Rekindling a hobby from my youth in Beveridge Park, Fife, Scotland

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

Hello Hello one and all.

As a teenager, I used to do holiday jobs to get money to do two things. One was to be able to play golf and the other was to help pay for my passion for photography. In those days of course it was all film and so very expensive. In fact I stopped as it was too expensive to actually enjoy it. Not like now, where we can snap snap snap and not worry about running out of film or having to have photos processed.

However, with the arrival of smartphones, my interest in that hobby slowly started to rekindle, and now is in full flow after I bought my new toy. The baby arrived is where I told you about my Canon Powershot SX 70HS bridge camera.

We have been having rain this week. I also had a wee reminder from @coquicoin that there was a certain Silvers Bloggers prompt that I was to write about, so away for a walk I went with my camera.


Top of my road and entrance to Beveridge Park

I live on one of the main roads through the town, and it is a bit of bypass as you don't need to go down into the centre. The park is on the other side of the railway line. One day I will get a picture of a train going over the bridge.

Can you see the sky, the grey clouds meant rain was not far away!

IMG_1013.JPG

One of the five park entrances

This is one of the two main entrances, ignoring all the entrances via the woods, there are five entrances into Beverdige Park, where we are standing now. There is a track that runs round it, and they used to race motorbikes on it, hence the wooden mototrbike sculpture. When I was here last week they had not planted any flowers. I was cursing the council for cutbacks, but I was glad to see the gardeners were out and planted flowers. However, I was cursing them later on my walk.

IMG_1019.JPG

New Snack Van

Last year we had two snack vans at the park, the food was not the best but certainly not the worst I have had.
This year however, they had gone to be replaced by this colourful one. I haven't eaten there yet, but will let you know when we do!

It is a colourful van, but I can't help thinking that the reindeer looks so happy because he has eaten some of the magic mushrooms🍄😃
IMG_1021.JPG

The Rose Garden

Situated between the snack van and the boat pond is The Rose Garden. There are benches around the perimeter, so often we will come here to eat lunch and spot the wildlife.

IMG_1024.JPG

#alwaysaflower by the wonderful @dswigle is an awesome tag, and I am glad that the beds of roses are flowering now.

IMG_1025.JPG

IMG_1027.JPG

What is your favourite colour of rose?

I don't have a particular favourite rose colour, but I did like the look of this lilac pink one. You can see the raindrops, a reminder that rain was still out and about!

IMG_1033.JPG

The pesky gatekeepers

As Kirkcaldy is a coastal town, we are inundated with seagulls. They perch on the entrances to The Rose Garden, and are forever divebombing unsuspecting people, especially when they are eating. Not sure about your country, but here they are all proteced species by law.

IMG_1034.JPG

The boating pond

Prior to Covid you could rent rowing boats out to go on the pond. However the birds seem to have taken it over now. Although today it seemed quite quiet.

IMG_1036.JPG

Female Mallards looking at a fish show

I am guessing these three girls were looking at fish and not a peep show. One of them as you see decided to show us her ass!

IMG_1039.JPG

Fight time

As I was on my own today, feeding the ducks and taking their pictures was a tad tricky. At this time of the year we get Pomeranian Ducks visiting and they are bigger than the resident Mallard ducks. You can see the female Mallard on the right was not going to be bullied by the Pomeranian.

IMG_1083.JPG

The New Dafty!

Some of you might remember Dafty the Pomeranian Duck from last year. What a romantic rascal he was, with his love trysts in Love Island and having Milly and Molly involved in his love triangle. I can tell you that Dafty 2 is even more vocal than Dafty. There you go @jane1289 my ducks are back for you. @bloghound and @ifarmgirl you might recognise the similarities between Dafty and Dafty 2.

IMG_1070.JPG

Eating out of my hand

The one I called Dafty 2 came up and took the duck food pellets out of my hand, what a cheeky bugger! These ones have no problem coming upto me.

IMG_1076.JPG

The pies not wanting to miss out

Last year Steve and Susie Swan had six curviving cygnets and I have been trying to find out the story this year. As I was feeding the ducks, teh two pies came over to get fed. Last year I called the six cygnets 'pies'.
I just love the way they move effortlessly over the water.

IMG_1063.JPG

Aren't I cute says cutie-pie?

Here you go Super Eli @coquicoin cutie-pie saying hello hello to you. I put in a picture of her beside a male mallard duck to show that she is still a juvenile and not Susie.

