Taking a four-day excursion.

in Silver Bloggerslast year (edited)

After the death of our little dog and all of the other stresses in the charity work, we decided to take a four-day break.
IMG_2578.JPG

Our destination was a place far away in the bush and in here I will show you our first day of travel. No speeding with the car, as just a small leisurely drive on the long road; stopping every now and then to take landscape photos as we went along.
So come and drive with us. And after this first day, I will show each of the other three days to you each day.

A lovely huge dam backed up by the granite of the mountains.
IMG_2588.JPG

IMG_2595.JPG

Some farming lands on a different mountain.
IMG_2597.JPG

Now how is this for a lovely farm house?
IMG_2603.JPG

Eventually, we turned on to the famous Route 62. Popular for all of the small farming towns along the way and we were on our way to one of these small towns. Actually, not to the town itself, but instead to a nature reserve right in the mountains.
IMG_2834.JPG

Each town is dominated by one of these old big churches, dating back many years. In the early days, they built the churches first and then the towns around the churches.
IMG_2859.JPG

We have arrived and have a look at how lovely our residence for the next four days blends into nature. I will show you the inside and the deck in another post.
IMG_2912.JPG

That little dam also serves as a swimming pool and we will soon test the waters.
IMG_3006.JPG

Finally, a new first for me, as I have many photos of the Southern Double-collared Sunbird, but this below is a Greater Double-collared Sunbird (Cinnyris afer). This shot taken from the front of our wooden deck.
IMG_3316.JPG

So this is what it is to be for the next while, sleeping in nature. Bird song our new alarm in the mornings. The sun greeting us in the mountains. And the stars peeping at us at night. I am doing this post now here on our deck, on my laptop, which has not been in use for a few years. Thank goodness that it still works after I updated it a bit and I hope that you have enjoyed the ride with us.
We need the peace and tranquillity for a while, to steady our nerves and to charge our batteries. Of course, I will also scout around with my camera on a few adventures.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

or by god the dam that serves as a pool is everything! what a beauty

 last year  

Oh yes, that dam was the star of the show.

That's how it will be for a while, sleeping in nature. Our new alarm in the morning is the sound of birdsong. The sun greeting us in the mountains. And the stars that watch over us at night.

I think you have the talent to write some poetry. You should try it.

 last year  

Maybe I am a poet and I don't know it :)

My condolences for your doggy. 😔😔😔🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗😔😔😔

 last year  

A very strenuous time, my friend. He has been with us for 17 years.

So sorry to hear about your dog.
But still wish you have a great trip and rest well my friend.

 last year  

Thank you kindly my dear friend, and sadly our trip has been cut short. So tomorrow we will be home again. But at least, we had two good days in the bush. And I am right now listening to the frogs singing at the dam.

!PIZZA

Oh bummer, I hope everything is alright. Frogs singing sounds good! 😄

 last year  

Yes thanks, everything is alright, as we got another car and they want to do some repairs on it tomorrow.
1000 frogs are a chorus and we already miss their songs 😜

!PIZZA

Now that looks exactly what is ordered by the Doctor, out on the mountainside to collect your spiritual being.

!LUV
!WINEX


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @papilloncharity.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.203


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

 last year  

Best place to be, Lady Joan, especially in these times, but the sad thing is that tomorrow we go home again, as we are needed that side.

!LUV
!WINEX


Congratulations, @papilloncharity You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @joanstewart.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.203


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Never enough time away to relax sadly, the days go too quickly, the expense is pretty high of late. Nonetheless short break helps being away from normal life.

!BEER

 last year  

So true and now we lost ZAR 3000 due to cancelling 2 days. No refunds, but we have accepted it, as life works like that. The short time away did us a world of good.

!BEER

Once out there wild horses would not pull me back, pity you had to cut a little short, I'm sure necessary.

!LOLZ

Never tell a pun to a kleptomaniac
They're always taking things literally.

Credit: lofone
@papilloncharity, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/4)

 last year  

Oh yes, it was urgent and a real painful situation, but we have to accept the hand that life deals us and life goes on. We will go back there in the cooler months, as there are still many other towns that we want to see.

!LOLZ

Oh yes, this place looks awesome, Zac, such a beautiful area. The lovely nature there will help you to feel better, I believe.
Hopefully the weather will stay as nice as in your nice images 🌞


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

 last year  

Sadly my friend, our visit is cut short, as the motor dealer called, to say that they have agreed to replace the parts on our car for free and I have to bring the car in early on Wednesday morning.
So we have cancelled the extra two days here and we will leave here tomorrow morning.

