Would You Stay in Our Guest Bus in The Garden?

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Exciting news in Victoria this week as from Thursday, we can have ten people in our homes. It won't be long before Melbourne's out and I can finally see my son, and it won't be long before people can stay the night. All politics aside, I'm looking forward to a 'living with COVID' world, as it's sure more liveable than what we've had of late.

And so, yet again I spent days cleaning the spiders from the bus and finding ways to make it more liveable. No one likes a spider in their bed, but to be honest, there wasn't many - off they scuttled away from the broom. The bedding was shook free of dust and washed, and the boxes of Defender parts, car seats, camp equipment and bags were put in much better places so we could again create a welcome room for guests.

DSC07347.JPG

One thing that was a bit of a change was the wood that I put behind the bed as a bed head. Previously, it was a curtain - there's a window behind that - but this old door means that one can comfortably sit up and bed and drink tea or read, with the added bonus of it being a little darker at night. The cupboard you see in the left corner was from our van, which I'm pulling apart to re-do again for my personal surfing van next summer. It fits perfectly in the space.

DSC07346.JPG

The woodburner was cleaned out - it's already getting too warm to light a fire. The 'OM' letters are from the 'Comair' badge for the bus - it's a Bedford Comair, 1967 I think. Used to do old schools runs through Geelong and all the way to Apollo Bay. It doesn't go anymore and nor do we expect it to - we couldn't even get it out from where it's enclosed by trees in the garden.

DSC07349.JPG

DSC07358.JPG

Where the drivers seat would be is a bathroom of sorts - a table with a washbowl and jug. On the right, what you can't see is a pee bucket, which gets tipped on the garden by the guests. Sounds gross, but it's better than going out in the cold in the middle of the night.

DSC07359.JPG

I also want to get rid of the couch - whilst it looks okay in the photo, the leg is broken and the vinyl ripped. I have a couple of bean bags I think would be better there.

I particularly love the old floorboards we used to make a bench along the wall. I do need to find a chair or two for that space as well.

DSC07361.JPG

If guests were to stay longer (sometimes we have overseas guests, though it'll be a while before we are allowed to have any) I usually put a camp stove, a kettle and some kitchen things in there, as well as a 12v fridge. There's still work to be done to make it just right. It's not a showpiece - it's quite makeshift and most things in it are recycled, but it doesn't need to be - it's a little home for our guests to feel comfortable.

Would you stay in our bus?

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

YES, I would stay in that guest bus... were I able to reach you despite the stinkin mandates. You have hit upon the exact idea Michel and I were planning for our tourist project here in Costa Rica before we found out we may have to leave. We were going to make little cabinas out of bus bodies and turn them into a themed Airbnb. I think your bus looks wonderful!

I was just checking replies to see if Rhonda had seen this post - YES - of course she has. :)
The Romani (aka "gypsy") for centuries lived in homes on wheels.
In part because of persecution as they fled from place to place, exiled wherever they'd go.
Mandates, government overreach, quarantine, curfew, masking, mandatory testing and injecting....
Thank you @riverflows for this marvelous idea, this vision, this Guest Bus - what a fun concept!

Thanks. I have always loved living in vehicles. That Air BNB sounds fun. A lot of work but rewarding. I hope your creative plans eventuate , despite all the crap going on.xx

I would definitely stay in there. What kind of spiders you had in there? I hope it was only the common Huntsman.

Two hunstman and some small black ones I didn't like the look of. I don't mind the huntsman..they are kinda cool.

 3 years ago  

I have found that if the price is right, you will always be in business! Nice job making it homey!

Thanks! Unfortunately we live neither right on the coast or right in the forest, two prerequisites for most people travelling through here. Plus, I don't know whether I'd want guests using my toilet... I need to convince hubs to make a composting toilet and bathroom!

 3 years ago  

A composting system exactly what you need. He's your place in route to the forest or the beach? You can advertise it as a waypoint.

you mean bus iness? ;^)

Haha Vin. And yes that's true @dswigle dwigle... we are definitely a waypoint, on the edge of both really..

