Porch Robins!

robin 1.jpg

It's a cold, dreary quarantine day here in Louisville, one of those grey winter days that just seems to drag on forever. I'm ready for it to be spring again, can we just fast forward through all this cold nonsense? Since that doesn't appear to be happening it seems I will have to make do with photos from spring.

robin 2.jpg

This past spring a couple robins set up camp atop one of the posts for the front porch, naturally I couldn't pass up the photo opportunity. They were a bit skittish, I usually had to sit and wait a bit before they would come around the nest. They also got excited and flew off just about every time we would open the front door.

robin 3.jpg

I'm assuming the robin in the photo above is doing some housekeeping. I'm still not too sure what exactly it was they were picking out of the nest. Anybody have a better informed explanation?

robin 4.jpg

The little'uns sure got big in a hurry! The photo above was taken the day before they flew the nest. I was beginning to wonder if they would run out of room in the nest before they flew off, it sometimes looked a little crowded.

robin 5.jpg

I am not at all sure what is going on in this photo but that bird doesn't appear too happy. I guess they didn't realize they'd have neighbors when they moved in...

robin 6.jpg

This last photo was the only time the robin let me get that close, usually it flew off when I approached. It wasn't the best of light on the porch so I'm less than pleased with how many of the photos turned out but hopefully we get more porch robins this coming spring.

Sort:  

I have no doubt that they will be back! It looks like a great spot for a nest!
They do always seem to nest in places with poor light for photos.
I'm ready to fast forward to spring, too!

Yeah, winter is for the birds! :) If they don't make use of it I'm sure some other critter will. There's a blue jay and a couple cardinals that like hanging out in the backyard, I wouldn't mind getting some close up shots of them.

Congratulations @coloneljethro! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal #2

Excellent photos and observations of this thrush.👍

I'm assuming the robin in the photo above is doing some housekeeping. I'm still not too sure what exactly it was they were picking out of the nest. Anybody have a better informed explanation?

I'm sorry, but this is shit. 😄
The parent feeds the chicks and waits for the chicks to "relieve themselves", they are relieved by these types of "capsules", and the parents take away dung from the nest

Ha, thanks! I suspected that it was shit, but the 'capsules' threw me off, I hadn't known that they did that.

!ENGAGE 15 for your engagement in comments 😊

Much obliged!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Awesome, thanks so much!