I met a Hoopoe.

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

Hoopoe grass 4.jpg

ENPL
Sometimes Karma leaves best for last. If you are a good girl that is :)Czasami Karma zostawia najlepsze na koniec. Oczywiście jeśli jesteśmy grzeczne :)
One of the winter days I went for a little walk around. Instead of my usual Sigma lens (for macro) I took Tamron to try to catch some birds. There is a nice walk along the bay and I though some of the little beach birds will be there. Maybe some Herons or Cormorants if I am lucky. And nothing. Seagulls and seagulls and lazy fat pigeons only. The walk was still nice as the winter weather is what I like, but I didn't get what I was looking for... until I decided to turn towards home and pass this huge lawn (I really hope they never build anything there!).Podczas jednego pięknego zimowego dzionka wyszłam na spacer po okolicy. Zamiast mojej zwyczajowej Sigmy (do makro), zabrałam Tamrona w nadziei, że dorwę kilka fajnych ptaków. Postanowiłam przejść się wzdłuż wody, gdzie często są te małe szybko biegające po piasku. Może nawet jakaś czapla albo kormoran by się trafił. Ale nie.. Tylko mewy, mewy i leniwe, grube gołębie. Sam spacer był i tak przyjemny, ale to czego szukałam nie było. Aż do momentu, gdy już postanowiłam skręcić w stronę domu i przejść przez ogromny trawnik (jak łąka prawie, mam nadzieję, że jej nie zabudują!).
And there he was…I tam właśnie był on…

Eurasian hoopoe


Hoopoe grass 12.jpg

ENPL
We have quite many Hoopoes around. They will search for food near the houses too, but they never allowed me to get close. I started to shoot from a distance and every few photos I was taking few more steps closed.Mamy w okolicy całkiem sporo Dudków. Podchodzą całkiem blisko domów i trawników w poszukiwaniu jedzenia, ale nigdy nie mogłam zbyt blisko podejść. Zaczęłam zatem robić zdjęcia już ze sporej odległości i co chwilę podchodziłam coraz bliżej.
He was busy looking for some worms and larvae in the grasses.A on jakby nigdy nic szukał sobie robali.

Hoopoe grass 9.jpg

Hoopoe grass 10.jpg

Hoopoe grass 11.jpg

ENPL
Few more steps and I managed to get just a couple of metres away from him. Surprisingly he didn't get scared, even though he was watching what I was doing as well.Jeszcze kilka kroków i już byłam tylko kilka metrów od niego. O dziwno nie specjalnie się mną przejął, chociaż co chwilę zerkał co ten ludź robi.

Hoopoe grass 3.jpg

Hoopoe grass 5.jpg

Hoopoe grass 6.jpg

Hoopoe grass 7.jpg

Hoopoe grass 8.jpg

ENPL
There was some more people in the car park near-by but he didn't care about them. They did look pretty amused though looking at me doing hell_knows_what kneeling in the grasses :pPrzy parkingu obok było jeszcze kilka osób ale go nie obchodzili. Za to oni mieli chyba niezły ubaw patrząc co ja to mogę robić na klęczka w trawie :p
Eventually I just turned around and let the bird to his thing.W końcu odwróciłam się do poszłam do domu, a ptaszyna dalej szukała robali.

Hoopoe grass 1.jpg

Hoopoe grass 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Tamron 70-300mm lens
(ƒ/7.1, 1/800, ISO160)
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 18 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Congratulations @ewkaw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 230000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 240000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Beautiful shots of a beautiful bird ... 😊

Thank you!

I have never heard of or seen a photo of one of these birds that I can remember. You got some very nice shots of it.

I wonder if you don't have them in States...
But you have lots of other birds we don't have :p I still remember seeing the Northern cardinal for the first time. I was blown away with all the deep red colour! Not available in Europe as far as I know :)

I didn't even know this bird existed until I traveled to Portugal and saw them there! It was one of the highlights of my trip!
They are such astonishing birds and your photos are marvelous! Thanks for posting them to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

I saw then first in Portugal too, thought I heard they live in Poland as well.
Here they seem pretty common :)

🎁 Hi @ewkaw! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Beautifully Sublime Sunday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Wow! These are very special photos if thus handsome bird! His overcoat is very artistically designer! I wonder from which designer he went to get this!

It is a custom made Hooposian :D

Wow! This brand is exclusive and more famous than Gucci or Ferragamo! This is a high class bird!!

You know it! :D

Very beautiful bird! They also live with us, but I have not yet met them. This long beak is like tongs.

I always thought they are bigger until I saw one. I hope you find one one day.

Very classy with his stiff punk crest

Indeed. Pity he didn't want to open it.

Ooohhhh, cool catch! Very nice shots too...
He probably thought it was time to get some publicity for himself! :D

I think so... All feathers nice and clean and ready to pose :p

Wow, ale masz szczęście! :) Nigdy nie widziałam tego ptaka na żywo, a bardzo bym chciała. Fajnego ma irokeza na głowie ;)

One ponoć występują również w Polsce, ale tam ich nigdy nie widziałam.
On jak się wkurzy (albo i z innych powodow) to czub rozkłada i jak wachlaż wygląda :)
Fajne ptaszysko.

No to super by było go kiedyś zobaczyć jak się zezłości ;) On wszystko ma fajne ;) Nawet nazwę, po polsku - dudek, po angielsku - Hoopoe. Ciekawe, gdzie najczęściej występuje w Polsce. Przeczytałam, że jego siedlisko to: "pastwiska lub łąki w dolinach rzecznych, ugory i nieużytki, sady ze starymi drzewami owocowymi, skraje lasów, rzadziej większe polany i zręby." Byłam w wielu z tych miejsc nieraz, a na dudka nie trafiłam...może kiedyś się uda :)

Hoopoe is such a wonderful bird. I saw one in our park this year, quite surprisingly. It must have been a visitor and now is gone.
Great shots!

They are cute, aren't they? :)
Thank you!

Loading...

What a strange looking dinosaur :-)

Haha :D

Submitted by #featheredfriends to the OCD Community Curation Program

Thank you very much :)