IT'S A FAMILY AFFAIR ... call in the troops!

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

As much as I try to deny it, Old Man Winter is just around the corner.

No snow flakes as of yet, but with overnight temperatures dropping below 50 degrees, is a stark reminder that getting firewood needed to be a top priority.
Usually this task body conditioning hobbitational activity is performed in October. It's an activity that I look forward to accomplishing.

Just the other day I asked ALEXA, "how much does a cord of firewood weigh."
The answer I got was a little surprising, "A cord of firewood weighs between 4,850 lbs./6,250 lbs., depending on the type of wood.

Being that our home is almost exclusively heated by firewood, four cords of firewood gives us what we need for the year. All of this wood is gathered from our property in the way of dead standing timber and trees that have been toppled by #Mother #Nature.

@farm-mom and I usually go it alone, she's stacked a great stacker.
This year I asked for some help, and I got it without hesitation. The knee replacement I had done almost four months ago is doing great, but the knee I will have operated on October 11th is restricting most physical activity.

IMG_3016.JPG

The gentleman you see with the chainsaw in hand is our 3rd son. If you need to get something done he's the guy to call. He's a ball of energy and has a hard time sitting around. He's the guy who wore us out this past week playing games, while visiting with his family.

Weeks earlier, I had scouted out the trees that would provide us with the wood we needed. Our kids were on vacation and I wanted this wood gathering process to go as quickly as possible.

Pulling the timber out of the woods was the first step.

pulling wood.png

Within a few hours we had most of the timber cut into 18 inch logs and called it a day.
Our youngest daughter, oldest daughter, oh yea, she's our only daughter, that one, she had no problem handling the littler chainsaw.
Her husband, that still sounds a little funny, just recently married, is coming up tomorrow and she insisted we leave something for him to do.

cutting wood.png

With all hands on deck, including the grandkids that kept you smiling,
we knocked the shit out of that hobbitational activity, excuse my French.
By the second day we were operating like a fine oiled machine,
bringing the logs to the splitter, splitting, and stacking
.

splitting wood.png

Team work at its best, a family working in harmony, and for the second time this special week, I had a few tears of joy welling up.

stacking.png

Young blood, three generations hobbitizing together, a day to remember.
I know you don't see much of the wife in these pictures and there's a very good reason for that.
She was making sure the help was fed
and wouldn't run out of gas before we had the firewood we needed squirreled away.

stacking 2.png

And there we have it, 4 cords of wood ready to take on the frigid days that lie ahead.
Within 12 hours we had accomplished what would have taken me more than a week to do.

finish.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Do you really have an Alexa? Is it an Alexa or just Alexa? Do you have Alexa? See what you've done? I'm so confused, I'm stuck on an or no an and all I was gonna say is how jealous I am!

Okay, you've got me confused once again. I do have an Alexa, the one that you ask a question of and get a response.
Sometimes she gets a little distracted and can't provide me with the answer I'm looking for. For Instance, when I asked her what the heck you were talking about, her reply was, "your guess is as good as mine."

untitled.gif

I hope all is well with you and Pura.
Looking forward to where you're headed next.

 2 years ago  

So are we sir. I'll be sure to keep you posted. I wish we had more certainty but between me and you, I'm not sure what I'd do with it.

We're headed back the end of next month, that's about all I'm certain of. We'll spend a few days in NC and see if we're drawn to stay but I'm not getting my hopes up. I think if in 5 years we have a couple rentals under our belt and living in a custom we built on our land in East TN, I'll find something else to cry about. = }

Give our love to the farm.

Love the family involvement! Down to the littlest

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 6250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ in Amsterdam is next week. Attend and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

I am still waiting for the last half of my wood to arrive....

I hope you have some help stacking it once it's delivered. For me the stacking is the biggest part of the job.
How many cords of wood do you use during the burning season?

I still don't know as things have been changing. I will find out exactly this year.

And I have to pay someone to stack it as that's beyond my capabilities.

It's not an easy task and getting someone to stack it even if it costs you a few bucks is a good thing.

 2 years ago  

I know I have been out of touch with the #hive lately, I am so happy you continue to document our beautiful life on the farm. We have been so blessed. I love you @thebigsweed.
Hope all our cyber friends find the same bliss.

I really enjoyed your post. eventough sometimes i missed one or two post as we might be online at different time.

I wonder how much different is farming life there in the US compare to here in Bali. seems so much different.

hope you all all having a great day ahead.

Sometimes duty calls and with all that you have on your plate at this time overwhelms me and I'm not on the front line like yourself.
I've said many times that if I had one person to choose from to be in a fox hole with me, you would be my choice.

Your support for your sister Dorothy over the past 28 years, since her accident, is unwavering.

You have never turned a blind eye to anyone in need of some help, and when it's time to leave this Earth, the Pearly Gates will be wide open.

By the way, happy birthday. I have nothing special planned for the day except to hang out with you and relish your company.

I love how the family all pulled together and made light work of this!
To be honest I had never heard of a cord of firewood.

Without their help I'd still be going at it.
A cord of firewood is a stack of wood that measures 4ft x 4ft x 8ft. for a total of 128 cubic feet.
Before moving to our farm, we also heated much of our home with firewood. It was a pretty big house which accommodated our four children.
The amount of wood I needed to stock pile was 10 cords to get us through the winter months. Downsizing once the kids got out on their own sure has saved my back.

aha thanks for the cord dimensions. Well I am glad they came to help as that wassome job, but at least you have your firewood sorted now ready for winter!

Hello @thebigsweed

This is @tengolotodo and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted, reblogged and curated.

silver_blogsilver_blueish.png

Thanks for Silvering my blog, the continued support that comes my way by the Silver Bloggers' Community Team is greatly appreciated.

The success of this community is due to the people at the helm, always steering this vessel in the right direction.

Many thanks @tengolotodo for the time you spend curating.

I love the last picture of your granddaughter carrying a crate just like your daughter.
Great to see everyone rallying around to help get your 4 cords all sorted in 4 hours! Great stuff.
I hope your knees both get sorted soon, and thanks for sharing your family affair with us.

It surely was a team effort which made me proud to be a parent and grandparent of such a wonderful and caring family.
With two hips and one knee already being replaced, I'm starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.
Thanks for your concern and well wishes.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks once again for your support, always greatly appreciated.

With wee tots assisting one would be proud enough to shed a happy tear, always great to have family rally around together getting the task at hand done efficiently in quicker time than all alone.

Racked, stacked and packed ready for winter, good you have everything done now in preparation for the cold months ahead and the other knee being done.

Wonderful share of a family togetherness!

Many hands make the work load light, and make a parent very proud.

The wood is stacked right along the front porch and every time I see it I smile.

Our oldest son visited last week and together we knocked off a few more things I've been wanting to accomplish.
Sometimes it's good having a large family, not always.😁

Youngsters now with children teaching them the ropes, good lesson all round, you appeared to have the situation well under control 😅, little ones are gorgeous when they become involved.

!LUV