Four photo Thursday (partly for feline Friday, partly not)

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

IMG_20220923_061002_190.jpg

Because I'm still nursing my foot (It's a lot better, thank you for asking), I decided to spend yesterday morning in the kitchen making chilli jam. I had discovered, to my horror, that I only had one in stock - after having stockpiled a while ago.

IMG_20220923_061002_251.jpg

That's a glimpse of the sin that is our office which is now part work space and part store. Then, my desk becomes part labeling station and online workstation for content development. With, of course, always space for a feline.

IMG_20220923_080715_420.jpg

Yes, it's egg spam, again. I was fortunate to get another duck egg delivery and I had a huge debate with myself about making a frittata or poaching them. Again.

IMG_20220923_080715_472.jpg

Again is was a duck and hen's egg each - because the duck egg is so rich. I did another "fan" salad, because ...umm... beetroot. This week, the salad included the newly sprung lemon balm and parsley. The eggs sat on green beans dressed with a vinaigrette and an avo and cottage cheese something on the side. I don't know if I can make that again because it was a bunch of bits that were pureed with the avo: vegan garlic mayo and tzatziki. That said, this "plate" combination, especially the bean bed for the eggs is one to be repeated.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

Oh the lamentations of the popular jams that never seem to stay in stock! Hehehe. And of course, there has to be space for a feline, there are there to help! Even if it is only in a supervisor position.

As always, your meals look amazing. Luckily my hubby treated me by making breakfast this morning, so I am not instantly starving when I read your post today, haha. I am busy growing some beetroot in my veggie patch. Looking forward to when I can harvest that!

Yes, and while chillies were in stock, I couldn't keep up. Someone orders between 6 and 9 at a time. The Husband's just planted an entire bed of chillies. I think I'll be making lots of chilli jam come January/February lol

Enjoy your bootroot. Brinjals went in today.

Your chilli bushes must be doing exceptionally well to have abundant to make jams that look super good.

Sometimes a mix and match plate like this, never to be repeated are the best!

!LUV have a wonderful weekend.

Thanks, Joan. At the moment, our chillies are just seedlings and I'm having to buy them in! Hopefully, assuming the mousebirds leave them alone, I'll have that many in January-ish...

Hardy plant so you sure to see them thrive during the warm months, bottle for winter when you need the extra bit of warmth. Mousebirds I will have to watch to see, never noticed them have a fetish for chilli.

They shred everything in the height of summer: spinach, chillies, you name it. Last summer we had to fight the mouse birds and guinea fowl for everything. Part of the problem is that as the village grows (vacant plots are filled and fruit orchards removed), sources of food and habitat are shrinking so our gardens are the obviousl next place for them. The price of progress. sigh...

Development is driving force for animals and birds to seek refuge in gardens, guinea fowl you could build a chicken run, feed them chicken food and later good to go for the plate, some preparation required !LOLZ

Mouse birds no stopping them unfortunately, nomads of the sky they help themselves. So sad to hear the orchards are being removed.

Hope the development over the road is not some huge big place as happened to my niece, after 15 years in a tiny village, they now packed up and moved to the back of the town to find peace and quiet after a hotel was built right across the road from them.

Progress, what progress?