Grandparent stories contest entry: @sokoloffa

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

The warmest place on earth is my grandmother's embrace! And still, over the years, I remember my grandmother's rough hands and the smell of fragrant homemade bread. I remember my grandfather's good voice. It so happened that for my grandfather I was not a biologically native granddaughter. But all the love he had, he gave me. He replaced my father and brother. One moment often comes to mind: I was probably only a couple of years old. My grandfather sledded me. I was terribly frozen then. There were a few tens of meters to the house, but my grandfather still, kneeling, rubbed my little pens in his palms. When I was often ill, my grandfather did not sleep at night. He gave my grandmother a rest, and he sat over my bed until the morning, then he would make medicinal tea, then he would give medicine.


20140706_131902.jpg


My grandfather is a model of a real man. Until his death,he loved and protected us from all evil: the whole family. He taught how to do the right thing in a given case. He really loved my grandmother. And this was the best example in my life. He was selfless, patient, very hardworking. I said as a child that when I grow up, my husband will be just like that. And so it is. My grandfather taught me what a family should be like. First of all, he appreciated my grandmother. It was an incredibly strong mutual love. Until my grandfather's death, they loved each other.


20140706_131859.jpg


I'm seven years old. Grandmother with dark long hair. She gently teaches me to braid a braid. Since then, I was raised by my grandparents. She was always calm, balanced, merciful. She gave me all her love, warmth and care. Despite the difficult times for our family at that time, she taught me to help others and share with those in need. Everything in life I know and know is thanks to my grandparents. My grandmother taught me to read, write, and multiplication before I went to first grade. We often studied poetry together and read each other fairy tales. In the summer, my grandmother and I went together for berries and wove wreaths in the field. And my grandfather taught me wisdom, how to behave, how to treat people, not to steal, not to offend those weaker than myself. When the warm summer came, my grandfather and I often went fishing. and those were the best mornings of my life.


20140706_133846.jpg


I'm 8. Grandmother moved to a distant land to her mother's house. And I went with my grandparents. Life in the house was significantly different from life in the apartment. It was much more cozy and interesting for us here. On the weekends, my grandfather and I mowed our lawn. I still like the smell of freshly cut grass. And my grandmother taught me to be a good hostess. We kneaded the dough for bread, made canned food, cooked jams, and made dumplings. And my grandmother taught me all this with great love.


20140706_114353.jpg


Despite the fact that my grandfather was not my family, we had a special love, a special relationship with him. He died when I was four months pregnant. He never saw my son, his great-grandson. More than 12 years have passed. My son will be 13 years old in three days. And I still miss my grandfather. My grandfather used to hide ice cream for me in the refrigerator in the freezer. Now I sometimes do that for my son. For me, my grandfather will forever remain the ideal of a real man.


IMG_20140321_155810.jpg


Grandma is still alive. My native, my kind, my best people of this land. She taught me to be a real woman, a good hostess, a loving wife and mother. My house often smells like delicious rolls. And it's the smell of my childhood.


IMG_20140321_155853.jpg


P.S. I kiss your hands, my grandmother. I hope that I will still have time to see you, to see you at least one more time. I know you miss me as much as I miss you. We must see each other. Then we will sit down, as in childhood. I will put your head on your knees and you will stroke my hair. Then we will bake pancakes, drink tea and remember those distant times. You just have to have time. Don't cry, my good. I never let you down. I grew up the way you taught me. I bow low to you.


IMG_20130210_110034.jpg


P.P.S. Some photos are of poor quality.They were made with an old phone. In the photos are my grandmother and my children.

Sort:  

Hey! Thanks for your entry. Great read!

Hi. I have to thank you for the topic for the competition. I was glad to remember the warm half of my life.

I had hoped people would get some enjoyment out of remembering their grandparents. I'm glad you entered. ☺️

Entries to your challenge keep popping up in my feed. Mostly really good and interesting read. Great initiatvie man, thumbs up :)

Thank you. It's closed now so you shouldn't see anymore. I did the winners announcement post just now but everyone who had a try is a winner I think. Thanks for your comment.

 3 years ago  

I love the way you associate the smell of cut grass to your childhood.

What's stopping you from seeing your grandmother today?

Unfortunately, I moved to another country. Thousands of kilometers between us. And this damn coronavirus, which has greatly complicated the crossing of borders. I really hope that very soon I will be able to visit Ukraine and visit my grandmother.

 3 years ago  

I'm back. I wanted to give you an extra thank you because it was content like yours that made deciding so difficult. I had a note written with yours, it said "smells of childhood and the smell of cut grass."

💖

Hi. I am very glad that you liked my story. Thank you so much for the gift. Sorry I didn't answer you earlier. The working week did not give an opportunity to be here.🌹