FEEDING FRENZY

IMG_4387.JPG

"What can I eat? I'm hungrrrrrrrry!"
"Hungry?!! But we just ate lunch!"
"I'm still hungry."
"Have a banana."
" I already did. I ate two. And a pear."
"You had two helpings of cottage pie and a slice of sourdough. Plus fruit; And you are still hungry?!"
I exclaimed. My five year old grinned. Nodding is head vigorously and rubbing his tummy as if to emphasize just how desperately hungry he was.
"What are you going to feed me?"

IMG_4390.JPG

Growing children eat. A lot. A growing boy particularly so. They have bottomless tummies that never seem to be filled. I can relate to the long hours that parent birds work flying to and fro between nest and foraging fields. We are privileged to watch mother and father Malachite sunbird feeding tasty bug morsels for their growing hatchlings throughout the long, hot summer days.

IMG_4389.JPG

During Spring various species of birds build nests around the homestead. Sparrows. Hoopoe. Black shouldered Kite. Weavers. Hadeda. And, my favourite; Sunbirds! Location is everything. Their favourite is nestled smack bang between the nasty thorns of a massive cactus. It also happens to be at the back corner of our house. A perfect viewing spot. Except for our cats which watch in disgust from a safe distance.

IMG_4355.JPG

Grubs. Butterflies. Worms. All imaginable delicacy of bug is on the menu for the constantly gaping beaks. It is exciting for me to share these special photos of the Malachite Sunbird family at their innumerable meal times with @nelinoeva for this week's Feathered Friends Contest

IMG_4571.JPG

Sort:  

Nice feather bed in thorny surrounding to ensure safety, how clever the Sunbird is. Busy time of the year with feeding the young during this early summer heat beating down.

Gorgeous photography being able to have sight into this little house of delight.

As for sons that never stops, they eat you out of house and home after busy days out and about!

Thank you! It certainly is a little house of delight. And teeny babies so adorable

Wow this is a very nice observation! Beautiful birds and nice pictures!

Thank you so much

Brilliant photos! 🙂
I am impressed of how tireless birds are when they feed their chicks. Constantly on the run to provide food for ever hungry offsprings.
It is so clever to build a nest among the thorns, keeping the predators away.

Please add your link in the contest comment section.

Thank you. I'm also impressed with their diligence. It must be exhausting!

It is like never-ending job.

How are you dear friend @buckaroobaby good day
What beautiful photographs you have prepared for this beautiful contest
It is beautiful to see that you have the opportunity to see the children birds grow up near your home
Beautiful photographs, I appreciate that you shared with us
have a great day

Ah @jlufer! Greetings. And thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that others can appreciate the beauty and the joy that these photos convey. Have a wonderful weekend

When I hear children asking this after eating that much food, I tend to look at them and wonder "when last were you dewormed??" I know, I'm a moron but sometimes the amount of food kids consume just confounds me 🤣

🤣 I know! I ask the same question. Especially as so few people understand the connection. However in my home my kids ask if it's full moon yet because they think they need to deworm. Imagine how much they would eat if they had a load of worms

Hahaha I love the link to the full moon, that's so funny. Children really are such a delight in life, I would be so lost without the beautiful influence of my niece, so I totally get it!

Have a beautiful day @buckaroobaby 🌻 and enjoy all the quirkiness with them! Your kids eat well and that's a great thing. Be a proud mama

Thank you for you sweet reply! I'm happy you can relate. Enjoy your precious niece

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!