IF YOU HAVE WORKED ALL YOUR LIFE, and WHO hasn't? RETIREMENT TAKES SOME ADJUSTMENT.

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

No matter how carefully you have planned your retirement, adjusting to a new lifestyle is inevitable. For myself, retirement came way too quickly. I guess that's because I lead a very busy life. Multitasking was the name of the game for me. With four children, a husband and a job, my days just flew by. I enjoyed my job tremendously, I was well paid for my services, had built a pension and planned for years to sell our big house and move a few hours away to live the simple life on our farm.

IMG_0211.JPG

Financially speaking, we were in good shape. We had purchased the land that our house sits on now some forty plus years before retiring. We built the house originally with the idea of having a vacation home in the mountains in Upstate NY, a place where our children could really get to know nature, enjoy swimming, fishing, ice skating and anything else they could dream up.

IMG_0130 (1).JPG

They had lots of freedom, time explore the forest and all the critters. As well as enjoy visiting other farms that had horses, cows, pigs and goats.

IMG_8361.JPG

It was a child's paradise, as well as a quiet retreat for mom and dad. As time past, we became more and more familiar with the area and quickly realized we enjoyed the small town, as cozy feelings crept into our souls.

We had made the choice, some 20 years before retirement, that the farm was where we would land when that big day came.

P1190522.JPG

No more work, no more alarm clocks, no more bosses.

image.png

Our lifestyle change had actually occurred about 5 years before the actual move from our home state of New Jersey, USA. Our #2 son, @ryan313, family had outgrown their starter home and needed a bigger place. So as it happened, we just traded houses. We went north just a few miles an took over their tiny 2 bedroom house and they moved into our very large, 5 bedroom place, much closer to both my daughter-in-law's and my son's work. Perfect.

012.JPG

Once the move was made, shortly after my 62nd birthday, the excitement began. First stop was the furniture store. You see, all of the furniture, as well as the glassware and dishes, sheets and pillows were old, restored or bought second hand. So after years of saying, "I'll wash it, paint it or sew it, I said "let's buy new". Wow was that fun. What a lift!

But as the weeks turned into months, I felt this yearning to be with my people. I suddenly missed my kids, the grands and my friends as well as my brothers and sisters and nieces and nephews. I had to keep saying," stay busy, lots to do". We had veggies and herbs to grow. Wild blueberries, raspberries and black berries were there to be plucked. Gardening was our passion with the idea of self sufficiency. Our goal was to create a safe place, with all the necessities to sustain life.

P1220623.JPG

With the size and scope of our homestead, every minute could be filled. But something inside of me just didn't feel right.

I was slowly realizing, my life was different now. No, I couldn't just drop over to see this friend or that grand daughter. No, the pizza joint wasn't a mile away, it was 12. That winters were more severe. The light was almost gone for a couple winter months a year.
Good part, I was able to say, heck with it, I am going traveling. @thebigsweed was always game when I said "let's get off the homestead for a bit, let's go visiting."

Always welcome where ever we landed, the gap started to fill in.

I was adapting to my new lifestyle.

Now, instead of a 2 hour dinner together, we have long weekends together. Birthdays celebrated by just one, became a new tradition of celebrating 4 or 5 at a time. Everyone still gets their own cake from farm mom.

IMG_0835.JPG

Although it's not always smooth sailing. Some little kids just don't get why they don't have their own cake. Mya just doesn't understand her birthday will be included in the next line up, just a few months away. Needless to say, grammy makes sure there's an extra cake and candles at the ready at all gatherings from now on.😀🎂

IMG_0837.JPG

So we adapt. My daughter is now in charge of monthly visits, where we all meet in one of our states. New Jersey, New York or Pennsylvania, where she lives now. It's always a lovefest, with lots of food, games and happy faces.

The cold winter months are now broken in half by a visit to the sunshine state of Florida, during the worst months in NY., February and March . The break from winter darkness is always welcome.

IMG_0202.JPG

Our sun may be setting, but we are going out with a beautiful warm glow.

IMG_0696.JPG

A huge thank you to @lizelle for getting this new community off the ground. A big HELLO to #ocd for helping to give us a boost, thanks guys.

Best wishes to all in the #hive o sphere.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

DNAgif.gif

https://peakd.com/@dna.org

Hello; @farm-mom


We appreciate your work and your post was manually shared on Twitter by @papilloncharity from the DNA team!
Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

 3 years ago  

Hi @farm-mom , retirement sure takes adapting, your family and life style looks awesome, lovely pics. It took me awhile to settle, Hive has really come at the right time thanks to my dear friend @lizelle, I am really enjoying it. Have a great dsy.

 3 years ago  

Hi there @artywink, been away for a couple of days visiting family, but adapting to retiring does take some introspection. But, I think this is the way life is supposed to unfold. I am embracing it now and I am so much happier for it.
Those that truly love you, will always come through for you.
Hugging my children felt so good, plus, I got some really wonderful gifts.
I guess I did something right.
😊xo

 3 years ago  

That's awesome @farm-mom , yes I believe that we can see the good in our children the way they treat us, then we have definitely done something right. Glad you had a wonderful time with your off springs, so good to feel their hugs and love. Have a great day, God bless.

 3 years ago  

Awesome blog dear (grammy) @farm-mom, I always love reading about your life on the farm! When I see a Maple tree here, I always think of that beautiful maple syrup you make. I was like you, loved my job so it took some adapting, but I will tell my story as well.
Please remember to quote the image source like that small pic, don't even need it as your own images are awesome.
Thank you for sharing how your plans have panned out and enjoy spring on the farm!

