If Trees Could Talk, Oh The Stories They'd Tell

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

First Image.png
If a tree could share the words it hears and the people it sees, I bet it would be better than Netflix ;p

Dad, my youngest and I were on a short road trip. We had not travelled out of state since 18th March, 2020 for obvious reasons. There were some official stuff to sort out and Dad is old-school like that. He rather do it at the counter, talk to real people face to face than do it online. So off we went on that 305km drive.

IMG_2372.jpg
Apparently to pay quit rent, there is no notification, and the onus is on us to pay every year. I guess, that's like our driving license, we just got to keep track. Dad used to be super on the ball, very meticulous with bills and filing reciepts and documents - he still is but not the way he used to be as he is getting a little forgetful. Only one of us were allowed to go in and Dad insisted, so I let him do his thing.

IMG_2375.jpg
Going to Johor Baru (or passing by on the way to Singapore), Mum's hometown, where most of my younger days were lived, means the columbarium is part of the itenarary - to say hello, hi to Mum. She had requested to be with her Mum in that last couple of years in the event anything happened and so we did as requested.

IMG_2376.jpg
This is her view, and I think she would have liked it - she loved her garden. However, we are now thinking of bringing her back so she is closer to us. Not that we think she lives in her urn, but ... We checked on the procedure and we have to make a police report for the release of the urn. Dad wants to on some days, and not on others. I too am undecided because she wanted to be in her hometown and where her mother is, so we have to give this more thought. Oh, in case you are wondering, if she could say something about it she'd say do what makes us happy because that's who she was.

IMG_2381.jpg
We went to check out my brother's first house which he bought in his early 20s thinking he was going to live there. Over time, he paid through his nose to the bank with interests especially with the 1998 crash, and then we've had some pretty nasty tenants too, thefts by addicts and the like.

Again, the last tenant has left the house in a state, in fact the worst ever. Bad water marks everywhere so we need to see where the leak is coming from, broken sinks, rubbish piled high, weed higher than our knees, unpaid utility bills. My brother's experience with this house makes me wonder if property is really an investment...

IMG_2384.jpg
We stayed in a 3-Star hotel - but I'd say motel, for a night. We were trying to budget and you get what you pay for. Tiny, and their so called family room was one queen sie bed. So dad, son and me had to squeeze in and of course, I was pinned to the wall. I don't move much in my sleep and my son is slim, so still manageable. Though he slept in the middle and moved around quite a bit.

To top that, the window latch was broken and I couldn't shut it tight so the light sleeper that I am, heard the bikes, people talking, cars drving past. And my Dad is claustrophic, and the room was so small, he asked for one light to be left on and the light was kinda bright.

So, let's just say I did not sleep well and was so happy to back in my bed last night.

THANKYOU.PNG

All images are mine

Sort:  

Wow! Such a great post! 😁

Hey, thank you ;D

You're very welcome. 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much for the support ;D

you are right.. if trees could talk it will be the most entertaining to talk with

It would be absolutely mind-blowing :D

it would be a lot better than youtube or any platform that we can watch hahah

 2 years ago  

So much memories on this post, more good than bad :) And your added another one, you and your son plus your Dad spending the night on a not-so-comfortable hotel :)

Hahaha yes another memory indeed
And one I hope I remember clearly the next time I book a room hehe

 2 years ago  

Hehe, that would be great and I wish you the best the next time you go for another adventure.

It’s so hard when you miss someone you loved so much. Your dad must be very broken hearted, it’s so hard😐
As, to your brother’s house he’s lucky that it’s not in South Africa, here the tenants simply “steal” the entire house, one brick at a time. If you don’t live near the property you rent out, you’re taking a huge chance. I’ve seen homes, in our area, reduced to rubble in a few days, and the cops do absolutely nothing about it. It’s truly crazy.

That's just crazy!!! To think that a whole house can be stolen - even if it is piece by piece!!

Yes, but it’s true. Keep well, you seem to be going through multiple issues of your own. Strength, that’s what you need, and I’m wishing it to you❤️🤗

Thank you dear @itsostylish 🥰

oh dear, sorry to hear about your tenant.
Well your dad will miss your mum, that is for sure. He will be torn between wanting her near him and respecting her wishes, I know I would be the same.
Your motel haha saoory that made me chuckle, I have stayed in similar places a few times🤣🤣
As for trees that talk, I have some trees that talk, and have posted elsewhere about them, perhaps I might post some of those stories here one day.
Glad you have had a good sleep now though🙏

Yes, those budget motels look so good in pics but ... hehe

yeah and bringing back some funny and some not so funny memories now 🤣🤣🤣

I always think this and really if any of my garden would talk to me (tho sometimes it does say such things as 'more water please' or 'i'd rather be in shade or bright sun' plants can be needy) But Trees....they've such stories to tell.

You look like you have some very wonderful exotic variety from which to hear amazing tales, for me it's tall old pines and copper beeches and scrub pine and old oaks and rhododendrons as tall as 2 story houses. They all have such knowledge if we but listen.

I bet your trees are just as gorgeous...

Ok, I had to check out your post and I am back to say, wow!!! That view out your window - just magical <33

I loved how you bring so many memories in your writing and you are right if trees could talk, how much they wouldn't tell.

It's always a relief to be back in one's own bed after a night on a budget hehe. And It's unfortunate that people are so destructive with what is not theirs regarding your brother's property.

Thank you so much @coquicoin <33

Hello

I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

This is a great post! As a special "Thank You" for your contribution to our community, it has been upvoted and reblogged from the community account.

silver_blogsilver_blueish.png

Thank you thank you <33

Sounds like an eventful trip! Glad you get to appreciate your own bed now that you're home again @kaerpediem 😻

BTW, the photos you shared of these big trees are beautiful! 😍

It was very and we are still by phone trying to sort things out from here
But yes, my bed is the best hehe

Thank you @consciouscat

@kaerpediem, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Happy Valentine's day and asked us to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day 2022

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 8

Thank you @hivebuzz
That was fun to do ;D
Happy Valentine's to you too

It sounds like your first trip out in a while was less than spectacular 😂 You should have at least requested a cot from the hotel!

Some parts could be better but we got to do stuff that was long overdue... so all good

The room was too small for a cot, unfortunately.
The first one they gave us didn't even have windows.
It truly was a budget hotel/motel :D

So actually more like a 1 star 🤣🤣🤣 No windows? Are you sure it wasn't a closet?

!PIZZA !ALIVE

@kaerpediem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Now that you mention it 😅

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(8/10) tipped @kaerpediem (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!