Owl at Sunset (Show Me a Photo Contest 30)

Hi all!
This week's contest theme is Birds at Sunrise/Sunset. Here I will share with you a sunset photo.
I saw that there was a Long-eared Owl reported at a marsh I visit frequently. I have only saw the species once before and I have never seen it in that county so I decided to go search for it after work.

Lo and behold, I come across the owl! The marsh has an elevated area with a small grassland that the owl was using as a hunting ground. It must be packed with rodents at night, voles and fieldmice. It actually flew quite close to me a few times as I stood still.

owl1.jpg
However, the owl only came out as the last light of day was fading. So my camera had trouble focusing and gathering enough light to grab a shot.
owl3.jpg
Eventually I managed a few shots. You can see the owl's long "horns" on top of her head. After spending a few minutes with the owl I left it at peace to hunt for the night and I headed towards the bright subway lights.

owl2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @funferall! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

This is such an encounter, I wish so much to see an owl.