Beautiful male Mandarin duck

This bird originally comes from Japan, but it has been introduced to middle Europe and there is quite a population of these ducks in special areas. This male bird I found in a Park in Vienna where it also lives. I like the beautiful colors and it is a good variety to the ducks that live natively here in Austria. The male can be exceptionally beautiful with its brown, blue, green, black and white colors. Here are some pictures of the Male Mandrin Duck that I found at a lake in Vienna.

I was lying on the grass, this way I could get very close and I also like the green grass in the foreground that was infront of my lens this time. I also took some pictures from a different angle but they don't look that good to me. The green gives a good combination with the colorful duck.

DSC_1100.jpg
Mandarin Duck in Vienna. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time07:29 am
ISO3200

DSC_1072.jpg
Male Mandarin Duck cleaning it's feathers. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time07:26 am
ISO3200

DSC_1089.jpg
Colorful and proud duck. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time07:28 am
ISO3200

DSC_1098.jpg
*Because I was no the ground, i could get pretty close to the duck. Picture: Florian Glechner. *

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time07:29 am
ISO3200
Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

First time seeing mandarin duck. It makes me happy to have such beautiful animals in the natural world. you took very good photos

I was surprised for a moment when I came across the picture of this duck, which he usually saw in cartoons. thank you for your sharing

My pleasure. You are welcome.

I didn't think this duck breed was real. I thought it was only in movies and cartoons

no it is real it is originally from Japan and China, but there is a small Population in Austria, Netherlands and Englad. But it was introduces here by humans and doesn't really live here in usual circumstances.