800 for one month $?? for 3 Months

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

$800 for one month $?? for 3 Months

Perhaps a bit of a rant, but I am going to go ahead anywhere...

Recently I went to pick up some prescriptions for my Wife and was shocked when the total for 5 prescriptions was close to $1800, Being retired my budget is less than it used to be when I was working of course, so that and the total of the bill made me go WOW what the heck, and ask them to hold on two three of the prescriptions, which were one for around 800, one around $500 and another about $300 while I did some checking into them and why so expensive.

Now I am lucky to have good insurance, which I had for years while working and we get a good deal for our retirement Health Insurance, so this is not a complaint about them and it all worked out in the end as I will explain.
Now these three prescriptions which all along with a bunch of others started after Lulu Had the fall, Hip replacement, reaction to the blood thinner, two vascular surgeries etc etc over her 5 weeks in hospital at the beginning of this year.

Now I had picked up prescriptions for these three medications before and no way were that that expensive, so I wanted to follow up with our Health insurance provider and see what was up.

So I called them and they confirmed for one months supply of each of those medications that was the copay, but luckily before I could say anything to that the person I was talking to added "HOWEVER" which made me bite my tongue and see what else was coming.
and the however was, if you pick up a 3 month supply of the prescription the copay would be $15 for each of them.

Needless to say I called the Drs who had prescribed them and asked for a 3 month supply prescribed for each and sure enough when I went to pick them up, it was $45 total for all three of them with 3 Months supply as compared to $1600 for one months supply, boy that was a relief.

Now I am not complaining about the insurance, they have been great in dealing with the billing for Lulus time in hospital and when some bills have come in for crazy amounts from the Hospital, a quick call to the Insurance has sorted most of them out.
I am sure there is some logic in why they want clients to full 3 Months supply of prescriptions' and hence the big cost difference, and to be honest with all the pills Lulu is on now, its easier picking up pills 3 monthly instead of monthly, so it all worked out well in the long run.

Rant Over onto some photos

THis happened a while back as I said and I have been meaning todo a post about it but wasn't sure what photo or photos to add to the post and I saw this one in my lightroom catalogue today with number son it and led to this post

crazy-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 144mm F6.3 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger

Just one photo for this post a bit unusual for me but didn't know what else would fit with this post

And that’s all folks

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCPyjABknxZJJvUz9yun2Zy8P1U6JvG6Su9nuUqwyRSWGZ6yWjFCqoaFeB5fsBEGuPAK2JfviXrQEGaDgCrHEMVWxEXQDuLruvdN5rfWKheZncT6mLWHAAg6.jpg


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long Cove Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

Medical Insurance is wonky throughout our region as well, you have to have a medical examination every 6 months to renew prescribed medication, this you are then only able to collect every month.

Everything is deducted off a "savings account" which is renewed each year, middle range medical insurance hardly ever sees you through a full year for doctors, dentists and eye check-up, yup continuously question these guys are a rip off today!

Nice old numbers, tag below looks dated to 1933... Have a great day and enjoyable weekend JJ.

!LUV
!BEER

Thansk so much for the !LUV and !BEER
Yeah its crazy all over i am sure, the cost of some medicla things are crazy high here we would be in big debt without it


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 60 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Connect

Trade


@pixresteemer! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Need extra cash?

This is where Steemit went wrong. Advertising their platform with the money earning opportunity. Looks like Hive (or at least a part of it) steps onto the same road.

 3 years ago  

How frustrating! What if you didn't question it and went without instead? You wouldn't, but some people would.

There are actually some meds cheaper if you don't use your insurance, but use all the discounts given by the company. Why not just make it cheaper? Pricing has gotten out of hand, or at least inconsistant.

Thanks, Jj! Their logic doesn't make sense to me. Good morning!

