Happy Hive Birthday and sorry that I could only now get around to thank you for the kind gift now Lady Robin.

I was not aware of your hive/steem issue, as you know that we would also have backed you all of the way. But fortunately the issue is at rest now.
So November month was a birthday month for all of you and it is so great to read in the big man's post about how you stand by him through thick and thin.

So, glad that you had your 3rd year birthday on Hive and now for the next 10 years 😀

Blessings.

!LUV

 2 years ago  

The next ten years??? God willing.

Sorry I haven't kept up with you, but I have been playing nurse to @thebigsweed. He had a total hip replacement just 11 days ago and is still recovering.
Happy to report, he is doing great but still has a way to go. 4-6 weeks until he can walk without the walker, then some months in physical therapy. No sweat, Bob is one tough bugger.

Hope you and yours are well.

 2 years ago  

Sure, the next 10 years and more I pray.

Yes we know now about Rob's hip replacement and he is on our prayer list. Funny that as one get's older healing takes longer periods.
I am also struggling with a few issues that would have healed quickly in my younger years.

No need for sorry ever please as I read how you are standing by him and you are a great woman.
No need also to worry about not keeping up with us as you have much more important things to do.
Just know that we care for you guys.

!LUV

 2 years ago  

Thank you as always for your kind words and prayers. Each day gets a little better for my hubby, he's tough and I am sure in just a few more weeks he will be up and running, well maybe not running, but up and about.😄
Hope you are well, enjoying a peaceful day. Nice to hear from you as always.

 2 years ago  

Day by day is the best way to go through life Lady Robin. No matter how long it takes, we and you know that he will get there. Of course he also has wonderful support by you and the family and if I was in his shoes, I would stay "sick" for at least a year 🤣

Mind you with all of the free love and kisses, I might even push my luck to stay "sick" for longer than a year 🤣

But of course not our iron man Rob, as before you know it he will be up and about. Maybe at a tortoise pace, but he will be up, as I am the same.

Take care and here's some !LUV for you.

 2 years ago  

hahahaha, we call it "milking it", Bob is good at that.

I have to tell you, it makes me happy to feel useful, I love him. And he is showing progress everyday.
We are blessed.

 2 years ago  

Ha, I think most men are used to milking it Lady Robin.
Yes and he loves you right back, which certainly releases a feeling of completeness. And happiness.
Day by day is the only way to go and as the new things pop up, to beat them.
Never easy, but it's the best way.
Your love is what blesses you.

!LUV

Sharing about one's journey is an encouragement for others. Your post is doing that.

Days turn into months and months to years with a rapid pace. When we look back it feels like all in a flash but when we reflect back we realize how much we have gathered over the course of the journey. The downs and ups, the mistakes and successes, the friends and foes. Every thing becomes meaningful.

The most important thing, I think, is how much we are satisfied when we reflect back.

, it took me several posts to understand the Friday

It is funny, isn't it? 😂

Nice reading your post @farm-mom maam. Have a nice day ⚘

 2 years ago  

Great response, so very true. That is one of the biggest reasons I started on #hive, to document the journey. Long after I am gone my kids and grandkids can look back at these posts and see who I was and where I had been.

Thanks for such a thoughtful comment.

Enjoy the day!

Certainly,your write ups are gona be the legacy that you leave behind.

Happy Thanksgiving!!! Love having you here @farm-mom! Glad my zest for adventure keeps you engaged!

 2 years ago  

Hey there my friend. I have been out of action the last few weeks. The hubby had hip replacement surgery and is on the mend thanks to my nursing skills and good cooking. hehe

I will be catching up to ya soon. Peace!

Happy thanksgiving and happy Hive anniversary

 2 years ago  

Thanks Jay, peace and blessings to you and yours.

Hi dear. Happy thanksgiving and happy aniversary here

 2 years ago  

Well hello there my friend. Thank you. Hope all is well.
Blessings and peace to you and your family!!

thank you very much friend. Here everything is fine, working here a lot so that we do not lack anything. I always remember you.

