You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Favorite Wild Turkey Tuesday Palooza 22 photos

Those are some great shots! It always amazes me how large turkeys are, when you get up close to them.

One of the strangest experiences I've had was back when I lived in Texas and several of them suddenly FLEW across the road in front of me, maybe 15-20 feet up. I'd only ever seen them fly to get up into the cottonwoods to roost, before that.

=^..^=

Sort:  

Yes, it just doesn't seem right to see them be able to fly. I had a similar experience last month in the front yard. I went out the front door, took two steps and surprised two of them in-flight that were just planning to land not 10 feet away from me in the yard, they were already below the roof of the house, and startled me, the dog, and the turkeys so much we all jumped, the turkeys couldn't pull up at that point, but hit the ground running. The dog jumped back like WTF was that? and we watched them run off into the woods. Definitely got my heart pumping!