I think that Susie and Stevie Swan have gone to Raith Lake, it may be that they decided Beveridge Park got too busy this year with all the people back. Their nesting site of last year has not been used either. I am pretty sure that she was here with her brother Mud-pie.
IMG_1079.JPG

Seagulls and Jackdaws were late to the party

I do not feed the seagulls, the swans usually scare them away, the ducks and swans get on together, but if too many seagulls appear, then I leave and go to another part of the pond. I had finished one bag of food for them, and being conscious of the weather, I made a move inland.

IMG_1084.JPG

A Lone Wee Coot

Coots are the ones with the white mark on their head and white beak. This wee one was walking with me to the other end of the pond.
IMG_1085.JPG

Last years swan's nesting area

Normally the swans build their nest on the island, but last year they built it on the reeds in this section of the park. As there were not many people around, that would have been fine as the family would not have been disturbed that often by people or dogs.
This year there is no sign of any nest.

IMG_1091.JPG

Dafty's Love island

This is the island where the swans normally build their nest, it is inaccessible to humans so ideal for the cygnets to grow up. Last year though, this was where Dafty The Pomeranian Duck would take his duck harem. A serious rascal he was! Although it was a grey day, there was no wind and you can see a cracking reflection on the water.

IMG_1094.JPG

The view from the bottom

This is the second spot that I feed the ducks and swans, if the seagulls get too many up the other end then I come down here and feed them again. It is also where the coots and moorhens hang out.
Can you see the white things at the top of the pond? What do you mean, No!

IMG_1095.JPG

Let's Zoom in then!

Yes it is cutie-pie and mud-pi with some Mallard Ducks. this is why I love this camera, and a big thank you to @papilloncharity for answering my questions, you should be a Canon salesman😁

IMG_1097.JPG

Sticking out like a sore thumb

Nature is amazing, take trees, there are so many different types, and look at this fir I think it is. It sticks out like a sore thumb. I was now heading to the secluded garden where we normally eat lunch and see the magpies and tits and other smaller birds.

IMG_1103.JPG

I was in for a shock!

The council in their wisdom had chopped won one of two trees, they had removed some gorgeous shrubs and replaced with turf. I was pissed off and went to chat to a gardener that I saw. Apparantly his bosses had said it was done to cut down on maintenance. ffs the shrubs were flowering shrubs and a magent for bees and pollinators, what a shower of shites the council are, all penny pinching, and no thought of our environment!

Memorial Garden

So I carried on and here is the The Memorial Garden. The Mayor of Kirkcaldy was Mayor Beveridge, and his wife wanted more green spaces and places for people to be able to enjoy, so she persuaded her husband to create the park many many years ago.

IMG_1104.JPG

Loving Fountain

The fountain is a memorial to the pair of Beveridges who the park is anmed after. This is only a ten minute walk from my house, so I thank Mrs Beveridge for convincing her husband to create the park.

IMG_1108.JPG

Handsome ~ Oh yes I am !

If swans are my favourite aquatic bird, then Magpies are my favourite non aquatic bird. There is something about them that just makes me smile.
Now that I am recapturing my love for photography as a hobby and getting more time to pursue it, but I am also getting back into birdwatching as a hobby.
When I was a wee bairn, I rememebr one of the best Christmas presents I ever was given. My great aunt was very much nature aware and she sponsored a Mallard Duck from the RSPB in my name, and I got sent a wee certificate of sponsorship. The duck had been ringed, and I would get updates whenever it was spotted. Getting letters in my name as an eight year old, I was fair chuffed!

IMG_1155.JPG

My Blue behind

Blue is my favourite colour so perhaps that is another reason I like Magpies, just look how stunning he is! Do you see his left leg up as if he is marching!

IMG_1126.JPG

The Way Home

This is the back of the nesting area from last year, and you can still see indentations in the reeds, where the nest from last year has stopped the growth of reeds this year. There were now spits of rain and I decided that I had pushed my luck.

Now I realised that today is Wednesday and this would be a suitable walk for #wednesdaywalk from @tattoodjay and as I have been smiling also for #MakeMeSmile hosted by @elizacheng.
To see more info on that do read Wednesday Walk On the harbor walk from @tattoodjay

However, this post is for the #silverprompt about hobbies from Silver Bloggers , please read Silver Prompt - New Topic for July 3, 2022

IMG_1165.JPG

Who was Percy the Pigeon looking at?

Just before I put my camera away so it would not get wet, I saw Percy.

Just look at the stare on him, can you guess who he is giving the eye too?

