A LONG TIME COMING and WHAT LOVE HAS TO DO WITH IT.

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

What do you give a guy for his birthday when he's got everything he needs? That was the same question I would ask my Dad when he was alive. As we get up there in years, needs have hopefully been met and wants come into play.
For the past several years when my kids ask, "Dad, what do you want for your birthday," my reply has been a new tractor. That answer is always greeted with a smile and my next request is, some new socks would be great or a good pair of slippers also works.
Who doesn't like sliding on a new pair of comfy slippers?

This year's birthday gifts were a little different than usual. Being that I was going in for total hip replacement surgery on the 16th of November,10 days after my birthday, the gifts I received centered around my comfort and giving me something to do during recovery.

This simple present made me laugh and it also made me realize just how much I'm loved.
Knowing that so many people cared for me so deeply, was the best gift of all!

IMG_4426.JPG

November is a big month for birthdays in the Jurg household. Not only would we be celebrating my birthday, but four other family members would also be celebrating their birthdays along with me, making this day extra special.
Can you tell who they were? Yup the ones with the birthday hats on.
Our daughter-in-law and our grandson would also be blowing out candles.
Our daughter Erica and her husband Mike were both born on the same day, November 7th, a day after my birthday.
Go figure, the newlyweds share the same birthday.

nov bd.png

It is in giving that we receive, and receiving so much love on this day had me covering up my face
as I tried to hide my tears.
IMG_4209.JPG

12 years ago I had my first hip replaced and the entire process was a breeze.
I fully expected this go-around to be the same, boy was I wrong.
This time, I spent an extra day in the hospital before being released. Some extra gadgets were purchased to make life a little easier during recovery.
At the time I felt that much of what you see here was a waste of $$$$, but as is usually the case, @farm-mom knew better. Besides the shoehorn, every gadget has made life a little easier. I'm sure that the shoehorn will also come into play once I'm able to get out and about, but being that slippers will be in vogue until then, the shoehorn will be on standby.

gadgets.png

While in the hospital, I followed the doctor's orders to a tee and swallowed every pill that was ordered.
Along with these prescribed medications comes a laundry list of side effects.

The four hours spent in the car while making our way back to the farm was no picnic and knowing this was going to be the case, I swallowed another round of the meds that were offered, before being released from the hospital.

The first day home I continued to follow the doctor's orders until the side effects of taking
these pills started to rear their ugly head.

As we all know, constipation is no fun and that was a result of taking the OxyCODONE. This stuff is no joke and the list of warnings when taking this very addictive medication is longer than my arm. This medication was causing more discomfort than it was alleviating and the entire 30 pills remain untouched. I could deal with the pain, but not being able to go to the bathroom was unbearable.

The pregabalin 50 mg was the next to go. Developing a rash from this med was the first side effect listed on the pages of literature that accompanied this drug. I had broken out with a rash all over my back that made me feel like I was laying on a bed of nails. As of this moment, the rash remains, but every day it gets a little better. I have not taken any of this med for the past 10 days, I guess it takes a while to purge the body of this poison.
meds.png

In the past, I have replaced other medications that were ordered by my doctors, for both high blood pressure and high cholesterol, with #Narural #Medicines, both of which have given me better results than any pharmaceutical fix.
Getting back to natural remedies for alleviating pain, reducing swelling, and rebuilding bone and muscle mass has been my approach to getting back on my feet while avoiding the side effects from the money-making drugs that big pharmaceutical companies have their doctors dealers pushing.
My approach must be working because I have been able to sit in a chair for an hour or so while putting this post together over the past few days! 😁
flower power.png

Compassion, empathy, perseverance, coupled with the love from this wonderful lady has been unwavering! I can always count on her being in my corner when the going gets rough, and for this, I will always be grateful!

IMG_9440.JPG

Sort:  

I was at my Grandma’s for Thanksgiving. She is going to be 91 this year. She has had both knees, hips, and one should replaced. In March she goes in for her other shoulder. I call her my Bionic Grandma that’s gonna live forever. Lol.

Prayers going out for fast healing and speedy bowel movements.

!BEER
!PIZZA

The bowel movements are spot on now that I've stopped taking all of those pills.

Bionic Grandma, sounds more like a superhero to me.
At her age it's simply remarkable that she still wants to proceed with surgery, with any surgery not being easy, to give her a better quality of life.

A great little story, a real motivator!

Tell her I said hello.

Shittin’ and Gettin’!! That’s what I’m talking about. LOL

I’m gonna have to take some photos of what she does, even at her age. This lady just keeps going like the energize bunny. I need to go visit her a lot more than I do I know that.

Posted via D.Buzz

God bless her.
Life gets so busy that sometimes we forget about some of the important things, like visiting loved ones that will not be there forever. When my Grandfather passed, my one regret was that I felt that I should have made more of an effort to visit with this wonderful gentleman. Every time I made the effort to see him, I would leave being a better person than before.

untitled.gif

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@papilloncharity(5/10) tipped @thebigsweed (x1)
splatts tipped thebigsweed (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

I think your good nature and good sense of humor, aside from a loving wife and family will be your best medicine in the end. All the best to you.

Thank you for the kind words. I'm not sure how one would get through the challenges of getting older if it were not for family or great friends.

Having been as independent as I am and still wish to be, needing a hand is something that will be hard to come to terms with.

 2 years ago (edited) 

You two are such an inspiration, and how blessed you are with loving children and grandchildren! Happy birthday to everyone, and wishing you a speedy recovery! Don't even talk to me about allergies to meds, I have a ton, glad you found natural alternatives 🤗

Thank you for the good wishes. As has always been the case, @farm-mom will help me all along the recovery route.
Lately, she's been cooking her arse off, knowing that food will stop me from complaining because my mouth will be stuffed.
The fewer meds we put into our body, the better.🤞

 2 years ago  

At first a great thank you for the Thanksgiving gift.
They can mess with you body, but never with your heart.

Glad that you are recovering slowly and constipation I know all about as I still suffer from it.
After my stroke I also had to take many pills and now also have muscle degeneration as a side effect gift.
We have slowly whittled the pill count away, as from 12 I am down to 6 per day, but for some like the Cortisone no generic can replace it effectively.
Swelling ankles, bloating stomach and weakening muscles seems to be the order of the day.

But you just hang in there, as soon you will be running around again.

Hope that you have/had a wonderful birthday and we can see in your post that you are a much loved guy.

!BEER !PIZZA and !LUV for lady Robin


@papilloncharity(2/5) gave you LUV. | wallet | market | tools | connect | <><

I like the term, side effect gift.
Having the plumbing thing in the rearview mirror for the past week, I'm feeling like a new man already.

Some conditions require what some of the smartest people in the world have devoted their lives to, medicine.
At one time or another most will be thankful for their work.
The doc says not to drink for a while, heck with that, thanks for the beer, my friend.

Glad you are able to post again! Sure hope the healing goes really well from here on out...

Getting better every day, thanks for your concern and well wishes.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Sir, about 10 years ago my good friend D$ got married. He's rich like owes a million bucks a year. I made him a framed glass picture, about 20"x5" and had a decal in the center made.

He didn't notice the capital letters for about 3 years and finally called me up like awesome!! "This!" My very own sound! The sticker said:

WhaT Do You Get A Man WHo Has EverythIng He NeedS?

I like it, and the fact it took him three years to figure out is precious.

Feeling better every day, I pray the same for Pura!

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21