 2 years ago  

Oh I am soooo very happy life is getting better for you!
We remember our friends.

If it has improved a lot and here I have done quite well. I appreciate being here every day and all the support I receive here and allow my life to be good

Happy Birthday! 3 years! I'll be 3 years on January 23, 2022. I've loved reading your posts!

 2 years ago  

I feel the same way, you have touched my life in such a positive way.
This Thanksgiving, I thank you for your friendship.

 2 years ago  

Love you and Bob to the moon and back Robin, I hope @farm-mom and @thebigsweed are having a great T'sgiving holiday.
While I am very grateful for all my Hivean friends, and friends and family irl, I am being antisocial today.
I got up, read my emails and notification/messages, then by 9 am went back to bed.
I cannot abide what is on TV on the holidays, I have no one nearby that I wish to spend time with (in truth, I am not comfortable in most social situations unless I am playing ♫♪music♫♪) so, today I will just be dull, boring and omnipresent.

 2 years ago  

Hey there Jerry, sending hugs to you!
We are also laying low today, Bob had a total hip replacement surgery just 10 days ago. He is doing great but it's going to take several more weeks until he will be able to travel or even walk without the walker. But we are grateful he came through the surgery fine and he's healing like a champ.

So for us, it's food and football, just the two of us.
Blessings to you!

 2 years ago  

it's food and football
I would not be happy at your house then. First, I am not comfortable at most T'sgiving gatherings, because of the noise and crowding, shrill women talking over each other, screaming kids running around, and Football, (can't stand it, don't speak the language)
I'm puzzled by your statement about Bob it's going to take several more weeks until he will be able to travel or even walk without the walker.
When I had mine done in '19, I stayed in bed for a day or so, but I WALKED out of the clinic to the car, I WALKED (no walker) into the building, got on the elevator and walked to my apartment.
They gave me some diagrams of things to do while in bed, but they said, and I quote:
Don't go to any physical therapy/rehab, don't let anyone come to your house and put you through any ROM (range of motion) stuff, you just get up and walk.
So I did, and since I lived on the 10th floor, I climbed the stairs a lot.
I had no pain for months, other than the surgery/incision site.
Now today I have recurrent problems with tendonitis in that hip, so far I haven't gotten the injections for it, but I think I will soon.
I hope he gets over it soon and regains his full mobility

 2 years ago  

Funny you say that, he had the other hip replaced 10 years ago and he was down for a day or so but went back to work 10 days later. No walker, just his walking stick. This surgery was different, it was a total hip since he probably should have had it replaced 7-8 years ago, as was advised by his surgeon, but he kept putting it off. So ten years later and that much older has played it's part.

He'll be fine, that I am sure, but when you are 69 y/o it takes more time to recover.

He is ansy already, so I am certain he will work hard in therapy, but that can't start for another 3 weeks, he needs time to heal, then the work can begin.

My Bob is strong, but can I survive this? Just kidding, I love taking care of him, he has done it for me many times over our 52 year relationship.
Go figure.
Being positive is half the winning, the rest is love.

 2 years ago  

image.png

 2 years ago  

What Tatazkp said. How'bout a $2.12 Hive for a blockchain birthday?

Congratulations @farm-mom. I'm just as thankful for you, Blockchain granny, this is a 2-way street. 💖

The pleasure's mine. Happy Thanksgiving Jurg's.

 2 years ago  

Oh my goodness, you know I saved my reply so I could be most thoughtful for you.

I am so grateful for your support and patience with me and my stupid questions. You helped me to work the process, the tech stuff and most of all your encouragement. Your humor helped tremendously, thank you big guy.

We are all looking pretty good right now, our monopoly money is growing, holy shite, feeling good.

Sending hugs and blessings!

The sweed sends his best regards, knuckles bro!

He's doing well since his hip surgery, thanks to his personal nurse and excellent cook. 😁

Ya gotta love life when life loves you back.