 3 years ago  

Oh @lizelle, you are my hero. You have given me so much confidence, I truly enjoy #hive, but the friends I have made are priceless. You are a gem, so talented. A great writer, photographer, and a soulful innovator.
Thank you for being so true and honest.
I will try to remember to source my internet pix. Gosh, I hope no one mutes me or OMG downvotes me, it would make me cry.
You are a dolly, thanks for having my back.
Hugs to mom.

 3 years ago  

Oh @lizelle, you are my hero. You have given me so much confidence, I truly enjoy #hive, but the friends I have made are priceless. You are a gem, so talented. A great writer, photographer, and a soulful innovator.
Thank you for being so true and honest.
I will try to remember to source my internet pix. Gosh, I hope no one mutes me or OMG downvotes me, it would make me cry.
You are a dolly, thanks for having my back.
Hugs to mom.

Yes, retirement is a big change, and requires a lot of mental adjusting. Weird thing is, I think I'm busier now than I was before I retired...

 3 years ago  

Oh you are so right @amberyooper, I too am busier now than ever before. I guess it's thinking about the period at the end of the sentence. I will not go quietly into the night, I plan on wringing out every last drop of life.
And when I am gone. they will remember me, the good, bad and hopefully, my loving heart.
Happy gardening my friend, love grows.

It also took me a while to adjust, about five minutes.
It's hard to believe we have been retired for over five tears now, we have found our groove and I would expect that time will only pass at a faster rate in the future.
@amberyooper, I hear you when you say you are busier now than when you worked. I think the days pass at lightning speed because retirement has afforded us the time to do things we enjoy.


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 3 years ago  

I like that it took you so long to adjust LOL!
Thought I'd share this in case you and your dear @farm-mom missed it.
Well done to her for the well deserved rewards!
PS: URGENT ANNOUNCEMENT TO ALL #SILVERBLOGGERS:
A humble request, OCD has placed #silverbloggers on a one month incubation period; dependent upon the engagement, posting and growth in #silverbloggers.
May we ask of all members to support this community by posting and engaging with others in our community.
Please pass this notice on to others, as it is to everyone's benefit and invite friends who you believe would fit into Hive Silver Bloggers.
Thank you guys and dolls for being here!

 3 years ago  

Five tears now ??? I will buy you a box of tissues 🤣
Only joking as I know that you meant "years" 😇

Yes, you guys worked things out pretty well methinks.

Cheers and !BEER

 3 years ago  

Hey partner, life is sweet with you by my side. Give me a hallelujah! xo

 3 years ago  

This message is for @thebigsweed

 3 years ago (edited) 

I think that's a great lifestyle, particularly spending long weekends together with the family instead of rushing in and out just for dinner.

 3 years ago  

Oh you are so right, time is about quality not quantity. Just spent a weekend with my children and grand children, felt like I was young again. I am energized and feeling happy and content. I am blessed. Hope you are happy and well also @livinguktaiwan.xo

Very cool the way it worked out. Being such a homebody, all the traveling would get to me. But I can see it is perfect for you and your family. :))

 3 years ago  

Hello there @goldenoakfarm , how ya doing? Yup, we got lucky I guess, we kinda just drifted into this reality. But it seems to be working out so far. But as you know, life can change on a dime, so I try to remember every day is a gift.
Sending hugs my friend, be well and keep on keepin' on. Your homestead is awesome.

 3 years ago  

What a lovely and perfect post.
Yes we all have things that hinder us , but you guys have made perfect plans to overcome your obstacles.
Glad that you have learned to also have a cake for the other one ready, as we did the same with my three when they were small. If it was one child's birthday, all three got presents hahaha. I just had to work double shifts to cover the costs of their birthdays 😂

Thank you for sharing in @silverbloggers

 3 years ago  

hahaha oh yeah, ya gotta keep the peace. But it's so worth the extra shifts when you see those happy little faces. Life is great. Love it!

 3 years ago  

I think that you guys did so well, that it should be used as a template for other aspiring retirees to be schooled on while they can still think clearly hahaha.

Thank you for your continued and unselfish support to our charity work my friend.
You guys deserve all the blessings, as your hearts are in the right place.

Cheers and !LUV

Hi @farm-mom, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @papilloncharity. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

 3 years ago  

A senior moment, hahahahheheheeh

Loved your story and your wonderful attitude towards life. 🌸 You have adapted well to retirement Robin after working out a schedule to keep you in touch with members of your family.

 3 years ago  

Hi Jo, glad you enjoyed the story. It's true, you must adapt and be flexible enough to just go with the flow. Truth be told, the day or date doesn't matter, as long as you get to share fun times together.
I do admit though, I have times when I forget what day it actually is,😂 oh well, good thing I don't have to report to work.
Thanks for stopping in, have a great week @redheadpei

Most welcome Robin @farm-mom.

Have a wonderful day!

Wow... you have adjusted to your new life and you're loving it.
I joined #silverbloggers because (I thought it was for silver, hahaha ) but I'll be 45 this year, so I would fit in.
I will introduce myself, hopefully in the future... but what to write about me.
Your story is wonderful...
You retired early? They say that what it takes to retire is money, and it appears that you have made it.
I wouldn't change a thing!
Enjoy your happy life, @farm-mom. A lot of people desire what you have!