A wonderful place to be and we will for sure come back here one day.

Cheers and thanks.

These news are great but having to end a needed and well deserved break makes it not so good anymore in my eyes.
Nevertheless, I wouldn't have expected the dealer to agree and so I'm happy for you and I know you will come back to this place again.


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

 last year  

At least we got to do 4 towns and 4 mountain passes Hannes 😊 !LOLZ
We have to play by the rules and I have two other issues with the car that they must also fix.
So tomorrow at 10am the car will go in and I will have a lot to say about their dealings.
We will of course go back there some day in the future, as it is a great place that I will show in posts over the next few days.

Cheers and thanks.

My girlfriend told me to stop singing Wonderwall to her
I said mayybeee...

Credit: reddit
@johannpiber, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(2/8)

Good morning Zac,

4 towns, 4 mountain passes and a beautiful place - yep, that's also fine 😊 !LOLZ

As long as their are playing fair in future I would also go there back again.


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

 last year  

Good afternoon Hannes,
A beautiful area in the winelands and too much to see in such a short time 😰 !LOLZ

Everyone played fair and the car is good again. Sadly we also planned to see Mcgregor, Barrydale and Greyton towns, but they will have to wait for our next visit 😉

Cheers and thanks.

Good evening Zac,

oh yes, I have seen your today's post and I like it.

Great, Zac, I am happy to hear that everything's fine again.

Your next visit will be longer and not disrupted by anyone, I hope 😀


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV and !LOLZ
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

If you arrest a mime...
Do you have to tell them they have the right to remain silent?

Credit: marshmellowman
@papilloncharity, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @johannpiber

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/8)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@lolzbot(4/5) tipped @papilloncharity (x1)
papilloncharity tipped redheadpei (x2)
papilloncharity tipped joelai (x2)
papilloncharity tipped littlebee4 (x4)
johannpiber tipped papilloncharity (x8)
papilloncharity tipped owasco (x1)
littlebee4 tipped papilloncharity (x4)

Join us in Discord!

So sorry to hear of the passing of your dog, Sir Stephen. ♥️ My cat is having health problems and I am not looking forward to his passing. Good to get away.

 last year  

Thank you Lady Jo. Little Troy has been with us for 17 years and he was a family member and my personal shadow. So now, we feel a bit bereft, but thankfully time is a healer.
I hope that you will also be able to handle your pet's departure when the time arrives.

!PIZZA

I know how you feel having lost many beloved pets over the years. They are part of the family and are sadly missed. 💕

 last year  

Thank you milady and yes, the house is empty now, but such is life 🙏

!PIZZA

 last year  

Oh my gosh that place is stupendously beautiful! I am terribly sorry about your little dog, losing a dog is so hard. So I wish you joy, fabulous weather, and deep and restful sleeps.

 last year  

Thank you kindly my friend, and it is a wonderful place to be. Sitting now under the moonlight and listening to the frogs serenading at the dam. Sadly, we have to go back home tomorrow as we are needed there. So we had to cut our time here short.

!PIZZA

 last year  

Yay… wonderful to see it now Zac 😊😎🥰 looking forward to every day!
Such a beautiful surroundings 🍀 enjoyyyyyy

 last year  

Oh yes, we planned to enjoy, but was cut short and back home now again.
Nevertheless, I have taken many photos and even some surprises !LOL

Do you know where you can get chicken broth in bulk?
The stock market.

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/8)

 last year  

Great to hear, even though it didn’t last long, you still had time to take many photos.
Have a great evening! 👋🏻😊

 last year  

That's mainly why I went out there, to get some photos of a different area.

Hope that your evening is also good 😊

 last year  

And to relax 😉😎

Thanks, so far it has been an excellent day 😊 hope yours was good too.
Have a wonderful evening. 👋🏻

 last year  

Relaxing is a part of the fun 👍

Heatwave over here will end in the next 2 days, so there is always hope.

Blessings!

 last year  

Yep, it sure is…

O my, take care in the heatwave. Here it is getting cold 🥶 hehehe 🤭
Blessings 😊

Those churches look all the same and I recognise that one as the NGK Robertson. Safe travels and relax.

 last year  

I told you before that you get around and you are right, as we were at AfriCamp in Robertson.
Back home now and thank you for the wishes.

!BEER