Tales and Photos of the North Idaho State Fair 2022- Part Two

In my previous post I introduced the reader to the North Idaho State Fair and shared pictures of some of the things I viewed during my two visits there. This is a continuation of my fair adventures.


20220825_151149 trimmed_1.jpg

The entries in the baked goods department were mouth-watering! This tray of fair-themed cookies won a special prize. I have entered cookies in the fair in the past, but never a pie. I can't bear to waste a perfectly good pie that way. I'd rather just serve it to my family.


20220825_151411_1.jpg

I am always amazed and impressed by the creative craft entries. The birdhouses above and below are very different from each other, yet both are wonderful projects.


20220825_151416_1.jpg


20220825_151818_1.jpg

Years ago, my son used to enter Lego creations in the fair. It was a very popular department for a long time, but now there aren't as many Lego entries as before. This one was very impressive.


20220825_162956_1.jpg

I've been growing flowers and/or vegetables for at least 50 years, so I can really appreciate the displays of those items.


20220825_163540_1.jpg

I love the colors in this arrangement.


20220825_113045_1.jpg

Let's go back to the animal barns! The draft horses are so huge! They were all Belgians or Percherons or a cross between the two.


20220825_113505_1.jpg

The second day I was at the fair, one of the draft horse owners was there with her little girl, about two years old. That tiny little girl was sitting happily on the back of one of those gigantic horses, jabbering and gesturing cheerfully. She was obviously accustomed to that perch, and the horse had no issues with her sitting there. Her hair was askew, her face was dirty, and she was enjoying life.

20220825_113846_1.jpg

Belgian mules.


20220825_114908_1.jpg

My dad always raised sheep and goats, so goat antics bring back old memories. They can be very entertaining. (They can also be very naughty.)


20220825_115328_1.jpg

"Somebody please scratch my nose!"


20220825_115535_1.jpg

A placard above the pen informed me this goat's name is Goldilocks, and its breed is Kinder. I had never heard of that particular breed before.


20220825_120657_1.jpg

There's something about a big, fat, pink pig! These two look striped but that's because of shadows from their pen. It was very warm in the barns, but huge fans were running, and the owners of the animals were diligent about keeping fresh water in the pens.


20220820_151009 trimmed_1.jpg

That's a lot of bovine-ness right there.


20220825_124126 trimmed_1.jpg

Speaking of bovines, I happened to be at the fair at the right time to watch @generikat's daughter show her 4H steer. Such an impressive animal! And a very hard-working and capable young lady.You should hop over to @generikat's page and read her own tales from the fair. As a 4H parent, her experience there was quite different from mine.


20220825_124342 trimmed_1.jpg

I happened to be standing in a spot that afforded an excellent rear view of the steers. Oh well! I believe my young friend and her steer are at the front of this lineup.


20220825_162423_1.jpg


20220825_162419_1.jpg

These two shiny cars were showing off the work of a company that wraps cars. But please take a good look at the sky! Above the purple car, looking to the northwest, is a combination of blue sky and clouds. Above the red car, looking to the northeast, the sky looks rather ominous.

It was late in the afternoon by then, and we could hear rumbles of distant thunder as we walked back to our car. As we drove north, we drove into light rain, and then very heavy rain, and hail. We could see lightning, too, but the rain was pounding so loudly on the roof of the car, we couldn't hear most of the thunder. I pulled over twice to wait until the weather settled down a little, but it was coming in waves and would soon start up again. It went on for quite some time after I finally got home. I prefer to watch a thunderstorm from the comfort of my covered deck, rather than while peering through a rain-streaked windshield while my car swims in the sudden collection of water on the pavement.

And that ends my fair tales for the year. I hope you've enjoyed the armchair tour of the North Idaho State Fair.

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I can't bear to waste a perfectly good pie that way.

I agree!!!!

There were several pies on display with one or two pieces cut out of them from the judging, and the rest was just going to waste. Sad.

Awww! I love that picture of Squeak and her Pumpkin😍

And I love this whole fair themed post! It's taken me long enough to get over here to check it out, but to be fair (heh), I've hardly been on my computer at all this past post fair week of getting ready for schoolness.

That said, it looks like you had a glorious time perusing all the delights of the occasion, I adored looking at it all from your perspective!!

!PIZZA

I figured you'd come up for air eventually! LOL

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@generikat(2/15) tipped @scribblingramma (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I remember as a child going to several local fairs here in the UK which are like the State Fairs that you have over there but on a smaller scale. I used to love seeing the farm animals.
Great post for bringing back memories and I am glad that you enjoyed yourself.

Glad it brought back good memories for you!

It most certainly did thank you.

Hello @scribblingramma

This is @tengolotodo and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted, reblogged and curated.

silver_blogsilver_blueish.png

Thank you very much!

That you for giving us an armchair tour of the North Idaho State Fair.
I will be honest and when I think of Idaho I think of potatoes.

Those pies! Shocking waste really:(
What gorgeous horses and the animals were stunning beasts:)

Ha ha, yes, people do think of potatoes when they think of Idaho. That's more in the southern part of our state, not up north.

I am still waiting for the day I will really watch anything related to animal sport or racing

The 4-H showings of livestock isn't really a sport. The young people buy the animals when they are very young, feed and care for them for many months, and train them to walk around in an arena and hold still so the judge can study them. They don't race, either. But if you go to the rodeo at the fair, that is more of a sport, with bull riding and calf roping and things like that.

And I'm here for the goats! As most know I L.O.V.E my goats. Can't imagine my life without them. Although, yes, they are more than naughty. Perusing your Fair @scribblingramma, takes my mind back to when I lived in the US. I loved my home in MA and Fall was the best time of year

I would like to visit the northeastern states in the fall some day. I have seen such beautiful photos of the area.

When I lived in Ohio, I went to the state fair every year and always had I great time. I will never forget the year I saw the Budweiser Clydesdales brought into a horse show ring at full gallop. Impressive horses and driving. Thanks for sharing.

Oh, that must have been quite sight! We lived in Minnesota for several years, so I attended the Minnesota State Fair a few times, It was much bigger than the one here.