Be well, be happy!

 2 years ago  

Do I owe you anything for that? Geez, that was such a thoughtful response I'm thinking we may have already negotiated a deal.

We virtually love you virtual Up State'rs more than THIS. Congratulations on all your achievements.

Happy Blockchainversary, my friend! You have come so far since those early days! We all have.
I hope your next 3 years here will be just as amazing has the first three have been! ❤️

 2 years ago  

You are so special Mel, you inspire me every time I hear from you, thanks girlfriend. It's hard to believe I have been on this blockchain for three years, holy shite. Time flys when you are having fun and meeting new people. So happy we met.

Be well, have peace and happiness.

Happy birthday 🎉🎉🎉!!! It's been a wonderful journey... Food Fight Friday... I am not aware of this... Gonna check this out😋😋😋

 2 years ago  

Thanks very much, @elizacheng, it has been quite a journey being here on hive.
Hard to believe it's been three years. But what a birthday gift, hive soaring!
Have a beautiful day!

Tell me you baked a cake!?!?!?!? Not a cyber one. There is always a reason to eat cake. Congratulations @farm-mom. I kind of started with the same idea - or nudge (more like persistent and ongoing nagging) from my brother @craigcrytoking. I remember those fff. Miss foodie chats with @puravidaville

 2 years ago  

Hi there @buckaroobaby, nope not cake, I had key lime pie with homemade whip cream, lots of it 😋
#fff was really a great start for me, lots of laughs with that crew.
Hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving.

Key lime pie and plenty of whip cream sounds wonderful! Happy Thanksgiving to you @farm-mom. It is my favourite American holiday but I am not American ;)

If it were not for all of the wonderful people you mention, I don't think this day would have come to pass!

Happy thanksgiving and Happy Hive Anniversary!!!

 2 years ago  

3 years here and I am still alive, whooish, amazing.
Thanks for the well wishes.

May you spend many years blogging, my friend!

Happy Hive birthday @farm-mom! So glad to have virtually met you and the hubs. Always a pleasure to stop by and see what's going on at the farm. I miss getting to join in on all the foodie challenges, but I'm just happy to find time to pop on when I can! It's crazy thinking after just these few short years I would be awfully sad to miss out on many of the friendships I've made virtually!

Hope you all are staying warm up there!

 2 years ago  

Phew, I thought I would never get back to you GF.
It's been a challenging few weeks in the Jurg household. My hubby got a whole new hip just 2 weeks ago and it's been tough on him. First the side effect of pain killers sent his digestive system into cloggs. Then he reacted to another med that gave him severe rash on his back, drove him nuts, it was so painful. Had to stop it all. We went back to the natural stuff and just perserverance . The man is amazing. But he is turning the corner and things are looking good. We have gotten him into a comfortable chair now so he can blog on hive with peeps he really enjoys. Thank goodness for that since winter has set in here at the farm and there is no way I will let him out the door with snow and ice on the ground.
Anywho, I will be checking you out as is my usual with such a good pal as you.
Hope you are well, happy and keeping out of trouble, although, I wouldn't mind a little of your crazy squash photos right now, you vixen you.😂

Whew, I know that is a challenge when caring for someone like that! Glad to hear he is on the mend now. Sorry he had such a bad reaction to the meds initially. That's no fun, especially when the body is already trying to recover!

I'm sure given that good nursing, he'll be up and at it soon! But I hope he'll actually take the downtime to take advantage of some rest. I'm sure neither of you get much otherwise with all the farm chores!

Though we did get a few late bloomers of that crazy squash, I think it's finally done for the season now that we've gotten some nights just at freezing. Now I'm starting to dream of springtime and probably need to go through the seeds we have before impulse buying from Baker Creek...😂

 2 years ago  

Hello my friend.
Our patient is now doing fabulous, seems he turned the corner the last day or two and we are thrilled with his progress, thanks for your concern. Yes there is always something to do here, but we take it slow and steady.

Have a great day