Three photo Thursday - Getting Ahead

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Now that is a bouquet garni. Fresh fennel, celery, bay, oreganum, marjoram and, of course, parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. All wrapped up in a leek. That is how the day began: picking those to make chicken stock ahead of making soup today. The weather is turning miserable. Again. So it's soup for Saturday's market. Which, hopefully won't be rained out.

Next up, koeksisters. This is the final stage in the production line. Koeksisters for Saturday's market. I did them yesterday because with making sourdough breads and rolls for the market, as well as the other bits, two things: my kitchen isn't big enough and because bread (and mother, in particular), are unpredictable, I get can into a time crunch. Rather not. For everyone's sake.

Last, and by no means, least:

Our strawberries are really bearing this year: even sharing with the beasties we are happily enjoying them. Some, I am storing in a jar for an indulgent and rare dessert this weekend.

Those that had to be doctored, deliciously went into last night's salad. Unless you didn't know, strawberries with sweet basil and balsamic vinegar are a great salad combination. The basil is coming along, so expect basil to feature soon. It's been a while. I can't wait!

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

    Silver Bloggers footer banner 300 x 150.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

You had an awesome bouquet there. I assume the soup was tasty :)

The koeksisters made me drool (pardon). They look absolutely sweet and delicious!

 3 years ago  

First thing I'd be choosing at the market, would be sourdough bread and then a packet of Koeksisters, both my absolute favourites! The latter batch looks too gorgeous Fiona.
Fresh sweet Basil is something I just love and always have in the garden but currently only have a scraggly holy basil plant, not as nice for cooking as the sweet basil.

Een dag, Lizelle!!

Our perennial basil is looking a tad sad at the moment, too... I am hoping that by next week I'm might have a couple of sprigs of sweet... :D

Lekker naweek!

 3 years ago  

Dankie Fiona🤗

I've also heard that grinding black pepper on strawberries brings out the flavour. Oooh, koeksisters - haven't had one of those in a while - makes my mouth water. Yours look so good too

It looks so beautiful

Thank you!