MOURNING DOVE~~~Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 47

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Hello birdwatchers, another round of #smap is here again. The theme this week is BIRDS IN BLACK AND WHITE. The first bird I thought of when I read the theme was those cold weather ones in tuxedos. Too bad I haven't seen a penguin here in Upstate New York in, like, f o r e v e r.🙄

Last summer we had some new guests in the neighborhood. A pair of mourning doves could be heard as well as seen almost every morning. We had two pairs of those beautiful birds stop in for breakfast each day. They always traveled in pairs so I starting calling them the love doves, they seemed very affectionate with each other, sharing the feeder space.

The also enjoyed sunbathing on the wire that runs into the house from the pole on our corner. Really lovely birds.

The original photo was taken in color, showing off his pink and yellow head. With some editing and filter use, I was able to create a photo in black and white. It's hard to say which version I like best, they both portray a very content bird, one who just had a free meal to fill his belly.

MOURNING DOVE.png

Enjoying the challenge, I thought I would fool around with some other bird photos in my collection.

The New York birds.

This big Bluejay eats to his hearts content, while the Downy Woodpecker patiently waits his turn.

Our Florida friends.

The long neck on the White Egret as well as the Blue Heron are quite impressive.

bird b&w.png

The winter is here in the mountains of New York and once it begins, we expect to see the white blanket of the lake effect snow every morning.

white blanket.png

From now until Spring, many of the photos I will capture here will surely look white, with some black and colors sprinkled around.

Thanks to the #featheredfriends community for giving us the opportunity to share the wonderful world of #birds.

@nelinoeva, you do a great job with weekly themes and inspiration, thank you. I also want to give a shout out to @melinda010100 for sponsoring the contest, as well as our judge @oks2crypto and to @barbara-orenya for her unwavering support.

Until next time, cheers!

Sort:  

Hi @farm-mom , I was well into (chronological) adulthood before I knew they were saying Mourning rather than Morning. I could never understand why, as a kid, I always heard these birds in the morning and the evening, yet they were called Morning doves.
It was a long time later that I learned that it was Mourning, because of the sad noise they make.
And since they MATE FOR LIFE, that sadness may be because they've lost their mates.
Though it is a sad sorta sound Robin, I also find it rather soothing as well

↑Upvoted↑ and ←Reblogged→


Hello JERRY! To be honest, I don't much about birds, I just know I enjoy observing them and photographing them, gives my peace.
I had those doves around all summer and I too love the sounds they make, sad or not.
Hope this finds you well, thanks as always for dropping by and upvoting as well as reblogging my stuff, means a lot to me.
Peace!

We seem to be in a small club, folks who appreciate the comment as much if not more than the upvote ha ha ha
I THINK back home, I remember the Doves nested on the ground, which made them easy prey for certain critters. I KNOW Quail did. (We had those wild as well, at least when I was small, little coveys of them would come into the yard to eat the Bermuda Grass bloom/seed heads)

It's funny you say that Jerry because as much as I enjoy the $$$, thoughtful comments like yours gives me way more satisfaction.
Have a great day buddy, get out and enjoy the weather down there, we have snow on the ground and are freezing our butts off. 😁😎😍

Yep Robin, it is cold here, but seasonably so, the sun has just now crossed over the horizon, The temp has actually dropped a degree since 7 am (photo just taken)
20211129_080326.jpg

Love your photos and the black and whites are great, but I suspect that the dove in your photo is actually a female redbellied woodpecker. 😃 But you are more than welcome to call it a love dove! 😂

Hahaha, I think you are right, my bad, once I took a closer look, I thought, yep our friend Mel knows her birds alright. I was so intent on doing the black and white filtering and had cropped so much it looked like one of the doves that had hung around all summer.
IMG_1011.JPG

Thanks for setting me straight.

So how's your grandson doing? Sounds like an awful accident. I just can't imagine how painful it must be. Where on his body did he get the worst of it?
I am so sorry my friend, he is in my prayers.

All of your bird photos are always great!

Andrew's shirt caught on fire and the worst burns are on his chest, left shoulder and arm and around on his back. He is wrapped in bandages and splints and is heavily sedated. I'm still in shock.

Oh my god. I am so sorry to hear that. This is such a horrible accident that happened.
Hugs ❤

Thanks for your kind words, @nelinoeva. Yesterday I saw him smile and make a joke. That gives me hope. Thank goodness for video calls!

I very much hope he will be better soon.
Hugs.

Good morning dear friend, I am heartbroken for you and Andrew, his parents must be crushed.
It's going to take a long time for him to heal but he will. He's young and strong. I will keep him in my thoughts and prayers. You just remember to take care of YOU.

Life is so fragile, we must all remember to appreciate the now, even when it's boring or challenging. Your story has just done that for me.

Wonderful shots in colour and in black and white and I feel the same like the bird on the fist photo after having my meal, content. 😄

hahahaha, yeah, Thanksgiving was one of those days.

Quiet call of the little dove is very relaxing, nice conversion on all the photographs from colour into black and white Robin.

My pic is the egret with gangling long stilt legs, that turned out superb!

Hello Joan hope all is well.
Yes I love those Florida birds, strange but beautiful.

Heron and Egret are seen on our waterways regularly, just wish the water was more respected and kept clean...

We are keeping well, hate masks so seldom leave home, this is also fine being able to go outdoors many times in the day taking breaks from work inside the home.

Hey Joan, yeah this dang virus is starting to really piss me off. Because of our age I worry about us getting some weird strain and getting really sick. But we have been vaccinated, so I pray that will protect us because I refuse to not see my family. What's the point of living if you are depressed all the time. We are taking care of ourselves, as we have for years with healthy diet and supplements. What else can you do?

To hell with it, I have had a good life, if the Lord wants me, then so be it!

So happy to have #hive to spend some quality time with friends like you.

Taking every precaution we are capable of over here, refuse to give up living as was expected in the beginning. I think it was taken too far, too much power in governments with little scientific evidence.

We should all be on high alert, not giving up freedoms, cautious adult thinking as in the past, we live with Tuberculosis, AIDS, Swine Flu, Ebola and many different virus attacks one does know what to watch out, no need for being scolded over media continuously.

Hive is a sanity check where people are still honest and open which I enjoy! Meeting people from around the world and chatting we learn more every day here. Thanks for kind greetings and yes friendships are forged over long distances.

Right on Joan!