My Knee High Socks

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

socks1.jpg

Why do we hold onto things?

That's something I've asked myself all my life.
There are items in my possession that I sometimes marvel as to how and why I still have them. Well, the why's, I always know, but having moved around to live in many countries, I am shocked by my discoveries whenever I go back to places and items resurface.

When I saw the #BoW topic: Memories Of Things Dear To The Heart, my heart skipped a beat.
My thoughts went straight to memories I've been trying to suppress of my favourite socks, that are no longer with me.

My Favourite Socks

Acquired 14 years ago in the Netherlands
My comfort in difficult times of my first winter experience ever.
My best friends. 
Precious to me
Made me happy no matter the season.
My special love...

I used to be a terrible hoarder, and my closet collection was an embarrassment! Clearing house had always left everyone baffled, as to how many persons my wardrobe belonged to.
I knew I had a problem, which played on my mind, "lightly".

I distinctly remember once when I was living in Jamaica when my husband @scubahead and I were only friends, and he offered to help me move house.
On one of several carton boxes that's still at my mum's house, he wrote:
"Bags, bags, bags, and more bags".
Something that made my mum chuckle and remark that she'd love to meet the person who wrote that on my box.🤣

I don't know what I was thinking.

Probably I'm just a sentimental person.
Is holding on to things for sentimental reasons a bad thing?

Honestly, I took that concept too far.

After a while, that problem started to play on my mind "heavily"!
I had things that no longer sparked joy, and things that linked to precious memories of special people, places, times, and things. Still, I had to take drastic actions with my possessions, and evaluate the "sentiment of the sentimentals".

I try to live a no regrets life, so I'm careful with my decisions...but man, did I eff up with my socks?
Big time!


Relocating from the Philippines to the Uk, at a time when I'd been experiencing lock downs and confinement, my possessions became nothing but obstacles. I started to make mental notes of everything I'd use and my preferred go-to items.

Slowly, and gradually, I parted with personal belongings that were hindering me. Thoughtfully, I sorted and distributed items to match personalities of people I'd come to know to a certain extent.

Knowing that we'd be moving back to live onboard a tiny narrowboat, downsizing was the sensible decision.

Letting go

Parting with sentimental items took will-power and pragmatic thinking. Packing to just one suitcase within weight allowance, and a backpack, plus the upheaval of selling all furnishings and big items caused excessive stress.

So stressed, I ended up using my chaotic head, instead of following my heart.
I sacrificed my precious socks.💔

Like a lunatic, with tearful eyes, I took this photo above of my socks to have memories of them...not that I would forget, but I needed something.


Remorse

Arriving back home to the UK and experiencing a new lifestyle of living on a narrowboat was one of the happiest moments of my life. However, that joy was tainted by memories and longing I had for my favourite socks. At a time that was reported as one of the coldest UK Springs in recent years, I mourned the loss, and sadly missed the feel and comfort that my favourite socks normally provided me.

Strangely, @xwidep the best man at our wedding and best friend of my husband, recognised that it being such a cold spring, and us having quarantine obligation, that socks and hats would have been great welcome gifts, on his visit to our boat.

Receiving new pairs of thick socks was awesome, but nearly caused me a meltdown, as I fought back tears knowing the grave mistake I made.

Did Does my heart ache? YES!

I questioned life, love, decisions, and more.

"Is this how it feels to regret dumping a lover that you'd do anything to regain, knowing that they're never coming back?" I asked myself.

I kept looking through my belongings with the hope that I had taken my socks out the trash. Looking at my items, I kept thinking I could have packed the frigging socks...

I suffered the loss of my favourite socks painfully, alone.

How could I share the sadness I was feeling for socks? (well, not just any socks; my sentimental first knee high winter socks).

Laughable is what anyone would think because socks are replaceable right?
That's what I told myself when I heavy heartedly binned them.
#APartOfMeDiedInThePhilippines

I share my little secret now, and I think maybe this will give me closure to my socks that I will never step feet back in again.☹️

Thank you for reading my blog!




IMG_20210801_193213.JPG

Sort:  

Oh no Camille, I did not mean to make you question life’s questions!!

🤣 Hahaha! Your comment has me singing "Purple Rain" 😂🤣

Now, I feel sooo much better. I have an entire drawer of socks. Mine as well as my late parents'. Some of them must be nearly 30 years old.....

I hope you keep your parents one forever 😍🙏
It's a part of them that means so much, and would be irreplaceable.😍😘

Thanks for the tip 😊

I love this post!!! Very original and refreshing.
First, there is something about socks... I have a few pairs that I have had for years. Last year I finally threw out some of my oldest favorites when I admitted to myself that I would not wear them again, not with all those holes in the heels and toes. I have a couple other pairs that I seldom wear but were gifted to me. I feel somehow that I need to keep them. They're just socks, though, not pieces of the people that gave them to me...
Second, I, too, have felt deep remorse over getting rid of things. Like a heavy, painful sense of loss. I LOVED that old shirt, why did I put it in the free box on the corner??!! Sometimes I feel it months later, and check all the drawers in case I was mistaken.
You are not alone!

Thank you so much for your kind feedback 😊😁
I am glad you can relate to the loss I felt for my socks, at least I'm not alone 😅
It's strange the things we feel attracted to, and how some small things can hold so much meaning to people.
Thank you so much for stopping by, and I'm happy you appreciated my post:)
Wishing you a great day!💐

Hi @millycf1976,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you very much for your support :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Of all the things dear to us, socks must be the most unusual although I totally get it @millycf1976, especially when you experienced the cold spell back home. Hope those socks don't lose their partners or they'll be feeling very lonely😉
Loved your refreshing response to #bow!
Silver-Blond Lizzie

Haha! Yes, it's an odd attachment, but something I felt was my most valuable personal possession (well, obsession) that I threw away...
All good now!
Thanks for this awesome topic 😍

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Sometime we remember our old things which lost somehow, but when we are ready to trash them, it is not easy for us.

Indeed!
Some strange things in life 🙂

Yes, of course.

I envy your lifestyle. Living on a boat would be a dream. I totally get how you feel about the socks, not that I care about my socks. Sometimes the things that we cherish the most are just not what most people would care about. I have regrets of giving certain things away so I get it.

I really enjoyed this post.

Hello @carolynstahl
Thank you so much for dropping by:)
I'm happy you appreciated my post😊
It's strange how much this affected me.
I think what bothered me most was to know that I actually tossed them! I was so stressed at the time because everything was literally like a mountain in front of me with very little time, and space.
I do hope that you won't have to go through a similar experience ever again. 🙂
Wishing you a lovely day💐