Common Snipe at the swamplands

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

It's weekend and of course I used this beautiful day for a photography trip. Together with Stefan I decided to visit the swamplands of the Inn River for some wildlifephotography and we where pretty sucessfull again. We were able to take some nice pictures of the common crane that is on the migration at the moment and was resting at the river. Then I managed to take several pictures of the Curlews once again, I also took some pictures of the kingfisher (it was pretty far away unfortunately) but at least I have it. But since this article is about the common snipe, I will show you the other pictures in a future post here on hive.

I also managed to capture a short video of the common snipe and I uploaded it on my youtube channel. You find the video at the very bottom of this article.

DSC_6345.jpg
Common Snipe at the shore. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1250 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:01 pm
ISO1000

DSC_6212.jpg
Common snipe looking for food in the shallow water. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time03:50 pm
ISO1000

DSC_6215.jpg
Common Snipe. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time03:51 pm
ISO100

DSC_6291.jpg
Common Snipe hidin in the big grass. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time03:58 pm
ISO100

Sort:  

awesome shots, moody. love these 'portraits within background' a lot!

It is a beautiful bird that you found, on your way, beautiful photos.

Beautiful and very hard to spot.

My first introduction to snipes was at scout camp when the councilors sent us out into the dark woods with flashlights on a prank Snipe Hunt! I thought they were pretend birds for a long time. That is the first thing that I think of when I see a photo of one. 😂
img_0.9687338707381166.jpg

Haha, yes they have a good camouflage and are very shy. I am very happy that I managed to take some pictures and even a video of it.

Wow! 👍
Do you know the meaning of the word "sniper"? Previously, that was the name of those hunters who could shoot snipes. And they were called so because this bird has an incredible natural camouflage that hides it just perfectly. It is not for nothing that birds of this family are called "invisible".
And you managed to take these pictures, so you can rightfully be a sniper too!

No I didn't know this fact. Thank you for your input on this topic.