Finally I was able to take a picture of the Common cuckoo

The common cuckoo is a bird that is on my "hate" list because I hear it so often when I visit the forests here in Austria, but I was never able to take a picture of it. The last weekend I finally was able to take a picture of it as it sat down on a tree in front of me and started to sing: "cuckoo, cuckoo". Fortunately it sang otherwise I would have mistaken it for a dove. Because it can easily mistaken for another bird when the light is not good like on this day I might have missed already several opportunities to take some pictures of this bird.

kuckuck.JPG
my first picture of the cuckoo. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/3200 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time09:05 am
ISO1000
Sort:  

I told you that you can do it!😉 I think this cuckoo is not very comfortable to sit.😄

Does the cuckoo makes a loud noise? I can hear it on its name itself? 😁