Patinas

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

at maureen's (2).jpeg

text16.png

I'm new around here. I've chosen the name Silver Dish as my nickname, hoping some among you understand that the word "dish" is sometimes used to denote a really good looking woman. Now, I'm of a certain age that all agencies of the US government consider to be elderly - I even get senior discounts in pot shops! Few of us are considered really good looking. Jane Seymour maybe, but even Kathleen Turner, once a stunningly voluptuous blonde, is now something less than good looking.

I throw up in my mouth a little every time my issue of AARP magazine arrives in the mail, and I deposit it directly into my paper recycling bin without cracking the cover. But the idea for this community really floats my boat. Thank you @lizelle for starting it up.

I've been cogitating the prompt embracing silver for a few days. I tried to write short fiction for it - blech. I tried to write my own experience with silver hair for it - not enough meat. Nothing worked well enough to hit publish.

Then I had a dream about embracing silver, just last night. In it, someone was fleeing a war torn country, impossibly hiding enormous and ornate family heirloom silver candlesticks, one in each leg of her pants. When she came ashore in America (no longer the home of either the free or the brave) she pulled the candlesticks out and hugged them as if they were a long lost love.

I'm trying to understand the meaning of this dream. I actually know someone who claims that one of their ancestors did just this, and I have seen the candlesticks at a number of Passover seders. They are HUGE. It simply does not make sense to me that anyone would choose such things to save from among their possessions, when much smaller items would be of greater monetary value, and be much easier to secrete. So this person must have had an immense emotional attachment to the candlesticks. I know the person who brought them to the seders has a powerful attachment to them now as well. What's in a candlestick? They'd lit their seder tables for generations, educating the children and promulgating the story of the Jews' liberation from slavery to Pharaoh.

I'm not Jewish, but I attended seders year after year for decades, starting before the first silver hair appeared in my mane at the age of 28. I was happy to find it. By then, my father had the most beautiful head of silver hair with streaks of black, and mine was likely to be that beautiful too.

It is. My hair is gorgeous, people tell me this often, it's my best physical feature, and it makes of me quite a dish! From the behind anyway. I've let it grow long, because even at age 28, I knew I wanted my silvery hair to be long and flowing.

Did I dream of these candlesticks because I associate dishes with them? Was my dream a pun?!!!

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my first post in The Silver Bloggers Community, @hive-106316. The prompt for The Blog of the Week is embracing silver. I hope I have provided both insight and amusement with my musings today.

Thank you for reading my post! It was fun to write.

text16.png

image is a detail of a photograph by Paul Schwartz

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hey @lizelle, you've got my nickname wrong! Dish means beautiful, plate means plate!

So it should read Silver Dish.

LOL - a rose by any other name is still a rose, and a plate by any other name might in fact be a real dish.
What great timing - just this morning, I made up my mind that I should die my hair again. When I see myself in snapshots, I gasp in shock at how much gray there really is. I think of it as a badge of honor, but my husband has stated his preference. DYE the gray hair in order to look younger (or look my age, rather than look older than he is).

Your dream is intriguing. I dreamed last night about a psychotic, emotionally draining woman (not the oft-mentioned girl from the school bus, but someone more along the lines of a young "Bechs," misspelled on purpose). She kept trying to foist upon me an antique book, a treasure of her childhood, then accused me of loosening the cover, and threatened to sue me for damages. Ok.... it was a very long and detailed and complicated dream, and I still see the book in my mind, so clearly, but the words were in Old English, because of course my subonconscious never delivers words to me direct from the Muse. When I try to read in dreams, I can never follow the words. Because I am ASLEEP and my brain will not supply words.

The things we treasure, the things we might take with us, if we were faced with eviction and exile: what small treasures would we pack for the long journey?

Me: a book of matches, a sharp knife, some rope...candles, ok, but candlesticks?

I love your silver hair too, and I wish mine would go all the way, all silver, instead of this peppery mix.

 3 years ago  

Right? And these things are HUGE.

You dream in Old English?!

LOL - that was why I was unable to read the book. It was in that old type font, and the words read like Old English. The book in my dream had a red cover and looked a lot like this:

image.png

But the words weren't even as comprehensible as this:

Bifil that in that seson on a day,
In southwerk at the tabard as I lay.
Redy to wenden on my pilgrymage.
(from the Canterbury Tales)

The bossy, manipulative young brunette pushing this book on me, trying to set me up for a lawsuit for causing some damage to it. It is said that every person in our dreams represents some aspect of ourselves. Mothers represent internal authority, fathers, external authority. What aspect of myself did this psycho-b^tch represent? I don't even wanna know!

What did the woman with the candelsticks in YOUR dream represent.... what aspect of yourself would irrationally cling to a material possession for its sentimental or religious value....

 3 years ago  

hm.

Was your bossy brunette wearing red lipstick? AOC comes to mind for me.

My dreams, unlike yours apparently, dissipate a few moments after I awake. I'd been working on a post for @sliverbloggers, or cogitating on one I should say, so I made a point of remembering some of this dream. Let me try to go back to it.

I remember she was young, could get down on her knees, and cared very much about those candlesticks, all unlike me. Am I hanging onto something that I could let go of? My vanity? I've always felt attractive physically, still do, for an old broad. But my sense of self has always been shaky, less so now. Perhaps arriving in a new land holding on for dear life to useless objects represents my passage into the golden years holding onto something useless, like my shaky sense of self.

LOL, Oh my word, how did I do that? Your name is now correct, soooo sorry!

This was a good read. Reminds me of a newspaper column, the kind you would find on the Lifestyles page or the like. It's a well-balanced weave of your dream, the anecdote of the Jewish person you know, and an introduction to the community. Tick, tick, tick ... you should try blogging professionally! Lol.

 3 years ago  

Oh! Nice comment!!! Thanks!

Must say I was puzzled by the name, somehow my brain must have registered plate, don't ask me how LOL! My silver hair either got totally confused or I was half asleep...like now...way past my bedtime, but you've cleared up my confusion. What a fascinating dream and fab response to #bow!
Thank you so much Silver Dish for joining us 'young at heart' Silvers;)

 3 years ago  

I think it's an easy mistake to make, so no problems here! Thanks for changing it though. And I am happy to be here!

I'm still chuckling, can only happen to an old confused brain;) So glad to have you here!

As always, an enjoyable and insightful read, my friend @owasco.
I added you again and if you like, add me on this account because the previous one was stolen from me.
Always a pleasure to read you.

 3 years ago  

Oh so sorry to hear that! What happened? Thanks for seeking me out, and I will do it.

Interesting reflections and connections with dreams and reality about Silver. At the very beginning, I also did not immediately understand the topic that was given in the Silver Bloggers community, but thanks to @lizelle and her posts, I understood everything and also made my post on the topic of Silver.
Thank you!

My dad turns 72 this month and still has a lot of his brown hair, so I guess my silver will also be slow to come in, as I take after him a lot physically. I'm ago a redhead, so the silver doesn't stand out much. I'm curious to see how it will look as the silver mixes in more in the future, though.

An interesting dream, indeed. I wonder if it is an omen and if so, what for. 🤔