Show Me A Photo Contest Round 30: Birds and Sunset

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

I'm very excited about this week's #smap contest theme! The challenge is to capture photos of birds at sunset (or sunrise, but I am seldom awake at that hour). I had some free time this week to go on a couple photo adventures. Yesterday evening my dog and I headed over to a park a few miles away. As we were driving through the surrounding neighborhood, I happened to notice this beautiful yard.
DSC_8820.JPG
The yard was set up in such a way that it was clearly intended to be something not only for the homeowners to enjoy, but also passers-by. Backlit by the setting sun, with vibrant flowers and birds flitting about, I just had to stop and get some pictures.
DSC_8881.JPG
It looks like one of these finches is asking the other on a date...
DSC_8815.JPG
I managed to get a couple shots of some finches in flight. I liked the way the setting sun lit up their wings.
DSC_8854.JPG
The finches move really fast, though, so it's hard to focus on them, and half their flight involves cutting through the air like little finch torpedoes ..................⬇️
DSC_8862.JPG
Even though I didn't get the all the flight shots I was hoping for, I did capture a funny moment:
"Hey Frank, check it out--
🎶I'm perchin' on sunshine, yeah-eah, and doesn't it feel good!🎶"
IMG_2778.jpg
There was also a downy woodpecker enjoying some seeds from the feeder.
DSC_8827.JPG
Because of the feeders there were lots of other birds in the area, like this Northern Flicker.
DSC_8903.JPG
And this sleepy juvenile American Robin.
DSC_8921.JPG
I could have stayed there watching the birds until it got dark, but my dog wanted a walk, and I wanted to get to the park, which has a nice view of the city skyline to the north.
DSC_8943.JPG
This evening's sunset did not disappoint. The colors were rich and beautiful, and the clouds all around did a great job of reflecting that beauty throughout the sky. Most of the birds were going to bed, like this duck making her way across a sunset pond.
DSC_9077.JPG
But there were still plenty of crows. Crows are an awesome bird to photograph at sunset because they are large and make distinct silhouettes.
DSC_8983.JPG
DSC_8993.JPG
DSC_8995.JPG
⬇️⬇️My official entry to the contest⬇️⬇️
DSC_9070.JPG
You never know when the sunsets are gonna be colorful, but this was a lucky evening.


I hope you've enjoyed this post! @nelinoeva hosts this contest every week in the Feathered Friends community. There's still another day or so left in this week's contest (link) if you want to enter. You don't need to be a fancy photographer to win, just share something interesting!
DSC_9073.JPG

Sort:  

Wow, everyone, I think that's the fastest slew of upvotes I've received so far in my Hive adventures. Thanks so much for all your support!!!❤️💛💚💙💜🖤

I love finches. These little buggers are indeed fast in flight. You got some really funny shots. 😀
Great sunset photos! I was sure your entry will be crows and sunset.

Thank you! Yes, I tried very hard to include other birds, but I do love my crows dearly.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thank you so much!!

nice shots

thank you!!! let me see if I have enough !PIZZA to share
(still trying to figure out how all this pizza, beer, coffee stuff works)

@corvidae, sorry! You need more $PIZZA to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 20.0 PIZZA liquid, and 0.0 PIZZA staked.

More $PIZZA is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex