When Life Gives You Lemons -- II

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Yesterday, I mentioned I wasn't quite done with the lemons because the lemonade was still infusing.

I call it lemonade. The Husband calls it concentrate which, technically, the syrup or, cordial, if you will, is. It is my mother's recipe. She made this throughout my childhood. I have no idea where she got the recipe.

Other than the boiling water that is poured over the sugar, citric acid and lemons, is a cold process. That mixture infuses over night before being strained and bottled. I use old booze bottles. Last year, during lockdown, and when alcohol sales were banned, we had an unwelcome nocturnal visitor on our stoep. He (because we think we know who) went into the chiller. The batch, then, was in green wine bottles. They were the only things gone out of the fridge. We figure he was very disappointed. Not wine, nor alcoholic....

I will make at least another batch and stash for summer. It sells well, by the glass at the market; it is refreshing on a hot day. Especially with a dash of gin and a mint leaf...

So, that's it with lemons. For a couple of days, anyway.

Marmalade is labelled and the two days' work ready for taking into stock.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

  • In search of English writing, research and editing services?
    Look no further: I will help you with writing emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
    more information here.

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
  1. re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  2. and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up


    Image: @traciyork

  • Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community by clicking here.

Silver_bloggers_end_fin_thumb.jpg

  • I also share my occasional instagram posts to te crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click here or on the icon, and give it a go.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I would love that recipe Fiona, pretty please?
Haha I can just imagine the disappointment of that nocturnal visitor;)

I will make a plan on the recipe, Lizelle!