Feathered Friends Featuring Grey Jays

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

July 7th, 2020

A Few Pole Hopping feathered Friends For Tuesday

Weather has not bee that nice for us, it is right now though, finally at 7 pm the sun comes out and the heat begins to build. Yesterday it stayed pretty cloudy after a full night of rain. But by 5 pm the rain was a distant memory from the morning, and the birds decided it was nice enough to come and play on the poles looking for free food.

I am trying an experiment with this batch of images, they are all png images, and sized down to a 1500x1000 size, and I think they all fall under 1 MB size. I even gave the pictures semi-real names. @sidwrites did a post where he talked about the Best SEO practices for Images. It would be nice to have one of my post picked up on a google search, but I am not going to hold my breath for that moment, but the post and his replies to my enquiry about image size has led me to try something different with my pictures.

Grey Jay Saga

The cute little Grey Jay Saga. They just love the poles and beam, not only that the free food that can be found sometimes, and the best part of it all is they are not camera shay at all.

The first visitor, or maybe the second or third. I am not sure if this is the one I called Margo a long time ago, but certainly one of her friends. He is scoping the area out.
Grey Jay looking nice.png

Oh yeah, lookie there, there are some goodies down there.
Grey Jay looking at food.png

That's it, no more messing around, I hope you got my good side shot, I'm going out of frame for the goodies.
Grey Jay thinking about food.png

Hmmm...I wonder...did that other guy leave me any? I bet he ate it all...I have to go look closer.
Grey jay asking if any was left.png

Hey there...you...yeah you in the window with the camera, Thanks for the grub, it was tasty as usual. Tell that cat to not sneak outside any more or I'm gonna peck at its head.
Grey Jay looking at me.png
Loki got out one day, of course all he did was hide under the deck until the door was opened for him. These little grey jays for some reason seem to enjoy having their picture taken, They will pose quite often, and most of the pictures come out focused pretty good, unlike the following skittish ones.

space bar.png

Golden Crowned Sparrow and Junco
American Three Toed Woodpecker

Edit to show correct name thanks to @melinda010100
I am not one hundred percent sure of the bird type it was the closet I found during a search on line. Much smaller looking than the grey jays.
golden crowned sparrow.png
Here is a second shot of him, I was surprised to get both of these shots as they are very flighty little birds.
golden crowned sparrow 2.png

The next one as near as I could find is a Junco. A tiny little guy, smaller than the Sparrow above. I guess the full name is Dark Eyed Junco, I like the name Junco, pretty cool one, and the bird is pretty sweet looking also, although he is one of those that do not sit still long at all.

Small black and white Junco sparrow with pink bill.png

space bar.png

Okay one last photo, a grey jay in flight, just image you are the size of one of those small white lawn moths that the grey jays and sparrows love to eat. There you are just walking down the street minding your own business when, boom suddenly from out of nowhere a giant bird swoops down and tries to have you for a mid flight meal.

grey jay in low flight.png

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  
Loading...

Some nice captures there. I have wanted to try and "chase some birds" for awhile, but feel that I don't have a fast enough lens. We had families of swallows nesting in the roof this year and I never realized how fast they are - I definitely don't have a lens for them in flight.

The grey jays are a hoot, they actually sit still long enough for me to take a picture, the other birds, not so much, but I was surprised to see them on the pole and beam.
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Very nice shots of these cute birds! I can’t get snap shots of birds with my iPhone!

Have a nice day.

Thank you, birds can be hard to get good pictures of they are so flighty.

No wonder! I thought something was not right with my approach!

Thanks.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 13 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7

Thanks for the support.

I love your Jays and your photos are wonderful. I don't think the one with the yellow head is a sparrow. Look up American Three Toed Woodpecker and see what you think.
The juncos come down and visit us during the winter, but as soon as the weather starts warming up they had back up north. Thanks so much for sharing these with The Feathered Friends Community
!tip

I will have to look, a quick google search for Alaskan small birds did not show any woodpeckers but I was wondering if it was the one that likes to peck at the trees.

Just looked and I think you are right.

We don't have them here and I have never seen one in real life, so it is great to see your photos!

You managed to get some cute photos of them. Some of them look like they may be babies.

I think the Golden Crowned Sparrow and Junco are young birds.


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @bashadow! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Amazing Nature Contest Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.