Hazel and Henry, my 2 lovebirds for my entry into the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 42

Well hello all of you fantastic, fabulous and friendly feathered friends!

I hope that you're all doing well, being safe, healthy, wealthy and happy where ever your are around the world, whatever you are doing!

Unfortunately I haven't been here for a while- partly because I haven't been outside for a while- for a great amount of time as we have been in lockdown since the start of August and it's been a long winter and although Spring started nearly 8 weeks ago, we haven't seen much of that either.

So time outside to capture photos of birds has been pretty much non-existent, like the birds...

BUT, we finally got out of lockdown a few days ago, and I was lucky enough to be able to go for a drive to the beach and captured these 2 pigeons in a place where I never thought I'd see Pigeons...Seagulls yes, but not Pigeons....

So for the Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 42, I'd like to share these 2 very entertaining pigeons with you starting with this edited image as per the theme of this weeks contest by @nelinoeva- which is transformation by photo editing.

If you would like to join in this great contest, then I encourage you to have fun with you Feathered Friends- well at least their photos anyway...🤣.. and click on this link to find out just how! https://peakd.com/hive-106444/@nelinoeva/feathered-friends-show-me-a-f1126c643833f

So the final photo, which is a combination of the raw image as a super saturated layer and a layer with a Comic Book filter. And this is how I did it.

But don't forget to read the story of Hazel and Henry below to colour in your day!

GPIGEONS#6-Recovered.png

I imported the raw image into Filter Forge first, where I selected the Comic Book filter created by Vladimir Golovin and re-adjusted all of the parameters to get the definition and edges that I wanted, then exported it out as a png as per the screen grab below.

Screen Shot 2021-10-26 at 9.20.58 pm.png

I then imported the image into photoshop and lowered the opacity so I could see through to the raw image layer below, aswell as adjusting the exposure, offset and Gamma correction to lighten it and give it a lot more contrast.

Screen Shot 2021-10-26 at 9.21.15 pm.png

And then with the raw image, I pushed the saturation up to the limit and slightly adjusted the steps in the exposure to give it more contrast in the edges, which sharpens the image.

Screen Shot 2021-10-26 at 9.21.27 pm.png

And with both images, I increased the size on the canvas to zoom in a bit to centre the seagulls. (it was a cold, wet and windy day..and the photos were taken on an iphone, not a good camera, not even a proper camera...)

Now as you can see, the final image has a nice balance of the real vision blended in with the comic book caricature edging.

Screen Shot 2021-10-26 at 9.21.35 pm.png

And this is the raw image here

GPIGEONS#6.png

So the day that I met Hazel and Henry, was a very cold, wet day, with the wind blowing the salty sea through the air, covering everything in it's path.

And although it was a fantastic feeling to be finally out of lockdown and in the fresh air, I was not loving the constant rain and wind, until I saw Hazel and Henry, both looking completely out of place, but yet so at home as they wandered around on the rolling green hills, tourists in their own town.

GPIGEONS#4-Recovered.png

Watching Henry slowly wandering around, his head hung low, I could see for them that he too saw nothing but gray in his day, instead of the colour that he thought they were going to see on their outing.

GPIGEONS#3-Recovered.png

I could hear them talking between themselves, as Hazel was trying to cheer Henry up.

She was encouraging him to wander further afield, stifling the annoyance in her voice as she cajoled him into exploring further away so she could have some peace away from his doldrums.

GPIGEONS#5-Recovered.png

So Henry continued his wandering, taking heed of Hazels advice, deciding to have a look over to the right to see what was there.

GPIGEONS#1.png

And then his eyes nearly popped out of his head as he craned his neck as far forward as it would go.

GPIGEONS#2.png

OMG 😱 he thought as he saw the halo in the sky.

Heaven really does exist he whispered to himself as he gazed at this glorious site in front of him and within seconds he was gone.

FERRIS#1.png

Hours later, Henry finally came back as Hazel stood there scanning for the landscape for him with a worried look on her face.

She got even more of a shock when he arrive by her side looking like he had just been in a paint wrestling match and lost.

Screen Shot 2021-10-26 at 9.35.50 pm.png

But soon, she warmed to his new look- colourful, happy, chest puffed out oozing confidence, strong, sexy....the Henry that she had married years before and soon, she too was jumping for joy.

GPIGEONS#7.png

And if you would like to see a few more photos of this 'Halo from Heaven' that Henry found, check out this link here https://peakd.com/hive-153349/@chociscorpipro/fancy-fabulous-fantastical-ferris-wheel-on-psychedelics then you might understand why he came back soaked in so much colour and joy...🤣..

Thank you so much for reading my post, I really hope that you enjoyed it and look forward to your comments and thoughts.

🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

And unless otherwise stated- ALL photographs, all media, material and writings, are all my originals taken by me sometime in the past few decades or so somewhere in my travels and as such, ofcourse they are subject to all international IP and copyright laws and I may have already used them for my own commercial purposes here https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop And here https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi, So please ask first if you want to use any of them as we wouldn't want you getting into trouble. Thank you 😊

🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one....https://peakd.com/hive-124452/@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-54

Screen Shot 2021-09-28 at 7.36.06 pm.png

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now!
(cause we're all such damn cool cats...😁

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Well hello there @chocolatescorpi 😀
What a delightful story you got here. And the way you explained how you changed the image is just wonderful.
Ah, almost forgot, I did not see your link in the comments of the contest post. Don't forget to add it.
I hope that things get better at your end. Here, covid numbers are creaping and we are not in lockdown yet, but we got certain restrictions. The trouble is that I don't see it will end soon.

Hey there Neli,

So glad that you liked my new friends Hazel and Henry.

Funny, I had so many tech issues tonight with both photoshop and Filter Forge too (and I'm not an expert in either by the way..lol..) and it took me hours to write that post, simply because photohsop wouldn't do what it was meant to and I had to find ways around the issues...plus my brain isn't working (again...still...)

Yeah, almost out of complete lockdown and back to work next Monday despite 1500-2000 new cases a day still....

I'd be quite happy to stay a hermit...and if I could win the lotto, then I could do that too...🤣

Anyway, it's 1:20am so I probably should go to bed now eh!

Lovely to speak to you again and I hope that you have an amazing day/night and speak soon.

Stay safe and be well.
XXX

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more