More and some more!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

2020 will be remembered for many things but for me, it would be the year that 4 of our hens hatched their eggs, one after another, during the spring and summer season!

IMG_0218.jpg

IMG_0217.jpg

IMG_0219.jpg

I have already told you about the previous two times and a couple of days ago it was the third one. I have emphatically said in the past that I prefer my chicks to be born the natural way, but this time I made a little experiment.

IMG_0187.jpg

IMG_0213.jpg

For some reason the first time only 2 eggs were hatched and the second one, just 3. So I figured it would be OK to put a few eggs in an incubator, the same day that the hen sat on her own and when all of them would be hatched, mix them and let the hen raise them all. So no need to keep the little chicks for 6 weeks in an artificial environment and all the effort of the hen would be more worth it!

IMG_0117.jpg

IMG_0178.jpg

IMG_0200.jpg

The plan was almost too successful. I put 12 eggs under the hen and 12 in the incubator and we got 6 and 8 chicks respectively! The first night that the hen was out of the nest, I slipped under her the machine's ones and the next day they were one big family!

IMG_0152.jpg

IMG_0128.jpg

With one exception though. At the last picture below, is the last chick that was hatched from the machine and the only one with so different colors. And unfortunately the only one that was rejected by the hen. After a horrifying morning that the pure creature was literally hiding and running for its life, I took it back home. Now it is in a box waiting for the eggs of the 4th hen to be hatched and hopefully to be accepted in that family. Otherwise we'll have to raise it at home and take it to the chicken coop at September.

IMG_0146.jpg

I still believe that eggs should be hatched by a hen and not a machine but using an incubator gave me the unique opportunity to witness the actual hatching as it was happening. Below there is an 11 sec clip that I took with my mobile just when one of the chicks got out of the egg. If you think that it might be harsh for you don't watch it but I have found that spectacle absolutely mesmerizing!


The pictures with my hands were taken by Fotini.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  
Loading...

The real golden beauty! :D
I remember they were my favourite animals when I used to live with my grandma. I was so fascinated by the little ones!

Oh yes!
The past year that I am dealing with chickens was a revelation. I would have never thought that they are so fascinating animals :)

They are so cuteee, congrats!

The rejected one looks really sad, I hope it will be accepted in the next round! <3

Oh yes and they are so small and fragile!
I hope that the last one will be accepted too. We are expecting the new ones in a few days, so we'll know soon!

A very successful hatch, it was fun to see that tiny baby come bursting out of the egg! I hope the rejected one finds a family. Thanks so much for sharing this with Feathered Friends
!tip

Thank you @melinda010100, it's nice to have a community to share my feather stories :)

Aww!! What lovely pictures. The miracles of life. We still wonder who came first, the chicken or the egg!😂 Hugs!

Haha yes, the big question of life :)
Thank you Mariangel for stopping by!

Awww fluffy pom poms :D

Haha, nicely described :)

I know that chicks are pretty models that makes it easier to get but still, your pictures are beautiful 😊
Poor little one that has been rejected..! 😲

Haha yes, chicks are always best sellers :)
I feel sorry for the last one, all alone in a box, but I hope that in a few days it will have a new family!

sooo cute! 🐥

@tipu curate :)

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

Thank you!
They are cute indeed :)