At the Birds of Prey Show in Mayerhofen

In summer 2018 I visited a Show of Birds of Prey at the Adlerbühne Ahorn in Mayerhofen, it was a fantastic show with these very beautiful birds. And it is probably the bird show that has the highest altitude here in Austria. Sad that I wasn't able to see these kind of birds in the real nature outside but still it was very beautiful with these captured birds of the show. Of course I prefer wildlife but shy and seldom birds like these are very very difficult to find and photograph. And of course in Austria there are only a few place where they can be found. In my opinion Owls are very beautiful birds and I am always happy when I see one. I know some places where I can find some long-eared owls but they are a 3 hour drive from my home.

Other Owls and birds of Prey are very difficult to find and I don't know any specific places but areas where they might be. And I already had a lot of luck to take some pictures in Lower Austria. A Show for Birds of Prey on the other hand is a much easier way to see them and take some pictures. These pictures are all from this bird show:

DSC_6390.jpg
Beautiful Owl sitting. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:53 pm
ISO1600

DSC_6429_2.jpg
I love the yellow eyes of this Owl. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:53 pm
ISO1600

The Eyes of the Owls are always so "hypnotizing" to me. The yellow or orang color is very interesting and their big eyes always make them look some kind of funny. Of course they are not, Owls are silent hunters of the night and they can fly without making any noises.

DSC_6035.jpg
Falcon eating some meat. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:53 pm
ISO1600

DSC_6176.jpg
red tailed Hawk. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:53 pm
ISO1600

DSC_6258.jpg
Golden Eagle. Picture: Florian Glechner

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1600 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time02:53 pm
ISO1600
Sort:  

Wunderschöne Fotos Florian. Diese Tiere sind wirklich bewundernswert! :)

Danke. Ja in freier Wildbahn wären sie mir lieber gewesen.

Da muss man schon ein geschultes Wissen und viel Glück haben um diese Tiere in ihrem natürlichen Umfeld anzutreffen.

You captured these raptors beautifully 😍

Thank you very much @barbara-orenya It was a nice show and it was really nice watching and photographing them. But personally I prefer wildlife picture but these are way more difficult to get and it is way more difficult to get so close

Wow, these are not only sparrows...

Haha yes. They are beautiful. Don't get me wrong I also like sparrows but they are a bit too common compared to these beautiful raptors.

Awesome delightful shots!👍

Thank you very much @ratel !

Fantastic images!
Owls are extremely attractive and beautiful.

Oh thanks a lot. Yes they are, But I prefer seeing them in wildlife outside of a show, Of course then they are much more difficult to capture.

I wish you can see them in the wild.

Very nice birds, beautiful pictures, too bad they are in captivity and not in their natural habitat.

I do my best to find them also in their natural habitat but this is not so easy. I already took pictures, of the white-tailed eagle, the red kite, falcons, the osprey, and I am sure some day I will also find the golden Eagle some where in the wild.

A cute owl! :))

Thanks for sharing these :) Did you get any pictures of them in flight???