Ohh yeah, it did make me wonder what I paid for them in the previous months, at the start I was all about looking after lulu and didnt want to be out long, I know they cant have bene that high I would have noticed

Yeah thats crazy with the pricing for meds, and some cheaper with coupons than what insurance pays, Luckily our insurance has notified us of that a couple of times, but like you say why not just price them cheaper and save the run around

Good morning and have a great day

 3 years ago  

Exactly. I think it has to do with which ones are subsidized, but, honestly, cut through the red tape and don't make it a dance every time.

You have a great day too!

Spot on, and worse things is and also crazy is they issued new Insurance cards in the mid point of her treatment with a new number, and they dont automatically see the old number was applied and use the new number, no you have to call the provider and ak them to resubmit with the new number!!!!

 3 years ago  

It is a nightmare for health providers too! Their hands are tied by insurance companies too.

Didnt it used to be simpler? I thought it was.

I am sure it did used to be simplier, but between Insurance and Lawyers it all got complicated and expensive

Good for you. Your persistence saved your wallet :)

Yet, this shows well how the drug mafia is killing us. $15 is probably way too much for a drug in question yet it's a reasonable price. $500 is pure greed and evil!

Another thing. When they get you, they get you for life. These are not prescriptions. They are subscriptions. They don't want you healthy. They want you in a permanent state of needing drugs. How sad this is?

Anyway, congrats! Take care.

@tipu curate

Yes I know what you mean about Subscriptions, but fortunatly quite a few of her meds are for only 6 months supposedly, she has follow ups with a couple of Doctors soon and we hope she gets taken off a few of them now that she is doing a lot better

Thanks for the Tipu Curation

That's good to hear. Staying free of drugs is the only way to stay healthy. Good luck!

Thanks 👍🙂👍

It's good to have health and medical insurance, but then I guess we have the same situation here, the fees will be much higher when we have insurance.

Yeah her eit is essential, but I think the Insurance has helped in a way to make the prices for so many things here ridiculously high


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I'm sure glad you have resolved the situation! And I am glad you had question it in the first place!
Phew, the many nuances of medical insurance! I keep reading the #silverbloggers (I am registered since I will be 45, except that I have not written anything yet, I need to think of something...) so that by the time I retire I would have all your experiences , LOL!

Silver bloggers is a real nice community at 45 I was hardly ever seeing a dr I don’t think until I was 45 I had not taken one sick day lol

The other thing when it comes to prescription ask the pharmacist if there is another option. I was prescribed a 600mg once a day pill, it was $600, I asked why so much and like you also asked my health insurance provider. I was told the 300mg ones were a hell of a lot cheaper, ($3.50). So I checked with my doctor since they were a time release pill to see if two a day would work for me, he said it would and to space them 12 hours apart.

It is a difficult and may take a little time, but working with all three, (doctor, pharmacist, insurance), can help with the cost of prescriptions.

Yeah we had a similar experience to you with one of my meds it’s crazy but worth the effort as you say to follow up with all three

That's a WOW from me too 😮 and I am glad that you could sort it out, JJ.
I remember that I have read somewhere what the effective costs to produce some of the most expensive pills are and I think that even the $ 45 are quite too much.


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Yeah I saw an article comparing the cost of a few medications between a few countries and the difference is crazy

!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

But the people still pay, what else could they do though?
I am glad that the few pills my family needs from time to time don't cost a lot.


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

With the insurance ours aren’t to bad and what can we do we need them

Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

... and they know that you and I and all the other people need them. It's good that you have an insurance. I always complain about the money we have to pay monthly for insurances, but sometimes we need one and then I'm happy to have it :)


I hope there's some !PIZZA left in the fridge, because the !BEER is out :)
!ENGAGE 30
!invest_vote

I to used to complain about the huge amount we paid each month for insurance, especially until my 50s where I would go for years infact decades without seeing a DR, but now with getting older and Lulus fall etc I am not complaining at all

!PIZZA is nice but even better with !WINE or !!BEER

Yep, that's what I meant, as long as you don't need it, it is too much, but one day you will be glad that you have paid and smile :)


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (19/20)

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (11/20)

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Connect

Trade


@johannpiber! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @tattoodjay.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Connect

Trade


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/20)

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...