 3 years ago  

It may make a good stopover point then when people are getting from here to there and their reservations aren't quite ready for them? Who knows. It looks pleasant and I would stay there!

 3 years ago  

Maybe. :)

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks so much @bhattg!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yes, I would. It is a lovely bus and I have always wanted to stay and rest near a garden ✨

The garden really surrounds the bus now, so it's super lovely and peaceful in there!

looks awesome! would love to see it from the outside

I'll grab a photo for you soon!

This is a dream home for me. It's just lovely. We lived in a studio a few years ago that was about this size but not good. I used to describe our place as being the size of a bus. Yours is luxurious compared to that.😊

Thanks! I always found it plenty big enough yo live in. It used to have a kitchen too but we took it out to put new floor in and there wasn't a point in.putting it back as it was just a guest room..

Wow, I didn't know you also had a bus 🙂 I would definitely stay there, when can I come? Haha

You really have a way of making the most of things, it's very inspiring and actually also something I recognize in myself.

xx

Anytime!!! Yes we do. We used to live in trucks in UK and when we moved to Australia we lived in this whilst we saved up for the house..x

Yes i would ,.. nice place for sure .

My 1979 Volvo is still fully functional , i added a wood stove to :-)
20210927_194853.jpg

Oh nice burner. It's awesome how it makes it almost warmer than an ordinary house.. until it goes out in middle of the night.

I am still looking for a bit smaller burner , this on is build to heat a big living-room inside a house . But this one was free to use , so for now i will deal with it . To much wood at ones gives massive heat , had to learn to use it without having to open all doors and windows .
Exhaust goes true a long bench filled with rocks . This to keep all the heat as mush as possible inside . It's hard to get going but when the fire dies the stove and bench keep there heat for long after .
The bus has a bedroom that is closed with a curtain , there is a electric heater there keeping it warm true the night . Right now it's 5c outside and just below zero at night . Getting ready for the cold , working on further isolation of my bus .

And lol , how cool to see you got a bus-house in your garden :-)

I love these quirky little places for a stay over, of course human waste and shower would be quite a bit consideration for me, doesn't need to be luxurious,but functional and convenient.

If there's enough room, I'd prefer the sofa instead of bean bag, just makes it that little more comfy to sit for a few hours to read or play games in the evening. And do you have the mattress on a frame? It looks a little high. If you place the mattress on the floor like a tatami, you'd get a bit more height when sitting up in bed.

Other than that, it looks really nice. Let me know when you're taking bookings!!

Yes of course I'd love to stay over and spend the night in that bus of yours!

Amazing to hear that it's even older than my twin sister and brother in law's camper van. The latter is 50 years old and actually made it all the way to The Netherlands and back ( 4000 plus kilometers / 2500 miles ) without much of a problem.

Happy to hear that restrictions are finally lifted and that you will be able to spend more time with your family again :<)

Big hug!

😂 😂 I would no matter what’s in there I don’t care 😂 it look comfortable to me so why shouldn’t I get alone with the idea 😂

I'd love every minute in there. It looks so beautiful. Nice one. Please let me be your guest😁


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Gosh but you certainly have extremely strict restrictions! Thank goodness it's easing off a bit! I'd definitely love to stay in your bus, the decor is really nice and so creative turning a bus into a living space, just awesome!
Silver-Blond Lizzie

Yes we do!!! But we haven't had many deaths, so I guessthat's what everyone focuses upon. Can't wait to see my boy!

Love it!! Because you probably have a gorgeous herb garden at the back door I will DEFINITELY choose your beautiful B&B Bus over most anything else! Well done @riverflows. When I was in the East I helped a family convert a couple busses (double decker and airport concertina bus included). It was a challenge but they are stunning. Best idea IMO

No one likes a spider in their bed, but to be honest, there wasn't many

Jesus, knowing it's Australia, I cannot imagine how many means a few.

Now... I'd stay for soo long in the bus that you'd have to sweep me away together with the spiders.

Yeah I would so stay there, I just put up some photos of my truck, the ones I will use to advertise it's sale. Feeling such mixed emotions xxxx

I bet. You'll always feel that over it - it becomes part of who you are!