IMG_1160.JPG

It's me ~ Sammy the Squirrel

Yes @eylz619 I caught Sammy saying hello to you!

IMG_1132.JPG

Now the heavens opened, and I got absolutely drenched, it was raining cats and dogs, and by the time I got home I was like a drookit rat!

The things that I do for you @coquicoin

I hope you enjoyed this wee multi topic post that really highlights the hobbies that I want to get into now that I have more time on my hands! My next goal is start looking at edits. Wish me luck🤞

silver_divider_logo.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman @TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated.

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

@tengolotodo 29/06/2022 Kingdom of Fife, Scotland, UK

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @coquicoin ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hi @tengolotodo,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

 2 years ago  

@tipu curate

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 2 years ago  

Hi, Ed! @tengolotodo What a truly awesome post! First off, thank you for tagging #alwaysaflower! I am honored and I love your choice! I love the red ones right outside of my door, but, like you, I will take any of them! I love them all!


red rose.jpg


Ok, I cheated! I fixed it up with a little bit of editing.

Seagulls are not protected here, there are far too many, but, I do love the little cheeky pests. I sometimes take something down by the water to feed them. No ducks as it is seawater. I need to go to my lake for that. The geese and mallards have been prolific this year!

My favorite is the swans, wait! No! The Magpie! I don't really see them much here in the Washington, DC area, but, I did in Canada and Maine/New Hampshire, although it is said they are here.

A wonderfully informative, interesting, and fun post! Good luck!

Hive on, my friend!

hehe you did a wee bit of editing Denise! It is gorgeous though.

We don't really get a lot of geese here, just when they are passing through.
The seagulls are cheeky pests indeed, they have no manners haha!

Thank you it was a fun post to write so yes Hive on Denise :)

 2 years ago  

It looks a like a lovely park. I live in a small market town, so we have no large parks, but we're not far from the countryside. I like magpies too, I think they are handsome birds, it's just a shame they prey on garden birds eggs and young.

Yes we are lucky here, there is another bigger park but it does not have the boat pond, but it is beside the sea. Nature is a cruel mistress and it is the circle of life, but magpies as you say are handsome birds:)

This post is gorgeous and has left me with a huge smile, Super Ed. Thank you, thank you! :)

The pies are beautiful. Cute pie and mud pie have turned into spectacular swans. How funny Dafty 2, he seems an absolute cheeky one. Although I confess I still miss Dafty and his love affairs. I love the magpies and the shade of blue on his rear, hehe. 💙

You're becoming quite a photography expert with your new toy, and I'm sure you will be with the editing too.

I'm sorry you got caught in the downpour and I hope you had a hot bath when you got home and drank lots of coffee, hehe.

Of course, it wasn't you if you didn't make me laugh out loud too, the reindeer in the colorful van certainly looks like he's eaten a good fistful of happy mushrooms. We'll have to see if you end up with the same face after you try their food. 😂

Enjoy the evening, Eddie W 🤗😽

There you go Super Eli, I did say I was going to go and make you a post.
It is all about Action this week hehe
The pies are gorgeous but do you see how they are not as big, Cutie is slender.
Dafty 2, my god the mouth on him, I got shock when he took the pellets out of my hand 🤣🤣🤣
the blue is gorgeous and I like it on the Mallard ducks too!

Yes I got absolutely drenched, but the camera was okay, inside its bag inside my bag I take.
Oh woohoo I got the laugh from you, the happy mushroom eating reindeer jeje!

Thank you Super Eli, I am glad you liked it, it was a fun one to write and I can't believe I met another Dafty!

Hi Super Ed! I have to say that you really killed it with this post and if so comes your call to action, I can only say Lights, Camera, and Action Mr. Director hehe because this post is so gorgeous.

Yeah, I noticed the detail that the pies aren't that big yet and it's great that you found a new Dafty, hehe. We'll have to see if he's as much of a rascal as the original Dafty, but he seems to be.

I'm glad you are prepared to protect your toy from the rain. Water and sand are terrible for cameras.

Thanks again for this lovely post, and sorry you got drenched, but it was worth it 😂🤗😊.

 2 years ago  

The fact that I gave you a good soaking was well justified, beautiful images you really live in a very beautiful place @tengolotodo

hehe yes I got my good soaking, I am glad you like it @devania

your doing great work with your new camera such an awesome post and an amazing walk so much to see
that snack van is sure colorful and catches ones eye

as for favorite color of Rose, I saw one with a soft purple shade so would say that is my favorite

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thanks Jay, yes the snack van is a stand out for the eye!
A soft purple shade is a cool colour:)
Have a great rest of your week.

