A Downy Woodpecker

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

The following photos are of a little Downy Woodpecker. The Downy Woodpecker looks similar to the Hairy Woodpecker but there are some differences. The most notable difference is size. The Downy is a smaller woodpecker and has a much smaller beak. Also, if you can see the tail feathers, the Downy will have spots on its white tail feathers while the Hairy Woodpecker's tail feathers will be all white.

featheredfriends121820201ok1.jpg

I photographed this little guy just a few days after Halloween at the Big Gunpowder Falls State Park in Baltimore County, Maryland.

featheredfriends121820202ok1.jpg

featheredfriends121820203ok1.jpg

These are also the very first photos that I've shown from that visit.

featheredfriends121820204ok.jpg

It was a beautiful day and I went to see if I could find any more Autumn colors left on the trees after a big storm that we had here right before Halloween. You will have to check back for upcoming posts to see what I found but in the meantime I did find this pretty little woodpecker to show you.

featheredfriends121820205ok1.jpg

I'm showing you just as I saw him too. He was upside down under a branch just pecking away. This was the last photo that I got of him before he flew away to the tree that is in the background of the next photo.

featheredfriends121820206ok1.jpg

What the heck! Since these are the first photos that I'm showing from this visit then I may as well show you the tree that I first saw him on. He isn't in this photo yet and if he had been then you probably wouldn't be able to tell anyway. I made a little red circle on the spot that he did show up to shortly after I took this photo. Did I mention it was a beautiful day?! 😉

featheredfriends121820207ok.gif

Thank you @melinda010100 for #featheredfriends!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 36 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9

Thanks so much @pixresteemer!! I very much appreciate it and you!! 😊💞

So do we 😘
$tan
$wine


Congratulations, @pixresteemer You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @deerjay.
You Utilized 3/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 1.930 HIVE


Congratulations, @pixresteemer You Successfully Shared 0.200 TESTO With @deerjay.
You Earned 0.200 TESTO As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/5 Successful Calls.

TESTO Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE


Congratulations @deerjay, You Earned 0.228 TAN & Curators Made 0.159 TAN.

tangent.token


Join CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Trade TANGENT Token
TAN Current Market Price : 2.540 HIVE

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much @qurator and @ackhoo!! Much appreciated!! 💖

Definitely a beautiful day! They are such pretty and friendly little birds! And such fun to watch. Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community! It's great to see you here ♥️

Thank you @melinda010100!! Happy to have gotten photos of this little one and post in #featheredfriends!! 💖

I thought of you yesterday when I got a big box of Cameron's lump crab cakes and some crab bisque from my kids for Christmas! I'm in heaven!

That sounds so yummy! I've been wanting to treat myself to a nice crab cake too..lol. My son got one last night while he was out with my nephew and I was so jealous but in a good way. Wishing you and the family a most wonderful and Blessed Christmas!! 💕

Hi Dee! 💞 Nice captures. You were lucky to get shots of a woodpecker as I find they always keep moving around the tree.

Tip

Thanks Jo!! I was surprised and happy that he stayed relatively still and close by long enough for me to get a few shots off. I was ecstatic to see him and even more so to photograph and show him off here. 🙂💕

👍

Thank you very much @ratel!! 💖

They are funny little peckers they always amaze in why they go around puckering at trees maybe marking music tunes 😆 Do love that last photo with the reflections 👍

Thank you so much @kohsamui99!! They are funny and cute. I was so happy to capture him as it isn't too often they stay still for long. I'm also a slow poke with the camera..lol. I was happy to fit that last photo in ..well..maybe I was being a little sneaky too. 😉😁

You did well was fun to see this little fella upside down pecking away so funny 😆

Have a great week ahead @deerjay 👍

You too @kohsamui99 and Happy Holidays to you!! 💕

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Thank you very much @hive-106444!! I really appreciate it!! 🤗💖

So funny how it is hanging upside down. 😀

Thanks so much Neli!! It was and I've never seen a woodpecker pecking upside down..lol. 😉