WHO SAYS YOU CAN'T TEACH AN OLD DOG NEW TRICKS?

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

As most people who follow me know, cooking is not my gig. When it comes to preparing food, I have the patience of a two-year-old. Unless I'm putting in a few pieces of toast into the toaster, all other dishes take too darn long to prepare. Heating up leftovers is almost unbearable if it takes an extended period of time. Two minutes seems like a marathon while waiting for the microwave to do its thing.
With that said, I recently gave cooking a try and it went pretty well, at least I thought so.
@farm-mom made some wonderful zucchini bread, five loaves to be exact, and five days later they had somehow disappeared.
She had wrapped four of them for freezing, which was perplexing as I now had to defrost them in order to consume these delicious treats.
When I asked her, "so when are you going to bake some more," I was given the evil eye.
At that point, I knew that if zucchini bread was once again to be there for the taking, I would have to be the one slaving over the oven.
So, with the recipe for the zucchini bread in hand, I got down to it, tasting many of the ingredients as I went along, just like all good chefs do.
IMG_1826.JPG

FYI one of the main ingredients included in this bread is zucchini and this we had in spades. This past year we had grown enough of this long, green, versatile, and somewhat phallic-looking veggie to make dozens of loaves of bread.

IMG_2472.JPG

Despite trying to adhere to keeping everything nice and neat and orderly, just like the wife likes, I must admit, things got somewhat totally out of control.
I was determined to complete the mission all by myself but baffled by the body language expressed by the master chef that was observing my every move.
Could it be my approach, could it be my lack of keeping everything nice and tidy, or was I just not following the recipe that spelled out every move and was doing it all wrong?
Well, as they say, the proof is in the pudding.

IMG_1823.JPG

After precisely measuring out all of the ingredients, I couldn't wait to plug in the electric beater and give that a go. Using a new tool for the very first time always gets me excited.

IMG_1827.JPG

Using the electric beater was fun until I lifted it a little too far out of the concoction, and the batter flew everywhere. Following this little misstep, I decided it wise to beat the batter with a hand beater. There was a lot of beating going on and at this point and I was thrilled I wasn't getting beat. 😁

IMG_1828.JPG

The last item to be added to the mix was those delicious cranberries. The way I figured it, the more the merrier. Being merry is always a good thing, so emptying the bag of berries into the mix was a no-brainer, regardless of what the recipe called for.

IMG_1832.JPG

After preheating the oven to 350 degrees the zucchini bread needed to be baked for 35 minutes.

Now, this new cooking experience took much longer than anticipated.
Hunger was now sweeping over my entire being.
I figured that if I cranked the oven up to 550 degrees I would be able to chow down 10 to 15 minutes sooner.

IMG_1835.JPG

Just kidding, but it did feel like watching and waiting for water to boil. 😰😰😰

Sort:  

Look at you go!!! @farm-mom .. confess. Did he just leap in for a selfie to pretend he's some kind of zucchini hero? Did he clean up after himself?

Also, recipe please!!!!

Can't wait til zucchini season!

You've reminded me that I have to get in the kitchen today to make a healthy loaf for hubs. I promised. Sigh.

Loading...

I have to say honestly, we did a full morning together, I instructed and he did the rest. But I can still feel the cringe from how messy he was. I clean as I go. It took him a while to get things back to my standard but as you can see in his post, the island was clean as a whistle as I added the flower to photograph those yummy loaves of bread.

LMAO, you're not as much of a hazard in the kitchen as I would have, a) anticipated or b) seen before.

I think that one-eyed zucchini stare is a touch threatening. I'd have to address that first. Was it honey licking that distracted you in that moment? For a second, I was confused as to how your batter went to orange and thought, carrots? Then I saw the colour of your hand and breathed a sigh of relief.

Those are some mighty fine loaves. Yum. Anticipation is the most delicious part and was worth the wait, at least I hope so. No slaughtering by Master Chef is also a good deal. 😂

This may prove to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. 😁

LOL, I give you full credit for the effort that produced those yummy loaves.

So how were they with the whole bag of cranberries added? And who cleaned up the kitchen? :))

Delicious! What are you kidding, you know the shit I would have caught if I didn't leave the kitchen and all surrounding areas just like I found it?

 2 years ago (edited) 

You see? Now you have started something, as I think that I deserve to be allowed back into the kitchen. Now a cake like this I could never cook, as I struggle to bake an egg, but it's the cleaning part that got me banned.
I saw in the comments here that there are a few comments about the cleaning part and I hope that you didn't try my way of cleaning.
I find an open space in the cupboard and shove all the dirty stuff in there. Pots, pans, cutlery and what not. Then I close the cupboard door and voila, everything is clean.
So, I just for the life of me, cannot understand the logic of banning me from the kitchen.

A !BEER for you and !LUV for Lady Robin.

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@thebigsweed, you've been given LUV from @papilloncharity.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/5)

After that fiasco, I think I might put cooking on the back burner.
Cleaning is my thing, at least that's what I'm told.

Thanks for the beer my friend.

 2 years ago  

I would tend to think that it would be wise thought my friend.

Yeah, I had the idea that you would leave the crime scene spic and span and my way also makes it looking good. Until the missus opens that cupboard door, as then I have to make a run for it 🤣

Blessings!

!BEER
!LOLZ


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 2 years ago  

Well well well, I'm super impressed, they look perfect! BUT...please give us the recipe, I've never ever made nor tasted zucchini bread. I totally agree there's nothing wrong with tweaking a recipe by adding some extra cranberries!
Don't forget the recipe please.

This is a first, giving someone my recipe/ wink, wink, wink, especially the master baker of them all @lizelle.

Recipe included in reply to @riverflows

Good to talk my friend.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Well well well, just look at that recipe! You don't do anything in half measures now do you, very impressed! Thank you so much my friend, I will certainly give this a go but really, we have a new master baker here on Hive, well done!

 2 years ago  

Looks like you did s pretty good job there @thebigsweed that bread looks delicious. @farm-mom taught you well. Thanks for sharing.

I'm pretty good at following directions. 😁

Amigo excelente receta, nunca es tarde para aprender y mucho menos si es para hacer esas delicias de panes. Me imagino que valió la pena la espera.

Muchas gracias

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @farm-mom.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Haha, Seasick Steve said this 😎

Lol! It's great you had to give cooking a try too and experienced how stressful it can be other than just being the one to eat. I can imagine the look on your wife's face when the batter flew everywhere 🤣. You sure did some cleaning too I guess. Weldone! Your zucchini bread looks tasty. I wish I could have a bite so as to judge better. Great post.

Did you just reinvent the term LOAFING around?! I am so impressed @thebigsweed. Entertained. But more impressed. That bag of berries is a brilliant touch. I also am of the cooking opinion that certaint things just belong in a dish "I don't care what the recipe says..." My husband loves the kitchen. He's quite the chef. But more in the line of roasts, curries and bolognaise. Makes a mean breakfast too. I wonder what he would do with this recipe