Pretty Chilly!

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Yesterday was the coldest start to the day and the market for the season. To mark the occasion, I adopted a welcome alternative face covering. Masking up is mandatory in South Africa. Not doing so in a public space is a criminal offense.

The road to the market was steamy, pretty and cold.

Now, I know that for my northern hemisphere friends, that's not really cold, but two things: we are not really geared for "proper" cold. Secondly, I have always had a dodgy thermostat and in winter (and sometimes in summer) am your archetypal ice maiden.

It is pretty, though...

While we were at the market, friends dropped off jars. The Husband loves to hate their arrival and the cleaning and sorting that follows. Now, mostly my job. He had adopted it, and after...well, let's say, I took back the duty.

Not all of these jars will see service.

The lids will be saved and sprayed black and the glass will be recycled.

Oh, and because I haven't taken pics of my wares for a while...

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

Silver_bloggers_end_fin_thumb.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

You look like you're prepared for just about anything in that get up.

Not sure what those things are in the last photo, but looks like something I'd like to eat, but probably shouldn't.😁

Hello!
They are a traditional South African pastry, and you would like them, I am sure. Koeksisters, they are!

I still have not had a koeksister, those look soooo good!
I love that clever scarf/mask you fashioned, really needed that for such a cold morning.
You need a name for this new invention!
Your market table looks very pretty Fiona.

Ai, Lizelle, we'll have to make a plan. A longtime friend commented on FB that he liked my Burka! lol

What are the brown sticks in with the braided donuts?
Also, homemade cottage cheese! 😍
!BEER

Those are bits of cinnamon and those twists doughnuts are koeksisters, a traditional South African pastry.


Hey @fionasfavourites, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day