The Olive Thrush (Turdus olivaceus) Feeding Her Baby Insects and Berries

There are so many different types of birds. I am an amateur bird watcher and photographer and I have picked up on the sounds of the birds and their behaviour. I heard the calls of a particular bird at 4 am in the morning and thought it to be the Jan Frederic or Cape Robin Chat (my previous post). To my delight, it was a totally different bird I never even knew existed or was so prevalent in my garden! I always thought this bird was the Cape Robin Chat; both of them are ground-dwelling birds. But after studying this weeks photographs, I saw it was the Olive Thrush! And listening to some YouTube videos of the Olive Thrush's calls, I can say now that it is this bird that calls in the early mornings!

I was so lucky to capture these photographs because this friend is truly camera shy. Every time I work in the garden, I see them (the Olive Thrush) and the Cape Robin Chat. They love the reworked ground because they eat the bugs and spiders. In one of the photographs below, I think you can make out an insect, maybe it is a spider! But in the other one, you can see her feed her baby with a berry of some sort. Please enjoy these photographs of a beautiful and very shy friend! (P.S. I am going to post the photographs chronologically (except the first one) to show the moment the mommy bird fed her baby!)

_DSC6109.JPG

Mommy Feeding her Baby

_DSC6061.JPG

_DSC6062.JPG

_DSC6063.JPG

_DSC6079.JPG

_DSC6082.JPG

_DSC6083.JPG

_DSC6085.JPG

_DSC6106.JPG

_DSC6108.JPG

_DSC6109.JPG

Some Other Shots of Mommy and her Baby

_DSC6057.JPG

2.JPG

_DSC6044.JPG

_DSC6047.JPG

_DSC6050.JPG

_DSC6117.JPG

1.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @fermentedphil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

Fantastic photos of the mom and her youngster! Really great sequence of photos!

I was really lucky to have caught it on camera! Thanks so much! And sorry for only responding now. Thanks again, as always, for the awesome community.

No worries! I often get far behind on making comments so I totally understand! 🙂

Life has a way of biting you! I talked to someone else here on hive as well, and similar response: we have so many good quality content to share but we don't always have time. And I want to interact with all the people but getting the time is such a big problem haha.

Time is a big problem! I'm realizing that the only way I can do justice to Shadow Hunters and Feathered Friends is not to let myself get distracted and focus on what matters most to me!
There is so much fabulous content on Hive that I tend to want to read every single post.

Same here. So many fascinating people and their stories! It is a shame that Hive is not known here in my country really. I think that so many interesting stories can be shared.

I love the connection to the world that I have on Hive. I hope more people continue to join us!

nice photos congratulations on the curation

Sorry for only responding now. Thank you so much!