Freebird!!!! (Plus some Tybee Island formation flying)

tybee birds1.jpg

I'm free as a bird and this bird you cannot change! The health department emailed me my walking papers and I am no longer under confinement! You don't realize how much moving around you do until you can't do any of it. Never had any symptoms so I don't know if it was a false alarm or I was just asymptomatic, either way it was more than a bit anticlimactic but that's better than the alternative I suppose.

tybee birds2.jpg

I recently rediscovered some of my old photos, I thought they were on my laptop that is out of commission but at some point I'd backed most of them up on one of my old hard drives. I've been playing with them mostly these last few days of quarantine, these photos are from that too. I took these photos standing on the Atlantic coast of Tybee Island, Georgia about five years ago.

tybee birds 3.jpg

My identification of military 'birds' is much better than my ability to identify the feathered sort, so I'm not certain what these are. Judging by the first photo, I think they're brown pelicans but I could easily be wrong, if anyone recognizes them drop me a comment and let me know what they are.

tybee birds 4.jpg

These photos are in sequential order, I was out taking photos of something else when I noticed these flying in an almost straight line (the angle is due more to my perspective than them not being lined up) and had to snap a few shots. I'd seen individual birds like these flying just above the surface of the water but I'd never noticed them flying in a line like this.

tybee birds 5.jpg

I'm posting this as much because I'm missing the sunshine and warmth of a summer day on the beach as because of the birds in the photos. Tybee Island is one of my favorite places to post up and relax and waste away a week or two. With the bay, the intracoastal waterway, and the Atlantic, there is a wide assortment of birds to see and shoot on Tybee, plus the seafood and swimming on the island is hard to beat. You can also easily see dolphins there too (unfortunately I don't have photos though), I usually rent a kayak and the dolphins will come right up to it out where the mouth of the Savannah River meets the Atlantic. One time I had a dolphin actually swim into my kayak, other times I could have reached out and touched one as it swam alongside.

tybee birds 6.jpg

Shortly after this last photo they landed in the water and I turned my camera elsewhere. Tybee is going to be one of the first places I visit after this whole pandemic nonsense calms down, I need to get some new photos from there! Anybody else have a destination already picked out for some R&R once things calm down sometime next year?

No post with a title like this one would be complete without the greatest song ever written, which also happens to mention a bird :)

Sort:  

I think you are spot on with the brown pelican ID! I love Tybee and Savanah. I have lots of treasured memories from there.
I am so glad that you are no longer confined and are dreaming of travel!

Awesome, thanks! Yeah, Tybee and Savannah are some of my favorite places, lots of memories as well. So much good food as well, did you ever eat at Uncle Bubbas or get pralines at that place down by the river?

I was there for 10 days and stayed in the Historic district and loved going for walks with my camera. I love pralines! I was thinking of making a batch for Christmas.
My favorite things were the Railroad Museum and the Bonaventure Cemetery. We only spent an afternoon on Tybee. There is so much good food and beautiful sights to see. I hope all the wonderful restaurants have survived the virus.

Pralines for Christmas, now that don't sound bad at all! We always stayed on Tybee and drove into Savannah so I usually spent a lot more time on the beach than in the historic district. I never made it to the Railroad Museum but I definitely made it to the cemetery. Most of my favorite family reunions were on Tybee.

I hope they do too. I remember back in the summer Tybee got mentioned as one of the vacation/touristy places that was actually taking the virus and all the precautions seriously, so hopefully it's not too bad there.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Awesome, thank you!