Cheers you to have a good week

weeeee good to see you again sammy!!! and dafty! i missed you too haahah

Yes it was good to see them!

I see my Duck Dynasty friends! I have not seen them in ages. Beautiful post, uncle Ed. Everything is gorgeous. From my feathered friends, to flowers to nature. Next time to go out, bring your umbrella hehe. Good morning!

haha umbrella means no hand to take pictures Mrs P:)

I didn't think about that, uncle Ed haha!!

jeje I have before though, why I took my raincoat with hood Mrs P:)

In the Philippines, uncle Ed. Umbrella is life hehe. Even if there's no rain, people carry umbrella with them 😆

hehe well here too Mrs P!

Wishing you a wonderful weekend ahead, uncle Ed :)

I enjoyed your walk, kuya. Love those reflection photos. It's good to see those colorful flowers too. I don't have a particular flower color that I like the most as well but maybe the pink ones. It's good to see all these animals again even the pesky gatekeepers :D but especially cute Sammy :D

Thanks kuya, if it had been sunny then the reflection ones would really have stood out. It was good to capture the animals, even the pesky gatekeepers are actually cute!

These are still lovely reflections, kuya :D

oo I think they are kuya:)

 2 years ago  

The things you do for love eh :) hehehe
You definitely have the passion Tito Ed, so evident on this post and all the gorgeous shots you have shared. You have a fabulous kingdom around you, green and many breathing creatures big and small.
!PIZZA

It is a wonderful kingdom CJ, and yes got wet for love haha but is always good to go feed them, they scarf all the food quickly!

 2 years ago  

It's awesome and they'd be expecting the same treatment when you go again hehe.

I know and my monthly delivery of their food came today, it is a sign haha
Happy Friday CJ:)

 2 years ago  

Lol! That's good, you are an angel to them :) Thank you Tito Ed, good Thursday evening to you, or is it night? hehe

Well we should feed animals and birds.
hehe it is 2.15am so Friday morning and JULY already!
Enjoy Friday CJ

 2 years ago  

That is right :) We do feed birds in our yard hehe. Whoa, and you're still up! Wow! Happy Friday to you then Tito Ed, thank you :)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ifarmgirl(1/5) tipped @tengolotodo (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Haha. Ducky is back 🤗.. .i love the reflection photo too..

hehe I had to show you the ducks haha

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because of the use of a service (reward.app) to liquify rewards.Our upvotes are reserved for content which is created with a commitment to long term growth and decentralization of Hive Power.

This exclusion only applies to this and eventually other future liquified posts and not all your publications in general.

Take care and hive five!

oh cool, I did not know that, I was using to see about rewards to power up in puds. Lesson learnt, don't use again! Thanks for the heads up @curangel

Heheheh! You sure love your photography. Oh my! These are lots of pictures you captured. It's a good thing you do not have to buy films anymore so you can take as much shots as possible. I think shooting animals is what you enjoy most and what you said about the reindeer is so funny. So you love Swans? Sadly I've never seen one in my country and I'm not sure I've seen a living rabbit either.

I have taken over 1000 pictures with my new camera so yess thank the effing f we don't buy film anymore!
Hehe the tripping reindeer haha
The swans are awesome haha and I posted about them today.
The squirrels you might have, rabbits we have but not really in the parks.

Alright. Lovely environment you have there.

Yes beauty when we look for it!
What parks or green areas are near you?

There is the Lekki conservation center. I have never been there but I heard there are lots of trees and some animals and even a canopy walk. I am hoping to visit there sometime soon

1000 Naira entrance fee, but wow what a place, you take pictures and have daily pictures for a month easily!

Oh my! You do know Nigeria very well. Hhahahaha! So you've been there and done that huh! It's now 2000 naira for gate fee. I haven't been there but I heard lots of beautiful things about the place. I will certainly visit

I love the lilac pink too partner but I would prefer if there was a blue rose, hehe.

All the images have really beautiful memories for you, how sweet. I'm so happy I came across this post via dreemport.

oh blue, yes yes that would rock partner!
Thank you and I am glad you like it partner :)

Yes it will be so cool.

You're always welcome partner 😘.

it really would, I have seen fake ones!

Yeah, it will still look beautiful, right?

Absolutely it will partner:)

I can imagine how beautiful it will be 💙💙.